Species at Risk

Species at Risk Act

Who decides which species are at risk?

There is a process for deciding whether to list species as extirpated, endangered, threatened or of special concern under the Species at Risk Act (SARA). The decision is based on both scientific assessments and public consultation.

COSEWIC


Grey fox Grey fox
© Parks Canada / Lynch, W. / 2002

First, the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC)-scientific advisory body-assesses the status of each species. For its assessments, COSEWIC uses the best available information on the biological status of a species. This includes scientific data, Aboriginal traditional knowledge and community knowledge. Parks Canada provides information to COSEWIC on species found on Parks Canada lands. This information is reported in a Species Status Report available to the public through the Web-based SARA Registry.

Public consultations

The Minister of the Environment and/or the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, depending on the species, use this Species Status Report for public consultations on whether to add the species to the SARA list. Parks Canada works closely with Environment Canada and Fisheries and Oceans Canada to ensure that its stakeholders are consulted during the legal listing process and to avoid duplication.

Federal government

The Governor in Council (more or less the federal Cabinet) decides whether or not to add the species to the SARA list based on the recommendation of the Minister of Environment and/or the Minister Fisheries and Oceans, depending on the species under consideration. The recommendation of the Minister(s) is based on the COSEWIC assessment and feedback from the public consultations, for example, about socio-economic considerations.

Emergency measures


Dwarf Lake Iris Dwarf Lake Iris
© Parks Canada / Waterton, W. / 2004

SARA also provides authority for two emergency measures if there is an urgent/direct threat to the survival of a species: emergency listing and emergency orders.

The emergency listing process immediately protects a wildlife species. When the Minister of the Environment is of the opinion that there is an imminent threat to the survival of a species, the Minister must recommend to the Governor in Council that the species be added to the SARA list as an endangered species. If the species is added to the SARA list, COSEWIC has to prepare a Species Status Report within one year.

The emergency orders process gives the government the authority to take emergency action to protect a species that is already listed or to protect the habitat that is necessary for its survival or recovery. If the Minister of the Environment or the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans believes that a listed wildlife species is facing direct/urgent threats to its survival or recovery, that Minister must recommend to the Governor in Council that an emergency order be issued.

Espèces en péril

Loi sur les espèces en péril

Qui détermine quelles espèces sont en péril?

Il existe un processus permettant de déterminer s'il y a lieu d'inscrire une espèce comme étant disparue du pays, en voie de disparition, menacée ou préoccupante selon la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). La décision repose à la fois sur des évaluations scientifiques et sur la consultation du public.

COSEPAC

Renard gris Renard gris
© Parcs Canada / Lynch, W. / 2002

Tout d'abord, le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) – un organe consultatif scientifique – évalue le statut de chaque espèce. Pour ses évaluations, le Comité utilise les meilleurs renseignements disponibles sur la situation biologique d'une espèce, entre autres des données scientifiques et les connaissances traditionnelles autochtones et communautaires. Parcs Canada fournit au COSEPAC de l'information sur les espèces se trouvant sur les terres qui relèvent de sa compétence. Cette information est communiquée dans le rapport de situation sur l'espèce que peut consulter le public dans le Registre de la LEP accessible en ligne.

Consultations du public

Le ministre de l'Environnement et (ou) le ministre des Pêches et des Océans, selon l'espèce, utilisent ce rapport de situation aux fins de consultations publiques afin de déterminer s'il faut ajouter l'espèce en question à la liste de la LEP. Parcs Canada travaille en étroite collaboration avec Environnement Canada et le ministère des Pêches et des Océans pour s'assurer que ses intervenants sont consultés pendant le processus d'inscription à la liste légale et pour éviter les chevauchements.

Gouvernement fédéral

Le gouverneur en conseil (plus ou moins le Cabinet fédéral) décide d'ajouter ou non une espèce à la liste de la LEP sur la recommandation du ministre de l'Environnement ou du ministre des Pêches et des Océans, selon l'espèce à l'étude. La recommandation du ministre repose sur l'évaluation du COSEPAC et les commentaires formulés par le public dans le cadre des consultations, par exemple, sur les aspects socio-économiques.

Mesures d'urgence

Iris lacustre Iris lacustre
© Parcs Canada / Waterton, W. / 2004

La LEP autorise le gouvernement à prendre deux mesures d'urgence en cas de menace imminente pour la survie d'une espèce : les inscriptions d'urgence et les décrets d'urgence.

Le processus d'inscription d'urgence permet la protection immédiate d'une espèce sauvage. Lorsque le ministre de l'Environnement croit que la survie d'une espèce sauvage fait face à une menace imminente, il doit recommander au gouverneur en conseil que cette espèce soit inscrite sur la liste des espèces en péril comme espèce en voie de disparition. Si l'espèce est ajoutée à la liste, le COSEPAC sera prié de préparer un rapport de situation à son sujet dans un délai d'un an.

Les décrets d'urgence donnent au gouvernement le pouvoir de prendre des mesures d'urgence pour protéger une espèce déjà inscrite ou l'habitat nécessaire à sa survie ou à son rétablissement. Si le ministre de l'Environnement ou le ministre des Pêches et des Océans estime que la survie ou le rétablissement d'une espèce sauvage inscrite est exposé à des menaces imminentes, il doit recommander au gouverneur en conseil de prendre un décret d'urgence.