Common menu bar links

The Basics: Where to Camp

Where to begin camping

Saskatchewan

Grasslands National Park Grasslands National Park
© Parks Canada

Grasslands National Park

Visit Grasslands National Park, the native prairie in south-western Saskatchewan, and wander where the buffalo roam - through miles of rolling hills and hidden coulees. Discover astonishing geological formations and rock fossil beds, and take the opportunity to catch a glimpse of a burrowing owl or black-footed ferret.

A 5-hour drive from either Regina or Saskatoon.

Must do

From May 1st to September 30th, Grasslands National Park offers guided hikes, astronomy programs and special events. Hike to the top of the famous 70 Mile Butte, discover a dinosaur fossil or learn how to make traditional cowboy coffee. There is something here for everyone!

Wildlife you might see 

  1. Black-tailed Prairie Dog 
  2. Plains Bison 
  3. Pronghorn Antelope 
  4. Sage Grouse 
  5. Ferruginous Hawk

Insider’s tip

There are two parts to Grasslands National Park; be sure to visit both. The West Block will amaze you with its rolling hills and the chance to see bison; the East Block has a landscape with unusual drumlin-like formations where many dinosaur fossils have been found. Don’t miss the visitor centre, located in Val Marie in the West Block.

For more information on camping and the other experiences available, visit the Grasslands National Park website or call our National Information Service toll-free at 1-888-773-8888.

 

Prince Albert National Park Prince Albert National Park
© Parks Canada

Prince Albert National Park

With spectacular views, a charming village, and wild animals all around, Prince Albert National Park is sure to offer something for everyone. Camp in deep forests, paddle on pristine waters, or journey on horseback through the Westside to see free-ranging bison on their historical home range.

A 2.5-hour drive from Saskatoon.

Must do

Gather at one of the lakeside campgrounds or stay close to the charming village of Waskesiu. At night, listen for the chorus of frogs and the call of the loons and enjoy a dazzling display of the northern lights. Explore the park for opportunities to see white-tailed deer grazing, otters swimming, and fox at play. If luck is on your side you may even catch a glimpse of a black bear or the ever-elusive moose!

Wildlife you might see 

  1. Elk 
  2. Black bear 
  3. White tailed deer 
  4. Pelican
  5. Eagle

Insider’s tip

Challenge yourself! Paddle, boat or walk to where Grey Owl, one of Canada’s great conservationists, once lived. This overnight trip can be done on your own or with a guided group. The trip to Grey Owl’s Cabin is much more than a backcountry adventure; it is a pilgrimage that will help bring you closer to Grey Owl’s message of conservation, giving you an opportunity to reflect on his words, “Remember you belong to Nature, not it to you.”

For more information on camping and the other experiences available, visit the Prince Albert National Park website or call our National Information Service toll-free at 1-888-773-8888.

L’essentiel - Où faire du camping

Où découvrir le camping?

Saskatchewan

Parc national des Prairies Parc national des Prairies
© Parcs Canada

Parc national des Prairies

Au parc national des Prairies, faites l’expérience de la prairie indigène du Sud-Ouest de la Saskatchewan; parcourez des kilomètres de collines ondulantes et de coulées cachées où erre le bison. Explorez des formations géologiques et des gisements fossilifères étonnants, et apercevez la silhouette d’une chevêche des terriers ou d’un putois d’Amérique.

Il s’agit d’un trajet en voiture de 5 heures depuis Regina ou depuis Saskatoon.

À ne pas manquer

Du 1er mai au 30 septembre, le parc national des Prairies offre des randonnées guidées, des programmes d’astronomie et des activités spéciales. Vous pouvez faire une randonnée jusqu’au sommet de la célèbre butte 70-mile, découvrir un fossile de dinosaure ou apprendre à faire le café traditionnel des cowboys. Il y a des activités pour tout le monde!

Animaux que vous pourriez voir 

  1. Chien de Prairie 
  2. Bison des plaines 
  3. Antilope d'Amérique 
  4. Tétras des armoises 
  5. Buse rouilleuse

Conseils de pro

Le parc national des Prairies est divisé en deux blocs; veillez à les visiter tous les deux. Le bloc Ouest vous enchantera avec ses collines ondoyantes et ses bisons, que vous aurez peut-être la chance d’apercevoir. Le bloc Est est parsemé de formations semblables à des drumlins, et de nombreux fossiles de dinosaures y ont été découverts. N’oubliez pas de faire halte au centre d’accueil situé à Val Marie, dans le bloc Ouest.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le camping et sur les expériences inoubliables qui vous attendent, visitez le site web du parc national des Prairies ou appelez sans frais au 1-888-773-8888.

 

Parc national de Prince Albert Parc national de Prince Albert
© Parcs Canada

Parc national de Prince Albert

Grâce à ses vues spectaculaires, à son charmant village et à sa faune abondante, le parc national de Prince Albert a de quoi plaire à tous ses visiteurs. Campez dans une forêt dense, pagayez sur des eaux pures ou traversez le secteur ouest à cheval pour y observer des bisons errant librement sur leur territoire historique.

Il s’agit d’un trajet en voiture de 2,5 heures depuis Saskatoon

À ne pas manquer

Rendez-vous à l’un des terrains de camping en bordure du lac ou demeurez à proximité du village de Waskesiu. Le soir, prêtez l’oreille au chœur de grenouilles et au chant du huard, et admirez le spectacle éblouissant des aurores boréales. Lors de votre exploration du parc, vous pourriez apercevoir un cerf de Virginie brouter, des loutres nager ou un renard jouer. Avec de la chance, vous pourriez même entrevoir un ours noir ou un insaisissable orignal!

Animaux que vous pourriez voir 

  1. Wapiti 
  2. Ours noir 
  3. Cerf de Virginie 
  4. Pélican 
  5. Aigle

Conseils de pro

Relevez le défi! À la pagaie, en bateau ou à pied, rendez-vous à l’ancienne demeure de Grey Owl, un éminent agent de la protection de la nature du Canada. Vous pouvez entreprendre cette excursion de plusieurs jours seul ou avec un groupe guidé. La randonnée vers la cabane de Grey Owl est bien plus qu’une simple excursion dans l’arrière-pays; c’est un pèlerinage qui vous aidera à mieux comprendre l’appel à la conservation de Grey Owl, en plus de vous donner l’occasion de réfléchir à son message : « N’oubliez pas que vous faites partie de la Nature, mais qu’elle ne vous appartient pas. »

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le camping et sur les expériences inoubliables qui vous attendent, visitez le site web du parc national de Prince Albert ou appelez sans frais au 1-888-773-8888.