The Basics: Where to Camp

Where to begin camping

Northwest Territories

Aulavik National Park Aulavik National Park
© Parks Canada

Aulavik National Park

Aulavik National Park bears witness to 3 500 years of arctic people's history. While there are no designated routes or trails within the park, the gentle terrain offers endless hiking possibilities, and the Thomsen River is perfect for wilderness paddling. See herds of muskox grazing on the softly rolling hills, visit thousand-year old cultural sites and experience the vastness of an arctic landscape.

Aulavik National Park is for experienced campers only. For more information, visit the Aulavik National Park website or call our National Information Service toll-free at 1-888-773-8888.

 

Nahanni National Park Reserve Nahanni National Park Reserve
© Parks Canada

Nahanni National Park Reserve

Nahanni National Park Reserve offers visitors the opportunity to explore the natural and cultural heritage of NahÆą Dehé. Flying into the park, you will witness range after range of rocky peaks, vast plateaux and canyons hundreds of meters deep.

You may catch a glimpse of a bear passing in the bush, a moose browsing at the side of a pond, or Dall’s sheep leaping nimbly on rocky hillsides.

Nahanni National Park Reserve is for experienced campers only. For more information, visit the Nahanni National Park Reserve website or call our National Information Service toll-free at 1-888-773-8888.

 

Tuktut Nogait National Park Tuktut Nogait National Park
© Parks Canada

Tuktut Nogait National Park

The world of Tuktut Nogait National Park, “home of the young caribou,” is a place where the sun never sets, the sky is immense, and the land is limitless. Walk in a world of rolling hills, multicoloured tundra and deeply cut canyons and gorges, or paddle down pristine arctic watercourses rich with birdlife, scenic canyons and waterfalls.

Tuktut Nogait National Park is for experienced campers only. For more information, visit the Tuktut Nogait National Park website or call our National Information Service toll-free at 1-888-773-8888.

L’essentiel - Où faire du camping

Où découvrir le camping?

Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Parc national Aulavik Parc national Aulavik
© Parcs Canada

Parc national Aulavik

Le parc national Aulavik est ancré dans l’histoire des habitants de l’Arctique depuis près de 3 500 ans. S’il n’existe aucun chemin ou sentier désigné dans le parc, son relief peu accidenté se prête parfaitement à l’exploration pédestre, et la rivière Thomsen est propice aux sports de pagaie en région sauvage. Vous pourrez observer des hardes de bœufs musqués qui paissent sur de douces collines, visiter des emplacements culturels millénaires et découvrir l’immensité du paysage arctique.

Le parc national Aulavik est pour les campeurs expérimentés seulement. Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez le site web du parc national Aulavik ou appelez sans frais au 1-888-773-8888.

 

Réserve de parc national Nahanni Réserve de parc national Nahanni
© Parcs Canada

Réserve de parc national Nahanni

La réserve de parc national Nahanni offre l’occasion aux visiteurs de découvrir le patrimoine naturel et culturel de la Nahʔą Dehé. Lorsque vous arrivez au parc par la voie des airs, vous voyez se défiler sous vos yeux d’interminables chaînes de pics rocheux, de vastes plateaux et des canyons de centaines de mètres de profondeur. De plus, vous pourriez entrevoir un ours se faufiler dans les sous-bois, un orignal paître sur le bord d’un lac, ou un mouflon de Dall bondir adroitement sur des coteaux rocheux.

Le réserve de parc national Nahanni est pour les campeurs expérimentés seulement. Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez le site web de la réserve de parc national Nahanni ou appelez sans frais au 1-888-773-8888.

 

Parc national Tuktut Nogait Parc national Tuktut Nogait
© Parcs Canada

Parc national Tuktut Nogait

Au parc national Tuktut Nogait, « la patrie du jeune caribou », le soleil ne se couche jamais, le ciel est immense et les terres s’étendent à l’infini. Vous pourrez y explorer des collines ondoyantes, une toundra multicolore, des canyons et des gorges escarpés, ou encore pagayer en aval de cours d’eau arctiques vierges qui abritent une faune aviaire riche et depuis lesquels vous admirerez des canyons et des chutes pittoresques.

Le parc national Tuktut Nogait est pour les campeurs expérimentés seulement. Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez le site web du parc national Tuktut Nogait ou appelez sans frais au 1-888-773-8888.