Common menu bar links

When is an Island Not an Island?

St. Lawrence Islands National Park works with its neighbours to protect species at risk

 Map of St-Lawrence Islands National Park of Canada St-Lawrence Islands National Park of Canada
© Parks Canada

When it comes to protecting its vulnerable species, St. Lawrence Islands National Park (SLINP) doesn't work in isolation. It can't afford to. SLINP is a small, fragmented, protected area in one of the most densely populated parts of North America. Not surprisingly, the park is subject to many environmental stressors from outside its boundaries and a good number of the local flora and fauna are species at risk.

Reaching across boundaries

For Parks Canada, the implications of the park's southern Ontario location are very clear. The only way to tackle the stressors is to reach across boundaries. To protect and recover species and habitats throughout the park – and indeed, the entire region – Parks Canada needs to engage landowners, municipal governments and many other agencies.

To truly make an impact within the park, planners needed to look well beyond arbitrary borders and consider the many larger protected areas in the Thousand Islands region as a whole: SLINP, several provincial parks and the Queen's University Biology Station. For these individual areas to remain healthy, it is essential to take care of the connections – or linkages – between them. Conserving natural linkages is crucial to maintaining the habitats and travel corridors required by these species.

 Park islands Park islands (SLNP)
© Parks Canada

To focus on the big picture, Parks Canada and its partners established the Thousand Islands Ecosystem Species at Risk Habitat Availability Project. Parks Canada, the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources (MNR) and other agencies would identify linkages by examining the numerous other green spaces among and between the larger parks.

Developing the knowledge base

A major conservation effort like this needs good data on species and habitat. To build the knowledge base, the Southern Ontario Land Resource Information System (SOLRIS) was applied in the Thousand Islands area. Administered by Ontario's MNR, SOLRIS uses ecological land classification techniques to identify, evaluate and map habitat for species at risk and other wildlife. In the process, it provides abundant useful information on forests, soils, wetlands and other natural features. The exercise is helping to identify high priority areas for conservation and restoration across the region.

Parks rely on their neighbours

Project Manager Shaun Thompson clearly summed up the importance of maintaining green connections. Shaun, who was on loan to Parks Canada from the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources, emphasizes that, despite being mainly surrounded by water, SLINP is not an island in an ecological sense. "The ecological integrity of any protected area relies on the surrounding landscape," he says.

He also points out the importance of landowners in the equation. The majority of green links between parks are on private or municipal lands. That's why community involvement and private stewardship are so important. It is essential to build trust and communication, says Shaun, because property rights can be a concern when discussing habitat conservation measures. "We need to be up-front with landowners," says Shaun.

Getting to know the landowners

 Landowner participating in an ecological survey while standing by a large Shagbark Hickory tree  Landowner participating in an ecological survey while standing by a large Shagbark Hickory tree
© Parks Canada

The project's intent is that landowners can become stewards for species at risk, if they are equipped with the data and informed about species' needs and legal requirements. To encourage stewardship, the project organizers first had to get to know the local community. They asked social scientists to survey the landowners to gauge their attitudes and their understanding of the value of natural ecosystems. By relating the survey results to conservation value mapping, our colleagues in the Thousand Islands could use this information to identify the best opportunities for contacting landowners about participating in conservation.

Landowners are getting involved

Some 230 landowners agreed to have ecological surveys conducted on their properties, and over 40 of them participated in the fieldwork. Parks Canada and its partners are also developing stewardship activities with property owners and volunteer groups like the Leeds County Stewardship Council. Among its many projects, the council is working with landowners to protect at-risk turtle populations (Stinkpot, Blanding's and Northern Map) along the St. Lawrence River.

Lasting partnerships

 Stinkpot turtle Stinkpot turtle
© Michele Rodrick

Through the Habitat Availability Project, Parks Canada has formed invaluable links with other agencies. As he returns to his work with Ontario's MNR, Shaun Thompson has a great sense of satisfaction, and he's enthusiastic about continuing cooperation between Parks Canada and the province. He has established "some phenomenal partnerships" at the national park. "This will benefit me in my work with MNR," says Shaun.

File(s)


Note: To read the PDF version you need Adobe Acrobat Reader on your system.

If the Adobe download site is not accessible to you, you can download Acrobat Reader from an accessible page.

If you choose not to use Acrobat Reader you can have the PDF file converted to HTML or ASCII text by using one of the conversion services offered by Adobe.

Qui a dit qu’une île est un monde en soi?

Qui a dit qu’une île est un monde en soi?

Le parc national des Îles-du-Saint-Laurent collabore avec ses voisins afin de protéger les espèces en péril.

 Carte du Parc national du Canada des Îles-du-Saint-Laurent Parc national du Canada des Îles-du-Saint-Laurent
© Parcs Canada

Quand vient le temps de protéger ses espèces en péril, le parc national des Îles-du-Saint-Laurent (PNÎSL) ne peut se permettre de travailler en vase clos. Le PNÎSL est une petite aire protégée fragmentée située dans l’une des régions les plus densément peuplées d’Amérique du Nord. Il n’est donc pas surprenant qu’il soit soumis à de nombreux agents de stress environnementaux et que plusieurs espèces florales et fauniques locales soient en péril.

Dépasser les limites arbitraires

Pour Parcs Canada, le fait que le parc soit situé dans le sud de l’Ontario a des répercussions indéniables. La seule façon de s’attaquer aux agents de stress consiste à voir au-delà des limites du parc. Afin de protéger et de rétablir les espèces et les habitats du parc, voire de toute la région, Parcs Canada doit compter sur la participation des propriétaires fonciers, des administrations municipales et de nombreux autres organismes.

Les planificateurs doivent regarder au-delà des limites arbitraires et considérer les nombreuses aires protégées de la région (le PNÎSL, plusieurs parcs provinciaux et la station de biologie de l’Université Queen) comme un tout. Pour conserver ces endroits, il faut à tout prix tenir compte des liens naturels qui les unissent. La conservation de ces liens est essentielle au maintien des habitats et des couloirs de déplacement dont les espèces ont besoin.

 Images des îles du parc Des îles du parc (PNÎSL)
© Parcs Canada

Pour mieux protéger l’écosystème, Parcs Canada et ses partenaires ont mis sur pied un Projet sur la disponibilité de l’habitat des espèces en péril. Cette initiative permet à Parcs Canada, au ministère des Richesses naturelles (MRN) de l’Ontario et à d’autres organismes, d’identifier les liens en examinant les nombreux espaces verts entourant les grands parcs.

Élaboration d’une base de connaissances

Un effort de conservation aussi considérable exige d’excellentes données sur les espèces et les habitats. Pour établir cette base de connaissances, on a utilisé le Southern Ontario Land Resource Information System (SOLRIS) [Disponible en anglais seulement] pour la région des Mille-Îles. Administré par le MRN de l’Ontario, SOLRIS fait appel à des techniques de classification écologique des terres pour déterminer, évaluer et cartographier l’habitat des espèces en péril et d’autres espèces. Il fournit de nombreux renseignements utiles sur les forêts, les sols, les milieux humides et d’autres éléments naturels. L’exercice permet d’établir les secteurs à conserver et restaurer en priorité.

Les parcs comptent sur leurs voisins

Shaun Thompson, le chef du projet, a résumé clairement l’importance de maintenir des corridors verts. En affectation à Parcs Canada, Shaun, qui travaille au ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario, a souligné que le PNÎSL n’est pas vraiment une île sur le plan écologique même s’il est presque entièrement entouré d’eau. « L’intégrité écologique d’une aire protégée est lié au paysage environnant ».

Il a aussi souligné la place importante des propriétaires fonciers dans l’équation. La majorité des corridors verts sont situés sur des terres privées ou municipales, d’où l’importance de la participation communautaire et de l’intendance privée. « La confiance et la communication sont essentielles » a-t-il déclaré, car les droits de propriété peuvent être problématiques pour conserver l’habitat. « Nous devons être francs avec les propriétaires», d’ajouter Shaun.

Apprendre à connaître les propriétaires fonciers

 Propriétaire participant à un inventaire écologique devant un grand Caryer lacinié  Propriétaire participant à un inventaire écologique devant un grand Caryer lacinié
© Parcs Canada

Le projet permet aux propriétaires fonciers de devenir les intendants des espèces en péril, en leur fournissant des données nécessaires sur les espèces et les exigences légales. Pour favoriser l’intendance, les organisateurs ont d’abord dû en apprendre davantage sur les communautés locales. Avec l’aide des spécialistes en sciences sociales, les attitudes et le niveau d’information des propriétaires ont été identifiés et analysés. Nos collègues des Mille-Îles ont ensuite fait un lien entre les résultats du sondage et la distribution cartographique des sites importants pour la conservation dans le but d’identifier les meilleures opportunités pour l’implication des propriétaires.

Les propriétaires s’impliquent

Environ 230 propriétaires ont accepté que des inventaires écologiques soient menés sur leur propriété et 40 d’entre eux ont participé aux travaux. Parcs Canada et ses partenaires planifient également des activités d’intendance avec des propriétaires et des groupes de bénévoles comme le Leeds County Stewardship Council [Disponible en anglais seulement]. Ce dernier collabore entre autres avec les propriétaires dans le cadre d’un projet visant la protection des populations de tortues en péril (tortue musquée, tortue mouchetée et tortue géographique) le long du Saint Laurent.

Des partenariats durables

 Tortue musquée Tortue musquée
© Michele Rodrick

Grâce au projet sur la disponibilité de l'habitat des espèces en péril, Parcs Canada a noué des liens privilégiés avec d’autres organismes. De retour à son poste au MRN de l’Ontario, Shaun Thompson éprouve une grande satisfaction et se dit enthousiaste à l’idée de poursuivre la coopération entre Parcs Canada et la province. Il considère que les « partenariats extraordinaires » qu’il a créés au parc national lui seront utiles dans son travail au MRN.

Fichier(s)


N. B. : Vous avez besoin du logiciel Adobe Acrobat Reader pour lire la version PDF.

Si vous n'avez pas accès au site de téléchargement d'Adobe, vous pouvez télécharger le logiciel Acrobat Reader d'une page accessible.

Si l'accessibilité à un document PDF pose un problème, vous pouvez convertir le fichier en format texte HTML ou ASCII en utilisant l'un des services d'accès offerts par Adobe (en anglais seulement).