Parks Canada Heritage Gourmet App

Pumpkin Soup

If you take care not to break the pumpkin shell when removing the pulp, you can use it as a serving bowl.

Pumpkin Soup

Origin: Cartier Brébeuf National Historic Site
Region: Quebec
Period: 18th Century
Course: Soups and Starters

Jacques Cartier, Cartier-Brébeuf National Historic Site Jacques Cartier
© National Archives of Canada

The first explorers, including Jacques Cartier (pictured above), confused the squash (Curcubita) of the New World with melons, which were of European origin. Squash soon crossed the Atlantic, and by the 17th century, pumpkins and other varieties of squash were well-known in Europe. Recipes for squash can be found in cookbooks dating from the mid-17th century. Bonnefons, as an example, devotes an entire chapter to them in his Délices de la campagne, first published in 1654. Marie de l'Incarnation, an Ursuline, used them to make soups, preserves and fritters the European way.

This story comes from the book A Taste of History: The Origins of Quebec's Gastronomy. Yvon Desloges and Marc Lafrance. Éditions de la Chenelière, 1989. Montréal 1989. English-French book. ISBN : 2-89310-028-7.

Pumpkin Soup

Ingredients:

  • 3 tbsp | 45 ml butter
  • 1½ lbs | 675 g pumpkin, cut in cubes
  • ½ tsp | 2 ml salt
  • 4 cloves
  • ½ tsp | 2 ml nutmeg
  • 5 cups | 1.2 litres water
  • ½ cup | 125 ml whipping cream (35%)

Directions:

  • Melt the butter in a large saucepan over medium heat. Season the cubes of pumpkin with the salt, cloves and nutmeg, then brown for 5-7 minutes. Turn up the heat, add the water, and bring to a boil, stirring occasionally. Lower the heat and simmer 30-35 minutes, covered. Let cool slightly, then run the pumpkin through a blender or food processor.
  • Warm the cream over medium heat without letting it boil. Blend a few spoonfuls of the pumpkin with the cream. Slowly whisk this mixture into the soup and cook over medium heat for 10 minutes, stirring constantly.
  • To serve, pour over a slice of thick bread.

Credits:

Recipe tested by Chef Scott Warrick, Algonquin College School of Hospitality and Tourism

This recipe is adapted from the book A Taste of History: The Origins of Quebec's Gastronomy. Yvon Desloges and Marc Lafrance. Éditions de la Chenelière. Montréal 1989. English-French book. ISBN : 2-89310-028-7. The authors found the original recipe in L'École des ragoûts, which dates to 1700.

Application de Parcs Canada : Patrimoine gourmand

Potage à la citrouille

Si l’on prend soin de ne pas briser l’écorce de la citrouille en enlevant la chair, on peut s’en servir comme soupière.

Pumpkin Soup

Origine : Lieu historique national Cartier-Brébeuf
Région : Québec
Époque : 18e siècle
Plat : Soupes et entrées

Jacques Cartier, Lieu historique national du Canada Cartier-Brébeuf Jacques Cartier
© Archives Nationales du Canada

Les premiers explorateurs, dont Jacques Cartier (figurant ci-dessus), confondent le melon d'origine européenne, et la citrouille (cucurbita), d'origine américaine. Celle-ci franchira vite l'Atlantique de sorte qu'au 17e siècle, citrouilles, courges et potirons sont bien connus en Europe. D'ailleurs, les auteurs des traités de cuisine du milieu du 17e siècle leur consacrent plusieurs recettes. Ainsi, Bonnefons dans ses Délices de la campagne, paru pour la première fois en 1654, leur réserve un chapitre entier. L'ursuline Marie de l'Incarnation, reprenant, en somme, les recettes européennes destinées au melon, en fait des potages, des conserves et des beignets.

Ce récit provient du livre Goûter à l’histoire : les origines de la gastronomie québécoise. Yvon Desloges et Marc Lafrance. Éditions de la Chenelière. Montréal 1989. Livre français-anglais. ISBN : 2-89310-028-7.

Potage à la citrouille

Ingrédients :

  • 3 c. à soupe | 45 ml de beurre
  • 1½ lb | 675 g de chair de citrouille, coupée en cubes
  • ½ c. à thé | 2 ml de sel
  • 4 clous de girofle
  • ½ c. à thé | 2 ml de muscade
  • 5 tasses | 1,2 litres d’eau
  • ½ tasse | 125 ml de crème à fouetter (35 %)

Instructions :

  • Faire fondre le beurre dans une grande casserole à feu moyen. Faire revenir les cubes de citrouille de 5 à 7 minutes après les avoir assaisonnés avec le sel, les clous de girofle et la muscade. Monter le feu, ajouter l’eau et amener à ébullition en remuant de temps en temps. Baisser le feu et laisser mijoter de 30 à 35 minutes à couvert. Laisser refroidir légèrement, puis réduire la citrouille en purée au mélangeur ou au robot.
  • Faire chauffer la crème à feu moyen sans l’amener à ébullition. Incorporer à la crème quelques cuillerées de la citrouille. Ajouter tranquillement ce mélange au potage en fouettant, et faire chauffer à feu moyen pendant 10 minutes en remuant constamment.
  • Servir le potage sur une tranche de pain épaisse.

Crédits :

Recette testée par le chef Scott Warrick, Algonquin College School of Hospitality and Tourism

Cette recette est adaptée du livre Goûter à l’histoire : les origines de la gastronomie québécoise. Yvon Desloges et Marc Lafrance. Éditions de la Chenelière. Montréal 1989. Livre français-anglais. ISBN : 2-89310-028-7. Les auteurs ont tiré cette recette du livre L'École des ragoûts (1700).