Common menu bar links

Research in Northern National Parks

Watershed approach

From "ground truth" to orbiting observatories

Boots on the ground meet eyes in the sky

© Parks Canada / Chantal Ouimet

As a mere speck walking across the remote landscape in one of Canada's northern national parks, it is daunting to think of gathering enough information to determine how well that park's environment is faring. Field researchers with Parks Canada know this feeling all too well. Nevertheless, their responsibility for measuring and reporting park ecological integrity is a core part of the agency's mandate. Canada's National Parks cover a total area larger than many countries, and although they are practically uninhabited, these places provide us with unique perspective on trends shaping the environment in the rest of the country and other, more heavily populated parts of the world.

For help, therefore, Parks Canada is looking up - way up. Orbiting satellites, outfitted with a sophisticated array of instruments, can dramatically improve the efficiency of surveying these massive parks. Where a ground-based observer would take years to cover thousands of square kilometres in detail, these eyes in the sky can do so in a matter of minutes, often with accuracy down to the level of a metre or less.

Despite this increasingly impressive capability, however, gaps remain between what satellite show us and what those images tell us. This imagery cannot always confirm a "ground truth" that might be obvious to an observer on site. An example of such truth is the chemical distinction between different types of vegetation, which is crucial to identifying lichens.

In fact, just as lichens represent a symbiosis between two organisms, the data assembled by field observers and satellites can complement one another, providing the quality and quantity of information we need to monitor the largest of our national parks. Parks Canada ecologist Chantal Ouimet has been an active member of the research community developing just such a symbiosis. With the support of Canada's International Polar Year initiative, she has spent the past few field seasons on the ground, working on this new approach to monitoring.

"There's a lot that we don't know about our northern parks, because they're really large," she explains. The smallest of them, she notes, is Vuntut in northern Yukon; it consists of 4,000 square kilometres, while the average size amongst these parks is 18,000 square kilometres. By comparison, Banff is slightly larger than Vuntut, but among the largest of Canada's southern national parks, which average about 1,400 square kilometres.

According to Ouimet, the sheer scale of northern parks forces hard choices on the people working in them.

The ground truth is out there: monitoring in Torgat Mountains National Park The ground truth is out there: monitoring in Torgat Mountains National Park
© Parks Canada / Chantal Ouimet

"When I looked at how the research was being done in northern national parks," she says, "everybody was going to their favourite place to do their sampling. Somebody would be doing freshwater surveys in one place. Somebody else would be studying tundra 200 kilometres away. And then 500 kilometres farther away somebody else would be looking at glaciers. There was no way of relating the information between these different groups."

By way of addressing this problem, she has embraced an approach that focuses on an individual watershed within a park. By collaborating and exchanging information taken from measurements on the ground in this limited section, the results can be merged with satellite imagery to interpret images collected from other areas in the park. These can be further enhanced with traditional Aboriginal knowledge, which offers insights that neither field work nor satellites could provide.

After rounding up willing collaborators and some specific areas of interest to local Inuit communities, Ouimet took part in a pilot watershed selected from the newest of the northern parks, Torngat Mountains at the northernmost tip of Newfoundland and Labrador. 

"We should be able to make links between what we see happening in fresh waters, what we see happening on the tundra, and what is happening with the glaciers," she says. "Our field information provides the ground truth for satellite imagery, while satellite imagery helps us gain information on areas that we have not surveyed from the ground. Then, when satellites indicate changes or new features somewhere else, we can concentrate our field efforts there to obtain more details. This cycle should continue over time to provide, providing more and better information about the park."

La recherche dans le Nord

Approche des bassins versants

De la réalité sur le terrain aux observatoires en orbite

Les pieds sur terre et les yeux dans le ciel

La réalité sur le terrain : surveillance dans le parc national des Monts-Torngat La réalité sur le terrain : surveillance dans le parc national des Monts-Torngat
© Parks Canada

La tâche de recueillir assez de renseignements pour déterminer comment se porte un parc national du Nord peut sembler décourageante, surtout si on le fait à pied dans un paysage reculé, les chercheurs sur le terrain de Parcs Canada en sont bien conscients. Néanmoins, leur responsabilité de mesurer l'intégrité écologique du parc et d'en dresser le portrait est essentielle au mandat de l'Agence. Les parcs nationaux du Canada couvrent une superficie totale plus grande que de nombreux pays, et même s'ils sont pratiquement inhabités, ces lieux nous fournissent une perspective unique sur ce qui façonne l'environnement dans le reste du pays et d'autres régions du monde plus densément peuplées.

Pour obtenir de l'aide, Parcs Canada doit donc lever les yeux... très haut. Les satellites en orbite, équipés d'un ensemble d'instruments à la fine pointe, peuvent améliorer considérablement l'étude des vastes parcs. S'il faudrait des années à un observateur au sol pour couvrir en détail les milliers de kilomètres carrés des parcs, ces satellites n'ont besoin que de quelques minutes avec, souvent, une précision au mètre près.

En dépit de ces grands moyens, il demeure une différence entre ce que les satellites montrent et ce que nous disent les images obtenues. Les images ne peuvent pas toujours confirmer une réalité sur le terrain qui pourrait être évidente pour un observateur au sol. La distinction chimique entre les différents types de végétation, point crucial pour l'identification des lichens, en constitue un exemple.

En effet, tout comme les lichens constituent une symbiose entre deux organismes, les données recueillies par les observateurs sur le terrain et les satellites peuvent se compléter les unes les autres : nous obtenons des données de qualité et en quantité nécessaires pour surveiller nos plus grands parcs nationaux. Chantal Ouimet, écologiste de Parcs Canada, a été particulièrement active au sein de la communauté de chercheurs qui veulent favoriser une telle symbiose. Avec l'aide du programme canadien de l'Année polaire internationale, elle a passé les dernières saisons sur le terrain pour travailler à cette nouvelle approche en matière de surveillance.

« Il y a beaucoup de choses que nous ne savons pas sur nos parcs du Nord parce qu'ils sont vraiment grands », explique-t-elle. Le plus petit d'entre eux, dit-elle, est le parc national Vuntut dans le nord du Yukon, un parc de 4 000 kilomètres carrés, la taille moyenne des parcs nordiques étant de 18 000 kilomètres carrés. Par comparaison, le parc national Banff est légèrement plus grand que celui de Vuntut, mais il est parmi les plus importants du sud du Canada, où la moyenne de superficie des parcs nationaux n'est que de 1 400 kilomètres carrés.

Selon Mme Ouimet, l'ampleur des parcs du Nord force les gens qui y travaillent à faire des choix difficiles.

« Quand j'étudiais la manière dont les recherches étaient effectuées dans les parcs nationaux du Nord, dit-elle, tout le monde allait à son endroit préféré pour faire ses prélèvements. Quelqu'un analysait des cours d'eau douce à un seul endroit. Un autre étudiait la toundra à 200 kilomètres de là. Et puis, 500 kilomètres plus loin, un autre encore observait les glaciers. Il n'y avait pas moyen de relier les informations entre les différents groupes. »

En guise de solution à ce problème, elle a adopté une approche portant sur un bassin hydrographique particulier dans un parc. Grâce aux efforts de collaboration et à la mise en commun d'informations sur les mesures prises sur le terrain dans ce secteur limité, on peut greffer les données obtenues aux images satellites pour interpréter les images provenant d'autres secteurs dans le parc. Le savoir traditionnel des Autochtones peut aussi contribuer à notre travail, car ces derniers connaissent des choses que ne peuvent révéler ni le travail sur le terrain ni les satellites.

Après avoir rassemblé les collaborateurs intéressés et choisi certaines des zones d'intérêt pour les collectivités inuites locales, Mme Ouimet a participé à un projet-pilote sur un bassin versant du plus récent parc nordique, celui des Monts-Torngat à l'extrémité nord de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

« Nous devrions être capables de faire des liens entre ce que nous observons dans les eaux douces, ce que nous observons dans la toundra et ce que nous observons dans les glaciers, dit-elle. Les données recueillies sur le terrain nous révèlent ce qu'il y a vraiment sur le terrain alors que l'imagerie par satellite nous permet d'obtenir des informations sur les secteurs que nous n'avons pas étudiés au sol. Et puis, lorsque les satellites montrent des changements ou des nouveautés à un autre endroit, nous pouvons concentrer nos efforts sur le terrain justement à cet endroit pour obtenir plus de détails. Un tel cycle doit se poursuivre sans arrêt si nous voulons mieux connaître le parc. »