Common menu bar links

Parks Canada Heritage Gourmet App

Beet Salad

Adding capers – one of the main condiments imported under the French Régime – gives the salad extra flavour.

Beet Salad

Origin: Saint-Louis Forts and Châteaux National Historic Site
Region: Quebec
Period: 18th Century
Course: Salads and Sides

Beets Historic image of beets
© The Victorian Garden, Tom Carter

Beet salad was one of the most common salads in the 18th century. Beets were grown everywhere in Canada and they kept well. Beet salad was probably served at most suppers and banquets at Château St. Louis. Adding capers – one of the main condiments imported under the French Régime – gives the salad much more flavour.

This story comes from the book A Taste of History: The Origins of Quebec's Gastronomy. Yvon Desloges and Marc Lafrance. Éditions de la Chenelière. Montréal 1989. English-French book. ISBN : 2-89310-028-7.

Beet Salad

Ingredients:

  • 3-4 | 600 g small beets
  • 3½ oz | 100 g drained capers
  • 5 oz | 150 ml olive oil (to taste)

Directions:

  • Place the washed, unpeeled beets in a saucepan with enough water to cover them. Boil covered, for 30 minutes. Drain the beets and let cool slightly. Peel the beets and dice them into a large bowl; add the capers and mix well. Toss with olive oil and serve.

Credits:

Recipe tested by Chef David Fairbanks, Algonquin College School of Hospitality and Tourism

This recipe comes from the book A Taste of History: The Origins of Quebec's Gastronomy. Yvon Desloges and Marc Lafrance. Éditions de la Chenelière. Montréal 1989. English-French book. ISBN : 2-89310-028-7. The authors found the original recipe in L'École des ragouts, which dates to 1700.

Application de Parcs Canada : Patrimoine gourmand

Salade de betteraves aux câpres

Aromatisée aux câpres, l’un des principaux condiments importés sous le régime français, cette salade prend un goût plus relevé.

Salade de betteraves aux câpres

Origine : Lieu historique national des Forts-et-Châteaux-Saint-Louis
Région : Québec
Époque : 18e siècle
Plat : Salades et accompagnements

Beets Image historique de betteraves
© The Victorian Garden, Tom Carter

La salade de betteraves était une des salades les plus usuelles au 18e siècle. On cultive les betteraves partout au Canada et elles se conservent bien. La salade de betteraves fait sans doute partie de la plupart des soupers et banquets au château Saint-Louis. Aromatisée aux câpres, l’un des principaux condiments importés sous le régime français, cette salade prend un goût plus relevé.

Ce récit provient du livre Goûter à l’histoire : les origines de la gastronomie québécoise. Yvon Desloges et Marc Lafrance. Éditions de la Chenelière. Montréal 1989. Livre français-anglais. ISBN : 2-89310-028-7.

Salade de betteraves aux câpres

Ingrédients :

  • 3 ou 4 | 600 g de petites betteraves
  • 3½ oz | 100 g câpres égouttées
  • 5 oz | 150 ml huile d’olive (facultatif)

Instructions :

  • Mettre les betteraves lavées et non pelées dans une poêle avec assez d'eau pour les couvrir. Faire bouillir sans couvert pendant 30 minutes. Égoutter les betteraves et les laisser refroidir un peu. Peler les betteraves et les couper en petits dés dans un grand bol; ajouter les câpres et bien mélanger. Ajouter de l’huile d’olive au goût et servir.

Crédits :

Recette testée par le chef David Fairbanks, Algonquin College School of Hospitality and Tourism

Cette recette provient du livre Goûter à l’histoire : les origines de la gastronomie québécoise. Yvon Desloges et Marc Lafrance. Éditions de la Chenelière. Montréal 1989. Livre français-anglais. ISBN : 2-89310-028-7. Les auteurs ont tiré cette recette du livre L'École des ragoûts (1700).