Parks Canada Heritage Gourmet App

L’Éclade

This recipe for l’éclade is over 400 years old!

L'éclade

Origin: Port-Royal National Historic Site
Region: Atlantic (Nova Scotia)
Period: Pre-18th Century
Course: Main Course

Samuel de Champlain Samuel de Champlain
© Library and Archives Canada, C-006643; Artist: Louis-César-Joseph Ducornet, 1806-1856

This recipe for l’éclade is over 400 years old. It was first cooked by fishermen along the shore near Brouage, France, the birthplace of the explorer Samuel de Champlain, pictured above. In 1598 Champlain made his first crossing of the Atlantic Ocean and he settled in Port Royal in 1605. He used Port-Royal as his base for the next three years while he sailed and charted the coast.

Perhaps one of the first true “foodies,” Champlain was the founding member of the Order of Good Cheer, or L’Ordre de Bon Temps, a dining society whose members took turns providing game for the table and maintaining an atmosphere of merriment. As mussels are readily available along the Bay of Fundy shoreline, Champlain is likely to have shared a good feast of these shellfish prepared in the customary fashion of his region of birth.

L’Éclade

Ingredients:

  • 6 lb | 3 kg mussels
  • 1 large bag of dried pine needles
  • Pine board about 18 inches square
  • Bread and butter

Directions:

  • Collect a bag of pine needles and let them become very dry.
  • One hour before cooking, soak the pine board in water. Beginning at the centre of the board, arrange four mussels in the form of a cross. Insert mussels one by one between each mussel in the centre. Enlarge the circle until the board is covered with mussels. Cover with pine needles, about 6 to 8 inches thick.
  • Light each corner and re-cover with more needles (4-5 inches thick). Use a fan to help flame. The shells will become nearly black. Fan the ashes off the mussels (a calendar works well).
  • Open and serve on a serving plate. Serve with thick slices of buttered bread.

Credits:

Recipe tested by Chef Sean Edwards, Algonquin College School of Hospitality and Tourism

The original recipe is traditional, but this version appeared on the CBC radio show Ideas.

Application de Parcs Canada : Patrimoine gourmand

L’éclade

Cette recette d’éclade date de plus de 400 ans.

L'éclade

Origine : Lieu historique national Port-Royal
Région : Atlantique (Nouvelle-Écosse)
Époque : Avant le 18e siècle
Plat : Plats principaux

Samuel de Champlain Samuel de Champlain
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, C-006643; Artist: Louis-César-Joseph Ducornet, 1806-1856

Cette recette d’éclade date de plus de 400 ans. Elle a été apprêtée pour la première fois par des pêcheurs près de Brouage, en France, lieu de naissance de l’explorateur Samuel de Champlain, présenté dans la photo ci-dessus. En 1598, Champlain a effectué sa première traversée de l’océan Atlantique et s’est établi à Port-Royal en 1605. Port-Royal lui a servi de point d’attache pendant les trois années suivantes tandis qu’il parcourait les côtes et cartographiait le littoral.

Champlain, peut-être l’un des premiers véritables gourmets, était membre fondateur de l’Ordre de Bon Temps, une société gastronomique dont les membres fournissaient à tour de rôle le gibier pour la table et festoyaient dans une atmosphère de gaieté. Vu que les moules sont facilement disponibles le long de la côte de la baie de Fundy, Champlain a probablement savouré un délicieux festin de ces crustacés apprêtés à la façon traditionnelle de sa région natale.

L’éclade

Ingrédients :

  • 6 lb | 3 kg de moules
  • 1 gros sac d’aiguilles de pin séchées
  • Planche de pin d’environ 18 pouces (46 cm) carrés
  • Pain et beurre

Instructions :

  • Ramasser des aiguilles de pin dans un sac et bien laisser sécher.
  • Une heure avant la cuisson, tremper la planche de pin dans l’eau. En commençant au centre de la planche, placer quatre moules en forme de croix. Insérer les autres moules une par une entre chacune des moules du centre. Agrandir le cercle jusqu’à ce que toute la planche soit recouverte de moules. Couvrir d’une épaisseur d’environ 6 à 8 pouces (de 15 à 20 cm) d’aiguilles de pin.
  • Ouvrir et mettre les moules dans un plat de service. Servir avec des tranches de pain épaisses au beurre.

Crédits :

Recette testée par le chef Sean Edwards, Algonquin College School of Hospitality and Tourism

La recette est traditionnelle, mais cette version provient de l’émission Ideas de Radio-Canada.