Parks Canada Heritage Gourmet App

Upside Down Roasted Wild Goose or Duck

The goose or duck is cooked upside-down with vegetables and herbs in a savoury broth, and then turned upright during the end of cooking.

Upside Down Roasted Wild Goose or duck

Origin: York Factory National Historic Site
Region: Prairies (Manitoba)
Period: Traditional
Course: Main Course

Painting of soldier goose hunting Painting of soldier goose hunting
© Parks Canada

Throughout the history of York Factory National Historic Site, the involvement of Aboriginal peoples has been integral to the operation of York Factory and the fur trade. Regardless of their nationality, men who were stationed at York Factory soon tired of their regular fare of red meat and went goose hunting with their native partners. To augment their diets, York Factory workers also grew vegetable and herb gardens, and these two practices come together in this recipe for roasted wild goose, which is roasted upside-down in a broth to keep the lean meat tender and moist.

Upside Down Roasted Wild Goose or duck

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup (1 stick) | 125 ml butter or margarine
  • 1 cup | 250 ml diced carrots
  • 1 cup | 250 ml diced celery
  • 1 cup | 250 ml diced onion
  • 1 medium apple, cored, peeled and diced
  • 4 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • 1 cup | 250 ml veal (or low-salt chicken) stock
  • ½ cup | 125 ml dry white wine
  • ¼ cup | 60 ml chopped fresh parsley
  • 2 tbsp | 30 ml dried rosemary
  • 2 tbsp | 30 ml dried thyme
  • 4 bay leaves
  • 1 tsp | 5 ml salt
  • 1 tsp | 5 ml cracked pepper
  • 1 7-10 lb | 3-5 kg dressed whole wild goose or duck

Directions:

  • Pre-heat the oven to 375°F (190°C).Melt the butter in a large roasting pan (that can be fitted with a lid) over medium-low heat. Add the carrots, celery, onions, apple and garlic. Sauté for 8 to 10 minutes. Add the stock, wine, parsley, rosemary, thyme, bay leaves, salt and pepper. Turn up the heat and bring to a boil for about 1 minute. Lower the heat to medium-low and simmer for 6 to 8 minutes.
  • Add the bird, breast-side down, and nestle into the vegetables and liquid. Spoon some of the liquid and vegetables over the goose and add more water (or wine if you like) to submerse the bird half-way. Cover and roast about 1¼ hours. Turn the bird over, facing up, and cook another 15 minutes, or until a meat thermometer registers 160°F (70°C) when inserted next to the leg bone. Remove the bird. At this point the bird can be placed on a roasting pan and browned and crisped in a 375°F (190°C) oven.Remove and let the bird sit for about 10 minutes before carving. Spoon some of the juice and vegetables over each portion of sliced meat and potatoes. The cooking liquid can be thickened into gravy before serving if desired.

Credits:

Recipe tested by Chef Scott Warrick, Algonquin College School of Hospitality and Tourism

The original recipe called for wild goose and is from Wild Fish and Game Cookbook by John Manikowski (artisan). The chefs adapted it to make it easy for urban cooks to make.

Application de Parcs Canada : Patrimoine gourmand

Oie sauvage ou canard rôti face vers le bas

L’oie ou le canard est cuit face vers le bas avec des légumes et des herbes dans un bouillon savoureux, puis il est retourné vers la fin de la cuisson.

Oie sauvage ou canard rôti face vers le bas

Origine : Lieu historique national York Factory
Région : Prairies (Manitoba)
Époque : Traditionnel
Plat : Plats principaux

Toile d’un soldat chassant l’oie Toile d’un soldat chassant l’oie
© Parcs Canada

Pendant l’histoire du lieu historique national York Factory, la participation des peuples autochtones a fait partie intégrante du fonctionnement de York Factory et du commerce de la fourrure. Sans égard à leur nationalité, les hommes qui étaient postés à York Factory se fatiguaient rapidement du menu régulier de viande rouge et partaient à la chasse à l’oie avec leurs partenaires autochtones. Pour étoffer leur régime alimentaire, les travailleurs de York Factory cultivaient aussi des légumes et des herbes aromatiques, et ces deux pratiques sont réunies dans cette recette d’oie sauvage rôtie, qui est rôtie à l’envers dans un bouillon afin que la viande maigre demeure tendre et juteuse.

Oie sauvage ou canard rôti face vers le bas

Ingrédients :

  • ½ tasse (1 bâtonnet) | 125 ml de beurre ou de margarine
  • 1 tasse | 250 ml de carottes coupées en dés
  • 1 tasse | 250 ml de céleri coupé en dés
  • 1 tasse | 250 ml d’oignon coupé en dés
  • 1 pomme moyenne, évidée, pelée et coupée en dés
  • 4 gousses d’ail, hachées finement
  • 1 tasse | 250 ml de bouillon de veau (ou de bouillon de poulet faible en sel)
  • ½ tasse | 125 ml de vin blanc sec
  • ¼ de tasse | 60 ml de persil frais haché
  • 2 c. à soupe | 30 ml de romarin séché
  • 2 c. à soupe | 30 ml de thym séché
  • 4 feuilles de laurier
  • 1 c. à thé | 5 ml de sel
  • 1 c. à thé | 5 ml de poivre concassé
  • 1 oie ou canard sauvage (de 7 à 10 lb | de 3 à 5 kg) habillé

Instructions :

  • Préchauffer le four à 375 °F (190 °C).Faire fondre le beurre dans une grande rôtissoire (munie d’un couvercle) à feu moyen-doux. Ajouter les carottes, le céleri, l’oignon, la pomme et l’ail. Faire sauter de 8 à 10 minutes. Ajouter le bouillon, le vin, le persil, le romarin, le thym, les feuilles de laurier, le sel et le poivre. Augmenter le feu, amener à ébullition et laisser bouillir pendant environ 1 minute. Réduire le feu à moyen-doux et laisser mijoter de 6 à 8 minutes.
  • Ajouter l’oie ou le canard, face vers le bas, et lui faire une place au milieu des légumes et du liquide. Verser du bouillon et des légumes sur l’oie ou le canard et ajouter de l’eau (ou du vin) de façon à recouvrir la moitié de l’oiseau. Couvrir et laisser rôtir pendant environ 75 minutes. Retourner l’oie ou le canard et poursuivre la cuisson pendant 15 minutes, ou jusqu’à ce qu’un thermomètre à viande inséré près de l’os de la patte indique 160 °F (70 °C). Retirer l’oie ou le canard de la rôtissoire. Déposer l’oiseau dans une autre rôtissoire, et faire dorer au four à 375 °F (190 °C) jusqu’à ce que la peau soit croustillante.
  • Retirer du four et laisser l’oie ou le canard reposer pendant environ 10 minutes avant de le découper. Verser du bouillon et des légumes sur chaque portion de viande et de pommes de terre. Vous pouvez également épaissir le liquide de cuisson et en faire une sauce.

Crédits :

Recette testée par le chef Scott Warrick, Algonquin College School of Hospitality and Tourism

La recette originale, faite avec une oie sauvage, est tirée d’un livre de John Manikowski (artisan) intitulé Wild Fish and Game Cookbook. Les chefs l’ont adaptée aux besoins des cuisiniers en milieu urbain.