Parks Canada Heritage Gourmet App

Clam Chowder

A filling soup that just needs bread to make a whole meal.

Clam Chowder

Origin: HMCS Haida National Historic Site
Region: Ontario
Period: 20th Century - present
Course: Soups and Starters

Photo of baker in galley of HMCS Haida with many loaves of bread Photo of baker in galley of HMCS Haida with many loaves of bread
© Parks Canada

Food was filling but not fancy aboard HMCS Haida. A small galley just 10 feet wide and 12 feet long housed 3 or 4 cooks who prepared food for up to 200 sailors. HMCS Haida, like most Commonwealth ships of the day, used a technique called broadside messing when it was time to feed the crew. A group of 6-8 sailors was assigned to a table and one sailor was delegated to walk to the galley and bring back the food for everyone. Sounds easy, but try carrying a tray of hot food in a rolling sea, up ladders or down hatches!

In an interview, one of the sailors of the HMCS Haida said he remembered the clam chowder fondly, for while “each day ran into the next aboard a ship, when you got clam chowder you always knew it was Friday.”

Clam Chowder

Ingredients:

  • Approx 1 lb | 400 g fresh clams or 6 oz | 142 g canned (one can of clams)
  • 1 quart | 1 litre water
  • 7 oz | 200 g onions, sliced
  • 14 oz | 400 g potatoes, sliced
  • 2.5 oz | 70 g salt pork
  • 2 oz | 50 g flour
  • 7 fl oz | 200 ml milk
  • 2 tsp | 10 g salt
  • 1 tbsp | 15 g thyme
  • Navy or soda biscuits, whole

Directions:

  • Clean fresh clams thoroughly. Put clams in a saucepan and add enough water to cover. Bring quickly to the boil and then strain off the liquid into another saucepan. Remove clams from their shells, beard them and then chop them coarsely.
  • Fry the diced pork over a low heat. Add the onions and cook until they are lightly browned. Add the potatoes and the clam liquid and cook until the potatoes are nearly tender.
  • Blend the flour and milk and strain into the mixture, stirring as you add. Cook for 5 minutes. Add thyme and salt; cook for 6 minutes longer. Add the chopped clams. Serve the chowder with whole navy or soda biscuits.

Credits:

Recipe tested by Chef David Fairbanks, Algonquin College School of Hospitality and Tourism

This recipe comes from the book The R.C.N. Recipe Manual, published in May 1948.

Application de Parcs Canada : Patrimoine gourmand

Chaudrée de palourdes

Chaudrée de palourdes

Origine : Lieu historique national du NCSM Haida
Région : Ontario
Époque : Du 20e siècle jusqu’à présent
Plat : Soupes et entrées

Une soupe copieuse à accompagner de pain pour faire un repas complet.

Photo d’un boulanger dans la cuisine du NCSM Haida avec de nombreuses miches de pain Photo d’un boulanger dans la cuisine du NCSM Haida avec de nombreuses miches de pain
© Parcs Canada

La nourriture était consistante mais simple à bord du NCSM Haida. Une petite cuisine mesurant seulement 10 pieds de large sur 12 pieds de long logeait 3 ou 4 cuisiniers qui préparaient de la nourriture pour jusqu’à 200 marins. Le NCSM Haida, comme la plupart des navires du Commonwealth de l’époque, utilisait une technique spéciale quand venait le temps de nourrir l’équipage. Un groupe de 6 à 8 marins était assigné à une table et un marin était délégué pour se rendre à la cuisine et rapporter la nourriture pour toutes les personnes assises à table. Cela semble facile, mais essayez donc de transporter des plats chauds dans une mer houleuse, en grimpant des échelles et en descendant par des écoutilles!

Lors d’une entrevue, l’un des marins du NCSM Haida a dit qu’il avait conservé de bons souvenirs de la chaudrée de palourdes, car « les journées se confondaient l’une dans l’autre à bord d’un navire, mais lorsque l’on servait de la chaudrée de palourdes, on savait que c’était vendredi. »

Chaudrée de palourdes

Ingrédients :

  • Environ 1 lb | 400 g de palourdes fraîches ou 6 oz | 142 g de palourdes en conserve (une conserve de palourdes)
  • 1 pinte | 1 litre d’eau
  • 7 oz | 200 g d’oignons, tranchés
  • 14 oz | 400 g de pommes de terre, tranchées
  • 2,5 oz | 70 g de porc salé
  • 2 oz | 50 g de farine
  • 7 oz liq. | 200 ml de lait
  • 2 c. à thé | 10 g de sel
  • 1 c. à soupe | 15 g de thym
  • Biscuits du genre Navy ou biscuits soda, entiers

Instructions :

  • Bien nettoyer les palourdes fraîches. Mettre les palourdes dans une casserole et ajouter suffisamment d’eau pour les recouvrir. Amener rapidement à ébullition puis vider le liquide dans une autre casserole. Retirer les palourdes de leur coquille, les ébarber puis les hacher grossièrement.
  • Faire revenir le porc en cubes à feu doux. Ajouter les oignons et faire cuire jusqu’à ce qu’ils soient légèrement dorés. Ajouter les pommes de terre et l’eau de cuisson des palourdes et faire cuire jusqu’à ce que les pommes de terre soient légèrement tendres.
  • Mélanger la farine et le lait, et vider le tout dans le mélange en remuant. Faire cuire pendant cinq minutes. Ajouter le thym et le sel; cuire six minutes. Ajouter les palourdes hachées. Servir la chaudrée avec des biscuits du genre Navy ou des biscuits soda, entiers.

Crédits :

Recette testée par le chef David Fairbanks, Algonquin College School of Hospitality and Tourism

Ce récit provient du livre The R.C.N. Recipe Manual publié en mai 1948.