Common menu bar links

The Basics: Where to Camp

Where to begin camping

Nova Scotia

Cape Breton Highlands National Park Cape Breton Highlands National Park
© Parks Canada

Cape Breton Highlands National Park

Known for its spectacular highlands, Cape Breton Highlands National Park protects steep cliffs and deep river canyons that carve into the park’s forested plateau. Feel the pounding of your heart as you reach the top of the Franey Trail, and gaze out over the landscape, where you feel that you can see all the way into the last ice age.

A 5.5-hour drive from Halifax.

Must do

Before you get cosy in your tent, peek under the cover of night! Soak up the splendour of our signature trail during the “Skyline Sunset Hike” or join “Seeing in the Dark” at Warren Lake, where you will discover tips to help launch your journey into the vibrant nocturnal world!

Wildlife you might see 

  1. Moose 
  2. Bald Eagle 
  3. Pilot Whale 
  4. Black Bear 
  5. Barred Owl

Insider’s tip

Before breakfast, put on your swimsuit, grab your towel and head to the ocean. Take a plunge! Not only will you have the beach to yourself, you will start your day completely refreshed and ready to explore.

For more information on camping and other experiences available, visit the Cape Breton Highlands National Park website or call our National Information Service toll-free at 1-888-773-8888.

 

Kejimkujik National Park Kejimkujik National Park
© Parks Canada

Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site

Take the time to explore the tranquil forests, flowing rivers and interconnected lakes of Kejimkujik National Park. Discover the rich biodiversity of this region, home to the largest protected wilderness area in the Maritime Provinces. Experience a cultural and natural landscape inhabited by the Mi’kmaq and their ancestors for more than four thousand years.

A 2-hour drive from Halifax.

Must do

Kejimkujik offers you the unique opportunity to experience tranquility in a wilderness that is the ancestral home of the Mi’kmaq. Relax by a crackling campfire in the forest or sit by a still lake and bask in the glory of a starry sky in silence and solitude.

Wildlife you might see

  1. White-tailed Deer 
  2. Red Squirrel 
  3. Chipmunk 
  4. Porcupine 
  5. Common Raven

Insider’s Tip

Jeremy’s Bay Campground offers over 300 sites with access to clean washrooms, hot showers, outdoor sinks, playgrounds, internet service, trails, and beaches, all within a lush Acadian forest near the shoreline of Kejimkujik Lake.

Over 80% of Kejimkujik is accessible by canoe or hiking only. Situated in beautiful wilderness settings, 46 backcountry campsites are scattered along hiking trails and canoe routes. Each site has two tent pads, a fire box, a picnic table, a pit privy, firewood, and a food storage device.

For more information on camping and other experiences available, visit the Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site website or call our National Information Service toll-free at 1-888-773-8888.

L’essentiel - Où faire du camping

Où découvrir le camping?

Nouvelle-Écosse

Parc national des Hautes-Terres-de-Cap-Breton Parc national des Hautes-Terres-de-Cap-Breton
© Parcs Canada

Parc national des Hautes-Terres-de-Cap-Breton

Réputé pour ses hautes terres spectaculaires, le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton abrite des falaises abruptes et de profondes rivières encaissées qui sculptent son plateau boisé. Votre cœur bat la chamade dès que vous atteignez le point culminant du sentier Franey. En contemplant ce paysage, vous avez l’impression de remonter jusqu’à la dernière période glaciaire.

Il s’agit d’un trajet en voiture de 5,5 heures depuis Halifax.

À ne pas manquer

Avant de vous prélasser dans votre tente, sortez à la faveur de l’obscurité! Imprégnez-vous des splendeurs du sentier Skyline lors d’une randonnée au crépuscule, ou participez à l’activité « Seeing in the dark » au lac Warren lors de laquelle vous apprendrez des astuces qui vous aideront à entreprendre votre excursion dans le monde nocturne et animé!

Animaux que vous pourriez voir

  1. Orignal 
  2. Pygargue à tête blanche 
  3. Globicéphale 
  4. Ours noir 
  5. Chouette rayée

Conseils de pros

Avant le déjeuner, mettez votre maillot de bain, prenez votre serviette et mettez le cap vers l’océan. Plongez! En plus d’avoir la plage à vous tout seul, vous commencerez votre journée complètement revigoré et prêt à poursuivre votre excursion.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le camping et sur les expériences inoubliables qui vous attendent à les Hautes-Terres-de-Cap-Breton, visitez le site web du parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton ou appelez sans frais au 1-888-773-8888.

 

Parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik Parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik
© Parcs Canada

Parc national Kouchibouguac

Prenez le temps d’explorer les forêts paisibles, les rivières ondulantes et le réseau de lacs du parc national Kejimkujik. Découvrez la richesse de la biodiversité de la région, qui abrite le plus grand site naturel protégé des provinces Maritimes. Explorez le patrimoine culturel et naturel de ce parc peuplé par les Micmacs et leurs ancêtres depuis plus de 4 000 ans.

Il s’agit d’un trajet en voiture de 2 heures depuis Halifax.

À ne pas manquer

Le parc national Kejimkujik vous offre l’occasion unique de jouir de la quiétude de cette région sauvage, territoire ancestral des Micmacs. Détendez-vous près d’un feu de camp en forêt, ou prélassez-vous sur la berge d’un lac, sous la splendeur d’un ciel étoilé, tout en vous laissant bercer par le silence et la solitude.

Animaux que vous pourriez voir 

  1. Cerf de Virginie 
  2. Écureuil roux 
  3. Tamia rayé 
  4. Porc-épic 
  5. Grand corbeau

Conseils de pros

Le terrain de camping de la baie Jeremy compte plus de 300 emplacements, où les visiteurs disposent de toilettes propres, de douches chaudes, d’éviers extérieurs, de terrains de jeux, d’un service Internet, de sentiers et de plages dans le cadre luxuriant de la forêt acadienne, aux abords du lac Kejimkujik.

Plus de 80 % du parc national Kejimkujik est uniquement accessible à pied ou en canot. Situés dans un cadre naturel enchanteur, 46 emplacements de camping de l’arrière-pays sont répartis le long des sentiers de randonnée et des itinéraires de canotage. Chaque emplacement comprend deux tabliers de tente, un foyer, une table à pique-nique, une toilette sèche, un câble à provisions et du bois à brûler.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le camping et sur les expériences inoubliables qui vous attendent à Kejimkujik, visitez le site web du parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik ou appelez sans frais au 1-888-773-8888.