Saving the Ice Age Grass

First Nation community involvement in managing a species at risk

 Map of Georgian Bay Islands National Park of Canada Georgian Bay Islands National Park of Canada
© Parks Canada

The forked three-awned grass (Aristida basiramea) stands about 15 cm tall and is quite unremarkable. The people of the Beausoleil First Nation had lived with the plant for thousands of years and they didn't distinguish it from other grasses. But now the First Nation residents are active stewards for this endangered species.

Living at the limit

An annual grass that is more common in parts of the United States, forked three-awned grass is at the northern limit of its range in Canada, where it occurs at only a few restricted locations in Ontario and Quebec. "Awns" are bristles, which help protect the plant's flowers. The grass's sand barren habitat is very restricted and shrinking in area. It is naturally maintained by phenomena such as fires, storms and drought. Land development has eliminated much of this habitat. In the absence of natural disturbance factors, particularly fire, what remains is steadily being lost.

A large concentration of forked three-awned grass is found on Christian Island in Georgian Bay, on Beausoleil First Nation territory. The species also occurs in Georgian Bay Islands National Park of Canada, so Parks Canada has taken the lead in preparing a federal recovery strategy for the species.

 Forked three-awned grass sign ceremony at Beausoleil First Nation Forked three-awned grass sign ceremony at Beausoleil First Nation
© Beausoleil First Nation

A close call

A recent proposal by the First Nation to build a community centre fell within an area where three-awned grass occurs, without anybody realizing the species was there. If not for a chance encounter, construction could have proceeded with serious consequences for the endangered plants. Tim Tully, a biologist working with the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources, happened to contact BFN Development Officer Melvin King about another matter involving three-awned grass. The two came to realize that the proposed location of the community centre was a serious threat to the three-awned grass at the site. The building's footprint was subsequently altered. The band and Environment Canada successfully re-located plants from the affected area to suitable habitat nearby.

 The forked three-awned grass The forked three-awned grass
© Canadian Wildlife Service-Ontario

Teaming up to protect the species

Following the species' listing under the Species at Risk Act in 2005, a three-awned grass recovery team was set up, chaired by Parks Canada, with members from the BFN, Environment Canada and the provinces of Ontario and Quebec. The experience at the community centre and the grass's unassuming nature convinced the team that something must be done to raise the species' profile: communication was the key. At the BFN's request, biologists met with the Chief and Council at Christian Island to discuss the species' recovery needs, SARA requirements and the First Nation's concerns that future development of the island not be unduly hampered by conservation measures. An important issue that arose was that few people on the island knew anything about the endangered plants. This was a big concern for the plants' long term survival.

A special connection

 Sand barren habitat that the forked three-awned grass depends on for survival Sand barren habitat that the forked three-awned grass depends on for survival
© Gary Allen / Parks Canada

Parks Canada Species at Risk coordinator Gary Allen reports that, with growing scientific knowledge of the three-awned grass, has come evidence of a "cosmic connection" between the plant and the First Nation people. "A traditional method of land clearing, involving fire, and burial practices involving excavating and mounding the sands on site, has been practiced over hundreds or thousands of years. This has likely served to maintain the sand barren habitat the species depends on", says Gary.

To address the information gap of the Beausoleil First Nation people about this important species on their island, Parks Canada, in cooperation with BFN, funded a fact sheet on Aristida. Local kids distributed the fact sheet to all residents. This information piece also describes historical relationships between BFN peoples and the forked three-awned grass, helping build a sense of pride and ownership within the community. Now, everyone knows the little grass, and is proud to be hosting a healthy population!

 Close up on the mature spike Close up on the mature spike
© Chris Johnstone / Parks Canada

The BFN now refers to three awned grass as the "ice age grass," and the community has erected prominent signs describing the species and telling people about its history and conservation needs.

Everyone benefits

This special relationship has had clear benefits for a fragile species, for First Nations people and for Parks Canada. Species recovery needs are being addressed, and the future looks brighter for the forked three-awned grass. The BFN has also developed a sense of pride and stewardship for this otherwise unremarkable plant.

File(s)


Note: To read the PDF version you need Adobe Acrobat Reader on your system.

If the Adobe download site is not accessible to you, you can download Acrobat Reader from an accessible page.

If you choose not to use Acrobat Reader you can have the PDF file converted to HTML or ASCII text by using one of the conversion services offered by Adobe.

Le sauvetage d’une graminée de l’ère glaciaire

Une Première nation participe à la gestion d’une espèce en péril.

 Le parc national du Canada des Îles-de-la-Baie-Georgienne Le parc national du Canada des Îles-de-la-Baie-Georgienne
© Parcs Canada

Haute d’environ 15 cm, l'aristide à rameaux basilaires (Aristida basiramea) passe facilement inaperçue. Les membres de la Première nation de Beausoleil [Disponible en anglais seulement] ont vécu avec cette plante pendant des millénaires, sans jamais la distinguer des autres plantes. Mais désormais, ils s’impliquent activement dans la préservation de cette espèce en voie de disparition.

À l’extrême limite de son aire de répartition

Courante dans certaines régions des États-Unis, l’aristide à rameaux basilaires est une graminée annuelle qui atteint la limite septentrionale de son aire de répartition au Canada. Elle est présente à quelques rares endroits en Ontario et au Québec. Son habitat de sable dénudé se fait de plus en plus rare en raison de l’aménagement du territoire. La plante se maintient grâce à des phénomènes naturels comme le feu, les tempêtes et la sécheresse. En l’absence de ces facteurs naturels de perturbation, notamment le feu, ses populations finissent par disparaître.

On en retrouve une grande concentration sur l’île Christian, dans la baie Georgienne, sur le territoire de la Première nation de Beausoleil. Étant donné que l’espèce est également présente dans le parc national du Canada des Îles-de-la-Baie-Georgienne, Parcs Canada a pris l’initiative d’élaborer un programme pour son rétablissement.

 Cérémonie pour inaugurer la pancarte d'aristide à rameaux basilaires avec la première nation Beausoleil Cérémonie pour inaugurer la pancarte d'aristide à rameaux basilaires avec la première nation Beausoleil
© Première Nation Beausoleil

Sauvée de justesse

La Première nation a voulu récemment construire un centre communautaire dans un secteur où se trouvait l’aristide à rameaux basilaires mais dont on ignorait la présence. Sans cette découverte fortuite, la construction aurait débuté, ce qui aurait eu des conséquences fâcheuses pour l’espèce. C’est lors d’une discussion concernant cette plante, que Tim Tully, biologiste au ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario, et Melvin King , agent de développement de la Première nation de Beausoleil, se sont rendus compte que l’emplacement du nouveau bâtiment présentait une grave menace pour cette espèce. Le tracé du centre a donc été modifié, et la Première nation, de concert avec Environnement Canada, a déplacé les plants affectés vers un habitat adéquat situé à proximité.

 Aristide à rameaux basilaires Aristide à rameaux basilaires
© Service canadien de la Faune - Ontario

Faire équipe pour protéger l’espèce

Une équipe de rétablissement de l’aristide à rameaux basilaires a été mise sur pied à la suite de l’inscription de l’espèce sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril en 2005. Présidée par Parcs Canada, cette équipe compte des représentants de la Première nation de Beausoleil, d’Environnement Canada et des provinces de l’Ontario et du Québec. L’expérience vécue avec la construction du centre communautaire et la nature discrète de la plante ont convaincu l’équipe de l’importance de mieux la faire connaître. Dans cette optique, la communication avec la population locale était la clé. À la demande de la Première nation, des biologistes ont rencontré le chef et son conseil afin de discuter des besoins relatifs au rétablissement de la plante, des exigences de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, et des préoccupations de la Première nation concernant la possibilité que les mesures de conservation nuisent au développement futur de l’île. Une des grandes problématiques était que bien peu de gens sur l’île connaissaient la plante en péril, ce qui soulevait des inquiétudes pour sa survie à long terme.

Un lien particulier

 L’habitat de sable dénudé dont l’aristide dépend pour survivre L’habitat de sable dénudé dont l’aristide dépend pour survivre
© Gary Allen / Parcs Canada

Gary Allen, coordonnateur des espèces en péril à Parcs Canada, signale que plus on accumule de connaissances scientifiques au sujet de l’aristide à rameaux basilaires, plus on se rend compte qu’il existe un « lien cosmique » entre cette espèce et la Première nation. Traditionnellement, la communauté utilisait le feu pour défricher le sol. Elle ensevelissait ses morts dans le sable en formant un monticule au-dessus du corps. Ces pratiques « millénaires » ont sans doute contribué au maintien de l’habitat de sable dénudé dont l’espèce dépend pour survivre, affirme Gary Allen.

Parcs Canada, en coopération avec la Première nation de Beausoleil, a financé la production d’une fiche d’information afin d’améliorer les connaissances des membres de la communauté concernant la présence de cette importante espèce sur leurs terres. Les enfants l’ont distribué à tous les résidents. Ce feuillet décrit également les liens historiques entre la Première nation de Beausoleil et l’aristide à rameaux basilaires, contribuant à susciter un sentiment de fierté et de responsabilité au sein de la communauté. À présent, tous connaissent cette petite plante et sont fiers d’en avoir une population saine sur leurs terres!

 Gros plan sur inflorescence mature Gros plan sur inflorescence mature
© Chris Johnstone / Parcs Canada

La Première nation de Beausoleil appelle l’aristide «l’herbe de l’ère glaciaire», et la communauté a installé de grands panneaux pour décrire l’espèce, raconter son histoire et expliquer la nécessité de la conserver.

Une initiative dont tous profitent

Ce lien particulier procure des avantages évidents pour une espèce fragile, pour les membres de la Première nation et pour Parcs Canada. On travaille maintenant au rétablissement de l’aristide à rameaux basilaires, une espèce en péril dont l’avenir paraît désormais beaucoup moins sombre. La Première nation de Beausoleil a aussi développé un sentiment de fierté et de responsabilité vis-à-vis cette plante qui semble banale à première vue.

Fichier(s)


N. B. : Vous avez besoin du logiciel Adobe Acrobat Reader pour lire la version PDF.

Si vous n'avez pas accès au site de téléchargement d'Adobe, vous pouvez télécharger le logiciel Acrobat Reader d'une page accessible.

Si l'accessibilité à un document PDF pose un problème, vous pouvez convertir le fichier en format texte HTML ou ASCII en utilisant l'un des services d'accès offerts par Adobe (en anglais seulement).