Common menu bar links

Species at Risk

The American Eel

Anguilla rostrata

What is it? | Where is it? | Why is it in danger? | What is Parks Canada doing? | Links

Why is it in danger?

In recent years, the American eel population has declined by 99% in Lake Ontario and the upper St. Lawrence River. Hydroelectric dams are considered the primary threat to the American eel as they prevent many elvers from entering the Great Lakes, while largely preventing silver eels from migrating to their spawning grounds. Other threats may include overfishing, habitat loss, and an invasive swim bladder parasite. As larvae, American eels have many aquatic predators; however as adults, their predators are fewer and may include avian predators, such as osprey and gulls.

The swim bladder parasite, Anguillicoloides crassus, is a relatively new threat for American eels in Atlantic Canada. This invasive parasite has been steadily expanding its range northward from Texas, and it has been known to spread very easily from one eel to another. A. crassus infects the swim bladder of host eels, causing potential irritation and/or inflammation to the swim bladder and resultant problems with buoyancy. The ultimate effects of A. crassus on its host are unknown, and the parasite is currently being investigated to determine its role in the decline of eel populations.

What is Parks Canada doing?

As the American eel is part of one large spawning population, there is mounting concern in Atlantic Canada that the dramatic declines in American eel populations seen in Lake Ontario may signal decreases throughout their entire range of distribution. However, to date, such declines have not been observed in Atlantic Canada. Given that there is little baseline data on the abundance of eels across Atlantic Canada at any life stage, it is becoming necessary that we begin to collect this data across the region in order to properly assess their status.

The American eel is found in seven national parks in Atlantic Canada, from the west coast of Newfoundland to southern Nova Scotia, and in the Gulf of St. Lawrence and the Bay of Fundy. This presents an excellent opportunity for collaboration. Parks Canada is working with multiple partners, including Aboriginal communities, other federal departments and universities to assess the population status of the American eel in Atlantic Canada. Along with its partners, Parks Canada has initiated a multi-park, multi-partner project to:

  • gain a better understanding of the biology of eels in our rivers — including habitat, distribution and life history—through a combination of Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge (ATK) and scientific study, thereby providing much needed baseline data;
  • strengthen partnerships with First Nations communities and enable them to aid in both ATK and scientific data collection; and
  • increase Canadians' knowledge of this extraordinary species, using its fascinating life history to encourage Canadians to take an interest in protecting American eels and working with us to collect scientific data.

Links

What is it? | Where is it? | Why is it in danger? | What is Parks Canada doing? | Links

Espèces en péril

L'anguille d'Amérique

Anguilla rostrata

C'est quoi? | Ça se trouve où? | Pourquoi est-elle en danger? | Que fait Parcs Canada? | Liens

Pourquoi est-elle en danger?

Ces dernières années, la population d'anguilles d'Amérique a décliné de 99 % dans le lac Ontario et le cours supérieur du Saint-Laurent. Les barrages hydroélectriques sont considérés comme la principale menace pour l'espèce, car ils empêchent de nombreuses civelles pigmentées d'accéder aux Grands Lacs et entravent la migration d'anguilles argentées vers leur lieu de frai. Parmi les autres menaces figurent la surpêche, la perte d'habitat et un parasite envahissant de la vessie natatoire. Les larves d'anguilles d'Amérique ont beaucoup de prédateurs aquatiques. Les prédateurs des adultes, moins nombreux, sont notamment les balbuzards pêcheurs, les mouettes et goélands.

Le parasite de la vessie natatoire Anguillicoloides crassus est une menace relativement nouvelle des anguilles d'Amérique dans le Canada atlantique. Ce parasite envahissant a étendu de manière constante son aire de répartition vers le nord, à partir du Texas. Il se propagerait très facilement d'une anguille à l'autre. L'A. crassus infecte la vessie natatoire, pouvant causer ainsi une irritation et/ou une inflammation de cet organe et entraîner des problèmes de flottabilité. Les effets ultimes chez l'hôte ne sont pas connus, et l'on étudie actuellement le parasite pour déterminer son rôle dans le déclin de la population d'anguilles d'Amérique.

Que fait Parcs Canada

Comme toutes les anguilles d'Amérique font partie d'une unique grande population reproductrice, on craint de plus en plus, dans le Canada atlantique, que le déclin dramatique du stock du lac Ontario soit précurseur d'une baisse des stocks dans l'ensemble de l'aire de répartition. Toutefois, jusqu'à maintenant, de tels déclins n'ont pas été observés dans le Canada atlantique. Les données de base sur l'abondance des anguilles d'Amérique dans l'ensemble du Canada atlantique étant limitées, il est nécessaire de commencer à recueillir des données dans toute la région pour évaluer adéquatement la situation de l'espèce.

On trouve l'espèce dans sept parcs nationaux du Canada atlantique, depuis le littoral ouest de Terre-Neuve jusqu'au sud de la Nouvelle-Écosse ainsi que dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent et la baie de Fundy. Cette répartition étendue offre une excellente possibilité de collaboration. Parcs Canada travaille donc avec de multiples partenaires, dont des collectivités autochtones, d'autres ministères fédéraux et des universités, à évaluer la situation du stock d'anguilles d'Amérique du Canada atlantique. Avec ses partenaires, Parcs Canada a lancé un projet multilatéral couvrant plusieurs parcs afin :

  • de mieux comprendre la biologie des anguilles dans les cours d'eau (habitat, répartition et cycle vital) grâce à une combinaison de savoir traditionnel autochtone (STA) et d'études scientifiques, qui fournit des données de base essentielles;
  • de renforcer les partenariats avec les collectivités des Premières Nations et de les aider à participer à la fois à l'apport de STA et à la collecte de données scientifiques;
  • d'améliorer les connaissances des Canadiens sur cette espèce extraordinaire par l'intermédiaire de son cycle vital fascinant et de les encourager à protéger l'espèce et à collaborer à la collecte de données scientifiques.

Liens

C'est quoi? | Ça se trouve où? | Pourquoi est-elle en danger? | Que fait Parcs Canada? | Liens