Parks Canada Heritage Gourmet App

Soldier’s Beef Stew

Whether prepared in a cauldron under the open sky as would have been the case at Fort Wellington or on the stove in your own kitchen, this stew is deliciously simple.

Soldier's Beef Stew

Origin: Fort Wellington National Historic Site
Region: Ontario
Period: 19th Century
Course: Main Course

Fort Wellington soldiers at camp Fort Wellington soldiers at camp
© Parks Canada

Because stews were easy to make, the meat rations of soldiers were nearly always stewed. In Fort Wellington’s early history (1812-14), stews were usually bland, made with salt beef and very spices and other ingredients. By the 1840s, the soldier’s diet had evolved. Rather than relying on traditional salt beef from afar, beef, pork and other meat was purchased from local butchers and spices were also available thanks to trade on the St Lawrence River.

Legend has it that the term “potluck” comes from the traditional serving practices of stew to soldiers. The mess man would dish out a serving (which did not always include a portion of vegetables and meat) and the Corporal assigned the serving to an individual. If you ended up with a good portion of meat and vegetables, this was your potluck.

Soldier’s Beef Stew

Ingredients:

  • 1 x 3-4 lb | 1.5 kg beef roast or top butt, cut into 1-inch cubes (or salt beef rations)
  • ½ cup | 125 ml butter
  • 2 cups | 500 ml diced onion
  • 1 cup | 250 ml diced celery
  • 3 quarts | 3 litres water
  • 4 medium potatoes, diced
  • 3 large carrots, diced
  • 4 cups | 1 litre chopped cabbage
  • 2 tsp | 10 ml salt (omit if using salt beef)
  • 1 tsp | 5 ml pepper

Directions:

  • In a large iron cauldron, melt the butter; add the beef and brown. Add the onions and celery and sauté until the onions are slightly browned, about 5-10 minutes, depending upon the heat of the fire. Add the water and bring to a boil. Keep at a rolling boil for about 1½ hours or until the beef is tender. Skim any foam that forms on the surface of the water and discard.
  • Add the potatoes, carrots, cabbage and seasonings; simmer until the potatoes start to break up and thicken the stew, about 15-20 minutes. If the stew is too thin for your taste, mix 1 tbsp of flour with ¼ cup of water and add to the stew while it is simmering. Season to taste with more salt and pepper if necessary. Serve with fresh bread.
  • Allow 3 hours cooking time, in case the fire doesn’t cooperate.

Credits:

Recipe tested by Chef Scott Warrick, Algonquin College School of Hospitality and Tourism

This traditional recipe was submitted by Parks Canada staff at Fort Wellington National Historic Site.

Application de Parcs Canada : Patrimoine gourmand

Ragoût de boeuf du soldat

Qu’il soit préparé dans un chaudron sur un feu à ciel ouvert, comme c’est le cas au fort Wellington, ou dans votre cuisine, ce ragoût simple est délicieux.

Ragoût de boeuf du soldat

Origine : Lieu historique national Fort-Wellington
Région : Ontario
Époque : 19e siècle
Plat : Plats principaux

Fort Wellington soldiers at camp Soldats du fort Wellington au campement
© Parcs Canada

Parce que les ragoûts étaient faciles à préparer, les rations de viande des soldats étaient presque toujours apprêtées de cette façon. Au début de l’histoire du fort Wellington (1812-1814), les ragoûts étaient habituellement fades et préparés avec du boeuf salé, des épices et d’autres ingrédients. Puis, dans les années 1840, le régime alimentaire du soldat a évolué. Plutôt que d’utiliser du boeuf salé provenant de loin, on achetait du boeuf, du porc et d’autres viandes auprès de bouchers locaux, et les épices étaient maintenant disponibles grâce au commerce sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent.

La légende raconte que le terme anglais « potluck » (repas-partage qui signifie aussi « à la fortune du pot ») provient des pratiques traditionnelles employées pour servir le ragoût aux soldats. Le responsable du mess servait une assiette (qui n’incluait pas toujours une portion de légumes et de viande) et le caporal assignait cette assiette à une personne. Si vous vous retrouviez avec une bonne portion de viande et de légumes, alors c’était votre potluck ou littéralement votre « fortune du pot ».

Ragoût de boeuf du soldat

Ingrédients :

  • De 3 à 4 lb | 1,5 kg de rôti ou de haut de surlonge de boeuf, coupé en cubes de 1 pouce ou 2,5 cm (ou rations de boeuf salé)
  • ½ tasse | 125 ml de beurre
  • 2 tasses | 500 ml d’oignon coupé en dés
  • 1 tasse | 250 ml de céleri coupé en dés
  • 3 pintes | 3 litres d’eau
  • 4 pommes de terre moyennes coupées en dés
  • 3 grosses carottes coupées en dés
  • 4 tasses | 1 litre de chou haché
  • 2 c. à thé | 10 ml de sel (sauf si le boeuf est déjà salé)
  • 1 c. à thé | 5 ml de poivre

Instructions :

  • Dans un grand chaudron en fer, faire fondre le beurre; ajouter le boeuf et le faire revenir. Ajouter les oignons et le céleri, et faire sauter jusqu’à ce que les oignons commencent à brunir, soit environ de 5 à 10 minutes, selon la chaleur du feu. Ajouter l’eau et l’amener à ébullition. Faire bouillir pendant environ 1 heure et demie ou jusqu’à ce que le boeuf soit tendre. Retirer toute écume qui se forme sur l’eau.
  • Ajouter les pommes de terre, les carottes, le chou et les assaisonnements; laisser mijoter jusqu’à ce que les pommes de terre commencent à se défaire et à épaissir le ragoût, soit environ de 15 à 20 minutes. Si le ragoût n’est pas assez épais, mélanger 1 c. à soupe de farine avec ¼ tasse d’eau et verser le tout dans le ragoût pendant qu’il mijote. Assaisonner au goût en ajoutant au besoin du sel et du poivre. Servir avec du pain frais.
  • Prévoir trois heures pour la cuisson au cas où le feu ne dégagerait pas la chaleur voulue.

Crédits :

Recette testée par le chef Scott Warrick, Algonquin College School of Hospitality and Tourism

Cette recette traditionnelle nous a été soumise par des employés de Parcs Canada au lieu historique national Fort-Wellington.