Common menu bar links

Species at Risk

Blanding's Turtle

Emydoidea blandingii

What is a Blanding's Turtle?

Blanding’s turtle basking in the sun on a river bank
Blanding's turtle basking in the sun on a river bank
© Parks Canada / James Steeves / 1986

Blanding's turtles are medium-sized freshwater turtles. Adults have dark-green, high-domed shells with yellow flecks. Their undersides are yellow with black patches. They have black scaly skin and are easily identified by their distinctive yellow throats.

Blanding's turtles have a variety of seasonal habitats. In the summer, they prefer boggy, plant-filled, stable water bodies such as shallow lakes, wetlands and slow-moving streams and rivers. In this habitat, they are able to find a steady food source and stay camouflaged from predators.

Blanding's habitat, a river running through a bog
Blanding's habitat, a river running through a bog
© Parks Canada / Peter Hope / 1977

In the winter, they prefer streams with steep banks and deep, constantly flowing water. They also overwinter in small ponds that are spring-fed. They keep their rectum in the flowing water and use it for gas exchange (breathing).

Blanding's turtles in Nova Scotia tend to eat from all levels of the food chain. They eat aquatic plants, insects, tadpoles and small fish.

Where do Blanding's turtles live?

Blanding's turtles occur in small pockets throughout their range. Their main range is south of the Great Lakes, extending from extreme southern Quebec and Ontario, south and west to central Nebraska and east to Ohio. Outside this range, small populations occur in several areas, the most isolated are in southwestern Nova Scotia.

Three distinct sub-populations of Blanding's turtles are found within a 30-kilometre span in the southwestern part of Nova Scotia . The largest sub-population makes Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site of Canada its home. The other two populations occur at McGowan Lake and New Elm, 15 and 25 kilometres outside the park, respectively. These three small populations are estimated to contain only 300 adults in Nova Scotia.

What's the status of Blanding's turtles in Nova Scotia?

A Blanding's turtle swimming through lily pads
A Blanding's turtle swimming through lily pads
© Parks Canada / James Steeves / 2002

The Nova Scotia population of Blanding's turtle is listed as threatened by COSEWIC, and is protected under federal law by the Species at Risk Act. Blanding's turtles are also protected under provincial legislation, by the Nova Scotia Endangered Species Act, under which they are listed as endangered.

These listings are different because the different levels of government list species under their own set of criteria based on priorities within their jurisdictions.

Espèces en péril

La tortue mouchetée

Emydoidea blandingii

Quest-ce que la tortue mouchetée?

Tortue mouchetée se chauffant au soleil sur la rive d'un cours d'eau
Tortue mouchetée se chauffant au soleil sur la rive d'un cours d'eau
© Parcs Canada / James Steeves / 1986

La tortue mouchetée est une tortue d'eau douce de taille moyenne. Les adultes ont une carapace vert foncé, fortement bombée et mouchetée de jaune. Le plastron est jaune et tacheté de noir. La peau est noire et écailleuse, et la tortue se distingue facilement par sa gorge jaune caractéristique.

Les tortues mouchetées ont divers habitats saisonniers. En été, elles préfèrent les zones marécageuses, envahies par la végétation, les étendues d'eau calme comme les lacs peu profonds, les marécages, les cours d'eau et rivières au débit peu rapide. Dans cet habitat, elles peuvent trouver constamment de quoi se nourrir, et elles restent cachées à leurs prédateurs.

Habitat de la tortue mouchetée : un cours d'eau qui traverse un marais
Habitat de la tortue mouchetée : un cours d'eau qui traverse un marais
© Parcs Canada / Peter Hope / 1977

En hiver, les tortues préfèrent les cours d'eau aux rives escarpées, aux eaux profondes et en mouvement constant. Elles passent aussi l'hiver dans de petits étangs alimentés par des sources. Elles gardent le rectum dans l'eau et s'en servent pour les échanges gazeux (respiration).

En Nouvelle-Écosse, les tortues mouchetées ont tendance à se nourrir à tous les niveaux de la chaîne alimentaire. Elles consomment des plantes aquatiques, des insectes, des têtards et des petits poissons.

Où la tortue mouchetée vit-elle?

On trouve les tortues mouchetées regroupées en petites poches dans l'ensemble de leur aire de répartition. Leur principal territoire est le sud des Grands Lacs, depuis l'extrême sud du Québec et de l'Ontario jusqu'au centre du Nebraska, vers le sud et l'ouest, et jusqu'en Ohio, vers l'est. En dehors de cette aire, il y a plusieurs petites populations, et les plus isolées se trouvent dans le sud-ouest de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

On observe trois sous-populations distinctes de tortues mouchetées sur un territoire de 30 kilomètres, dans le sud-ouest de la Nouvelle-Écosse. La plus importante de ces populations habite dans le parc national et lieu historique national du Canada Kejimkujik. Les deux autres populations se trouvent au lac McGowan et à New Elm, respectivement à 15 et à 25 kilomètres à l'extérieur du parc. On estime que ces trois petites populations de la Nouvelle-Écosse totalisent seulement 300 adultes.

Quel est l'état de la tortue mouchetée en Nouvelle-Écosse?

Tortue mouchetée nageant à travers les feuilles de nénuphar
Tortue mouchetée nageant à travers les feuilles de nénuphar
© Parcs Canada / James Steeves / 2002

Le COSEPAC place la population néo-écossaise de tortues mouchetées parmi les espèces menacées. Elle est donc protégée en vertu d'une loi fédérale, la Loi sur les espèces en péril. La tortue mouchetée est également protégée en vertu d'une loi provinciale, l' Endangered Species Act, aux termes de laquelle elle est considérée comme en danger.

Le classement est différent parce que chaque ordre de gouvernement applique aux espèces ses propres critères en s'appuyant sur ses priorités à lui.