Research in Northern National Parks

Research in northern National Parks

The combined area of Canada’s national parks is just over 300,000 square kilometres, approximately the size of Italy. Most of this territory consists of roadless regions north of the 60th parallel.

Northern National Parks Map of northern National Parks
© Parks Canada

Parks Canada is responsible for monitoring these large, remote places, in some cases for many decades, as with Wood Buffalo National Park, which was established in 1922. While the defining principles of this responsibility have not changed over the years, Parks Canada has been applying new tools to a challenging goal.

Using their traditional skills and knowledge, the indigenous peoples of these regions now play a major role in cooperatively managing these activities.

Innovative survey methods on the ground, combined with the latest imaging technology in space, are providing long-term insights into the diverse array of ecological systems within the parks system.

In this way, Canada is committed to caring for these special places today while preserving them for future generations.

Remote sensing Water
  • Parks Canada and the International Polar Year
    Water, along with the many plants and animals that depend on it, is an integral component of Canada’s northern environment. It was also a key focus for Parks Canada scientists during the International Polar Year, a global initiative that explored all aspects of Canada’s arctic and sub-arctic landscapes and waters. [...more]

Land
  • Parks Canada and the International Polar Year
    The well being of the terrestrial environment was a fundamental concept ushered in by the creation of Parks Canada early in the 20th century. It is a concept that continues to drive this agency’s activities, including investigations conducted during the International Polar Year, a global initiative that explored all aspects of Canada’s arctic and sub-arctic landscapes. [...more]

Watershed approach
  • Surveying the large northern parks on foot offers the greatest amount of detail about what is happening to the landscape, but it demands a significant amount of time and effort. Information about these vast areas can be quickly provided by orbiting satellites, although in less detail.
  • By integrating approaches on the ground and in the sky, much more can be learned about the entire state of the park. Researchers are therefore focusing their tundra, freshwater, and other sampling in a smaller part of the park, enhancing their findings with traditional knowledge of the area and then finally linking the results with data from satellite imagery. [...more]

Parks Canada International Polar Year Research

La recherche dans le Nord

La recherche dans le Nord

La superficie totale des parcs nationaux du Canada est un peu plus de 300 000 kilomètres carrés, soit environ la taille de l’Italie. La majeure partie de ce territoire se trouve dans des régions dépourvues de route au nord du 60e parallèle.

Parcs nationaux du Nord Carte des parcs nationaux du nord
© Parcs Canada

Parcs Canada est responsable de la surveillance de ces grandes régions isolées, dans certains cas depuis plusieurs décennies, comme le parc national Wood Buffalo qui a été créé en 1922. Bien que les principes qui définissent cette responsabilité n’aient pas changé au fil des ans, Parcs Canada a recours aux nouveaux outils pour remplir ce mandat difficile.

Grâce à leurs compétences et à leur savoir traditionnel, les peuples autochtones de ces régions jouent désormais un rôle majeur dans la gestion concertée de ces activités.

Des méthodes novatrices d’étude sur le terrain, combinées aux plus récentes technologies d’imagerie spatiale, permettent de comprendre, dans une optique à long terme, la grande diversité des systèmes écologiques au sein du réseau des parcs.

Le Canada a pris l’engagement de s’occuper maintenant de ces régions spéciales tout en les préservant pour les générations futures.

Télédétection L'eau
  • Parcs Canada et l’Année polaire internationale

    L’eau, ainsi que les nombreux animaux et plantes qui en dépendent, fait partie intégrante de l’environnement du Nord du Canada. L’eau a également été un thème clé pour les scientifiques de Parcs Canada au cours de l’Année polaire internationale, une initiative mondiale qui a exploré tous les aspects des paysages et de l’eau dans les régions arctiques et subarctiques du Canada. Découvrez plus

La terre
  • Parcs Canada et l’Année polaire internationale

    La santé de l’environnement terrestre a été un concept fondamental introduit par la création de Parcs Canada au début du 20e siècle. Ce concept continue d’être au cœur des activités de l’Agence, y compris les études réalisées au cours de l’Année polaire internationale, une initiative mondiale qui a exploré tous les aspects des paysages arctiques et subarctiques du Canada. Découvrez plus

Approche des bassins versants
  • Parcourir à pied les immensités des parcs du Nord permet de connaître en très grand détail ce qui se passe sur le terrain, mais cela requiert une quantité colossale de temps et d’effort. Les satellites en orbite fournissent rapidement de l’information sur ces vastes zones, mais avec moins de détails.

    En intégrant les approches sur le terrain et par satellite, on peut en apprendre beaucoup sur l’état complet d’un parc. Les chercheurs ciblent donc les toundras, les zones d’eau douce et effectuent de l’échantillonnage dans d’autres parties restreintes d’un parc, ils bonifient leurs résultats en s’appuyant sur le savoir traditionnel des Autochtones de la région, et ils établissent un lien entre ces résultats et les données tirées de l’imagerie satellitaire. Découvrez plus

Recherche de Parcs Canada pendant l'Année polaire internationale