Common menu bar links

Species at Risk

The American Eel

Anguilla rostrata

juvenile eel (elver) in Fundy National Park
Juvenile eel (elver) in Fundy National Park
© Parks Canada
A silver eel in Dickson Brook, Fundy National Park
A silver eel in Dickson Brook, Fundy National Park
© Parks Canada

Parks Canada works to protect the ecological integrity of our national parks and has a responsibility to protect and conserve species at risk, with a proven track record for their effective recovery. In 2006, after dramatic population declines of up to 99% in Lake Ontario and the upper St. Lawrence River, the American eel (Anguilla rostrata) was assessed as a species of Special Concern by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC).

In Atlantic Canada, the eel is found in seven national parks and is of great cultural value to Aboriginal communities. The eel's recent declines in other regions and its potential for becoming a species at risk prompted Parks Canada to work with Aboriginal communities and other partners to embark on a multi-year project both to assess the status of the American eel in Atlantic Canada and to educate Canadians about this fascinating species.

What is it?

Adult eels are known as “yellow eels” and are olive-green to brown on their back and pale green or yellow on their sides and underneath. Adult female eels are usually 60 to 90 cm in length whereas adult males are typically 35-40 cm. Their dorsal and anal fins are long and joined to the tail fin and there are two small pectoral fins behind the gills. Spawning (sexually mature) eels are dark brown or black on top and silver underneath, hence they are called “silver eels”. At this final stage of their life cycle, the American eel's eyes will enlarge and they will stop eating as their digestive system begins to shut down to allow for increased growth of their reproductive organs. To aid in swimming back to the sea to spawn, their pectoral fins will also increase in size.

What is it? | Where is it? | Why is it in danger? | What is Parks Canada doing? | Links

Espèces en péril

L'anguille d'Amérique

Anguilla rostrata

Anguille juvénile (civelle pigmentée) au parc national Fundy
Anguille juvénile (civelle pigmentée) au parc national Fundy
© Parcs Canada
Anguille argentée, ruisseau Dickson, parc national Fundy
Anguille argentée, ruisseau Dickson, parc national Fundy
© Parcs Canada

Parcs Canada travaille à la protection de l'intégrité écologique de nos parcs nationaux et a la responsabilité de protéger et de conserver les espèces en péril. Ses efforts en vue du rétablissement de plusieurs espèces ont été fructueux. En 2006, après un déclin dramatique de près de 99 % du stock d'anguilles d'Amérique (Anguilla rostrata) du lac Ontario et du cours supérieur du fleuve Saint-Laurent, le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) a évalué l'espèce et l'a désignée « espèce préoccupante ».

Dans le Canada atlantique, l'anguille d'Amérique se trouve dans sept parcs nationaux et a une valeur culturelle considérable pour les collectivités autochtones. Les déclins récents dans d'autres régions et la possibilité que l'espèce devienne en péril ont incité Parcs Canada à collaborer avec les collectivités autochtones et d'autres partenaires à un projet pluriannuel d'évaluation du statut de l'anguille d'Amérique dans le Canada atlantique et de sensibilisation des Canadiens à cette espèce fascinante.

C'est quoi?

Les anguilles adultes, qu'on appelle « anguilles jaunes », ont le dos vert olive et les flancs et le ventre vert pâle ou jaunes. Les femelles adultes mesurent en général de 60 à 90 cm, tandis que les mâles adultes mesurent normalement de 35 à 40 cm. Les nageoires dorsale et anale sont longues et se prolongent en nageoire caudale. Deux petites nageoires pectorales se trouvent derrière les branchies. Les individus reproducteurs (sexuellement matures) sont brun foncé ou noirs sur le dessus et argent sur le dessous, d'où leur nom d'« anguilles argentées ». À ce dernier stade du cycle vital, les yeux grossissent, les individus cessent de se nourrir et le système digestif dégénère pour permettre aux organes reproducteurs de croître. Les nageoires pectorales grandissent également afin de favoriser la nage vers la mer en vue de la fraye.

C'est quoi? | Ça se trouve où? | Pourquoi est-elle en danger? | Que fait Parcs Canada? | Liens