Species at Risk

Banff Springs Snail

Physella johnsoni

What is Parks Canada doing to help save the Banff springs snail?

Research and Monitoring


Close-up of a Banff springs snail.
The snail has dark eyes and a shell that spirals to the left.
© Parks Canada / M. & L Degner / 2002

To facilitate the recovery of the Banff springs snail, Parks Canada has been collecting scientific data on every aspect of the snail and its habitat, from the chemistry of the spring water to the flora and fauna that make up the thermal spring ecosystems. Aquatic specialists have completed an inventory of the algae, mosses and invertebrates of the area. They've surveyed the plants in many of the Sulphur Mountain thermal springs. They've even studied the dragonflies and microbes.

The snail's reproductive biology and ecological role is an area of particular interest among park biologists, who also collect information on the snail's population dynamics and its distribution within the various thermal pools and their outflow streams. Scientists regularly monitor the physical and chemical attributes of the water at all of the springs the snail has inhabited. Among the readings scientists take are temperature, pH (acidity), salinity (amount of salt) and dissolved oxygen. Scientists also monitor spring flow rates, water levels and the degree of disturbance to the snail habitat. The more we can learn about this rare snail and its habitat, the better our chances of saving it from extinction!

Recovery Actions


Close-up of a Banff springs snail on a microbial mat.
The Banff springs snail is the very first living mollusc to be assessed as a threatened species by COSEWIC.
© Parks Canada / M. & L Degner / 2002

Although the snail once occupied nine of the thermal springs on Sulphur Mountain, the populations in four of the springs declined and eventually disappeared. A plan for the recovery of the snail was approved by Parks Canada in 2002. This plan outlined steps for re-establishing Banff springs snail populations in two of the thermal springs where it once lived. Reintroduction efforts began in 2002, when 50 adult snails were taken from Lower Middle Spring to seed a new colony in Upper Middle Spring. Although their numbers initially declined, the population quickly began to increase. A year later, the operation was repeated at Kidney Spring, with the introduction of 50 adult snails. Today, snail colonies are thriving in seven of the thermal springs on Sulphur Mountain.

Meanwhile, park biologists are doing everything they can to protect and enhance the snail's fragile habitat. Banff springs snail sites are protected under the federal Canada National Parks Act, as well as under the Species at Risk Act. Some sites have been closed to the public, and the park has increased surveillance and security measures, erected signs prohibiting all disturbances, and imposed fines for vandalism, trespassing and unlawful activities. The installation of a motion-sensitive surveillance and alarm system at the Basin Spring pool has helped cut down on illegal swimming.

Public Education

Species at Risk - Who Knew?

Thermal springs are sensitive ecosystems and, throughout the world, several species of thermal springs snails have become extinct in the last 100 years. Parks Canada is working to ensure that Banff's most endangered species won't suffer a similar fate.

Raising public awareness about the plight of the Banff springs snail is an important milestone on the snail's road to recovery. As its long-term prospects for survival depend on our willingness to take responsibility for its survival, fostering a sense of stewardship among local residents and park visitors is all that is keeping this species from extinction.

Park staff and others conduct educational workshops and guided walks targeting elementary and secondary school students, scientists, teachers and outdoor educators, and tour operators. Other educational initiatives include the presentation of scientific papers at regional, national and international conferences and work with the local and national media to raise the profile of the snail. Reporters and elementary school students have participated in snail recovery efforts and the snail has made it onto the pages of local, regional and national newspapers. It was even featured on the Discovery Channel!

Interpretive displays at the Cave and Basin National Historic Site of Canada chronicle recent research and recovery efforts. Informative signs and posters keep local residents, park staff and visitors up-to-date on how the snail is faring.

Working with Partners

Parks Canada is working with several partners to maintain and enhance the current snail populations and to re-establish populations in the springs they once inhabited. Some of these partners include:

  • the Canadian Wildlife Service of Environment Canada,
  • World Wildlife Fund Canada,
  • the Friends of Banff National Park,
  • the Geological Survey of Canada,
  • the University of Calgary,
  • the University of Manitoba and
  • the Bow Valley Naturalists.

Espèces en péril

Physe des fontaines de Banff

Physella johnsoni

Que fait Parcs Canada pour aider à sauver la physe des fontaines de Banff?

Recherche et surveillance


Gros plan d'une physe des fontaines de Banff
La physe a des yeux noirs et une coquille qui s'enroule vers la gauche.
© Parcs Canada / M. & L Degner / 2002

Pour faciliter le rétablissement de la physe des fontaines de Banff, Parcs Canada recueille des données scientifiques sur tous les aspects de l'espèce et de son habitat, depuis la chimie de l'eau de source jusqu'à la flore et à la faune qui peuplent l'écosystème des sources thermales. Les spécialistes aquatiques ont répertorié les algues, les mousses et les invertébrés de la région. Ils ont étudié les plantes de plusieurs sources thermales du mont Sulphur. Ils ont même étudié les libellules et les microbes.

La biologie de la reproduction de la physe et son rôle écologique revêtent un intérêt particulier pour les biologistes du parc, qui recueillent également de l'information sur la dynamique de la population de physes et sa répartition dans les diverses bassins thermaux et les cours d'eau qui en découlent. Les scientifiques surveillent régulièrement les propriétés physiques et chimiques de l'eau à toutes les sources autrefois habitées. Ils font entre autres des relevés de la température, du pH (acidité), de la salinité (quantité de sel) et de l'oxygène dissous. Ils surveillent aussi le débit des sources, les niveaux d'eau et le degré de perturbation de l'habitat de la physe. Plus nous en apprenons sur cette espèce rare et sur son habitat, meilleures seront nos chances de l'empêcher de disparaître de la surface de la Terre!

Mesures de rétablissement


Gros plan d'une physe des fontaines de Banff sur un matelas microbien
La physe des fontaines de Banff est la toute première espèce vivante de mollusques à être inscrite sur la liste des espèces menacées par le COSEPAC.
© Parcs Canada / M. & L Degner / 2002

Bien que la physe ait habité autrefois neuf des sources thermales du mont Sulphur, les populations de quatre de ces sources ont diminué et ont fini par disparaître. Un plan de rétablissement de la physe a été approuvé par Parcs Canada en 2002. Ce plan précisait les mesures à prendre pour rétablir des populations de physes dans deux des sources thermales qui les abritaient autrefois. Les efforts de réintroduction ont débuté en 2002, lorsque 50 physes adultes ont été prélevées de la source Lower Middle pour former une nouvelle colonie dans la source Upper Middle. Après que leur nombre eut diminué au départ, la population a rapidement commencé à croître. Un an plus tard, on a répété l'opération à la source Kidney, où l'on a réintroduit 50 physes adultes. Aujourd'hui, les colonies de physes se développent dans sept des sources thermales du mont Sulphur.

Parallèlement, les biologistes du parc font leur possible pour protéger et améliorer l'habitat fragile de la physe. Les sites de la physe sont protégés en vertu de deux lois fédérales, la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada et la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Certains sites ont été fermés au public, et le parc a renforcé les mesures de surveillance et de sécurité, installé des panneaux interdisant toute perturbation, et imposé des amendes en cas de vandalisme, d'intrusion et d'activités illégales. L'installation d'un système d'alarme et de surveillance à détecteur de mouvement dans le bassin de la source Basin a aidé à freiner la baignade interdite.

Sensibilisation du public

Espèces en péril - Jetez-y un coup d'oeil

Les sources thermales sont des écosystèmes vulnérables et, partout dans le monde. Plusieurs espèces d'escargots des sources thermales ont disparu à jamais au cours des 100 dernières années. Parcs Canada travaille à assurer que l'espèce la plus menacée de Banff ne subira pas le même sort.

La sensibilisation du public à la situation critique de la physe des fontaines de Banff constitue une étape importante dans le rétablissement de l'espèce. Sa survie à long terme dépend de notre volonté collective d'assumer nos responsabilités à cet égard. Le fait d'amener les résidants de la région et les visiteurs du parc à protéger la physe est donc essentiel pour empêcher cette espèce de disparaître.

Le personnel du parc et d'autres organisent des ateliers éducatifs et des promenades guidées à l'intention des élèves des écoles primaires et secondaires, des scientifiques, des enseignants et des éducateurs de plein air, ainsi que des organisateurs de voyages en groupe. D'autres initiatives de sensibilisation sont également en cours, dont la présentation de communications scientifiques à des conférences régionales, nationales ou internationales et la collaboration avec les médias locaux et nationaux pour mieux faire connaître la physe. Les journalistes et les élèves des écoles primaires ont participé aux efforts de rétablissement et des reportages sur la physe ont été publiés dans des journaux locaux, régionaux et nationaux. On a même parlé d'elle sur Discovery Channel!

Des expositions d'interprétation au lieu historique national du Canada Cave and Basin relatent les récents efforts de recherche et de rétablissement. Une série de panneaux d'information et d'affiches tiennent les résidants, le personnel du parc et les visiteurs informés de la situation de la physe.

Collaboration avec les partenaires

Parcs Canada travaille en collaboration avec plusieurs partenaires pour sauvegarder et accroître les populations actuelles de physes et pour repeupler les sources thermales où elles vivaient autrefois. Ces partenaires sont entre autres :

  • le Service canadien de la faune d'Environnement Canada;
  • le Fonds mondial pour la nature (Canada);
  • les Amis du parc national Banff;
  • la Commission géologique du Canada;
  • l'Université de Calgary;
  • l'Université du Manitoba;
  • l'organisme Bow Valley Naturalists.