Parks Canada Heritage Gourmet App

Cantwell Family Sunday Dinner

A hearty meal, ideal for an autumn or winter evening

Cantwell Family Sunday Dinner

Origin: Cape Spear Lighthouse National Historic Site
Region: Atlantic (Newfoundland and Labrador)
Period: 20th Century - present
Course: Main Course

Cape Spear Lighthouse National Historic Site Cape Spear Lighthouse National Historic Site
© Parks Canada

Since 1836, Cape Spear Lighthouse has been an important aid to navigation for ships sailing along the eastern coast of Newfoundland. For much of its history, a single family, the Cantwells, was involved in tending the light. Gerry Cantwell grew up at Cape Spear and was the last member of the Cantwell family to tend the light before it was automated. This recipe is one that Gerry remembers his mother cooking during his youth. “I don’t have any cooking times associated with anything that Mother would prepare. She seemed to sense when a dish was done. Until 1969, she would cook the meat, pies, cakes, cookies, and, of course, the homemade bread, exclusively in the cast-iron Nafco Special wood and coal stove oven. Not one of we six children can remember anything ever being under-or over-cooked. I don’t know to this day how she could do it in a very hot cast iron oven with no timing mechanisms or mechanical ways to regulate the temperatures.”

Cantwell Family Sunday Dinner

Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs | 1 kg cured naval beef (salt beef) or corned beef
  • 2 lbs | 1kg leg roast of pork (bone in, skin on) or pork loin roast (bone out, fat cap on)
  • 6 potatoes
  • 6 carrots
  • 6 small white turnip
  • 6 parsnip
  • 1 cabbage 500g to 1kg -1 to 2 lbs
  • 1 lb | 500 g yellow split peas, soaked in water overnight
  • 2 tbsp | 30 ml flour
  • 2 tbsp | 30 ml butter or margarine
  • beef or chicken stock - enough to cover the beef and allow for vegetables to be added
  • salt and pepper

Directions:

  • Vegetables and Beef:
    • Soak salt beef overnight in cold water in a large pot (not required if using corned beef). In the morning, change the water and put the pot on medium heat. (If using corned beef, place in the pot and cover with stock and cook till tender.) Bring to a boil, cover and reduce the heat to medium.
    • Drain and rinse the split peas and put in a cotton bag. Tie the bag loosely leaving room for the peas to expand and suspend in the pot with the salt beef. Simmer for about 90 minutes. Alternatively, you can cook them separately in a pot with a small amount of mirepoix − diced carrot, onion and celery, about 3½ oz (100 g) of each. Once cooked, mash and add seasoning and butter.
    • Peel the turnip and cut into wedges; peel the carrots and parsnips and cut in half. Peel and wash the potatoes and add to pot along with the turnip, carrots and parsnips. Boil for about 20-30 minutes, until tender. Cut the cabbage into wedges leaving the stump in place to hold the wedges together. Add to pot, cover and continue to boil for another 15 minutes.
  • Roast pork:
    • Score the fat cap of the pork roast. Do not cut through the fat to the flesh. Rub salt and pepper into the score lines. Place in a covered roaster and roast at 325°F (165°C), 20-25 minutes per pound (500 g). About 35-40 minutes before service remove cover from the roaster to allow the skin to crisp. Time the roast to be ready 10 minutes ahead of the pot of vegetables. When ready, drain the juices from roast into a saucepan and allow the roast to rest.
  • Gravy:
    • Heat the juices from roast over medium heat and deglaze − scraping the bottom of roasting pan to release the meat scraps and add stock or water, enough to obtain 2 cups of liquid.
    • In a cup or jar put 2-3 tbsp of flour and slowly mix in cold water to make a thin paste. Gradually add the flour mix into the saucepan, stirring continuously as the gravy thickens to avoid lumps. Strain before serving. Taste and adjust seasoning.
  • Final assembly:
    • Remove pea pudding bag from pot. Untie top and turn out into bowl. Add butter and a little pepper and whisk with fork until smooth. Fish all the vegetables and beef from the pot with a slotted spoon and arrange on a platter or in serving bowls. Slice pork roast and arrange on platter. Pour gravy into gravy boat and serve all hot.
  • How to make a pudding bag:
    • Take a piece of muslin fabric approximately 10 inches by 6 inches. Fold it in half and sew across one end and up the side opposite the fold. Turn inside out. Use kitchen or butcher twine to tie open end.

Credits:

Recipe tested by Chef Sean Edwards, Algonquin College School of Hospitality and Tourism

Adapted from a recipe by Gerry Cantwell who grew up at Cape Spear and was the last member of the Cantwell family to tend the light.

Application de Parcs Canada : Patrimoine gourmand

Le repas du dimanche de la famille Cantwell

Un repas copieux qui convient parfaitement à une fraîche soirée d’automne ou d’hiver.

Le repas du dimanche de la famille Cantwell

Origine : Lieu historique national du Phare-de-Cap-Spear
Région : Atlantique (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)
Époque : Du 20e siècle jusqu’à présent
Plat : Plats principaux

Lieu historique national du Phare-de-Cap-Spear Lieu historique national du Phare-de-Cap-Spear
© Parcs Canada

Depuis 1836, le phare du Cap Spear est une importante aide à la navigation pour les navires se déplaçant le long de la côte est de Terre-Neuve. Pendant une bonne partie de son histoire, une seule famille, les Cantwell, a participé à l’entretien du phare. Gerry Cantwell a grandi à Cap Spear et a été le dernier membre de la famille Cantwell à s’occuper du phare avant son automatisation. Gerry se rappelle que sa mère préparait cette recette durant sa jeunesse. « Je n’ai aucune durée de cuisson pour les recettes apprêtées par ma mère. Elle semblait savoir intuitivement quand un plat était prêt. Jusqu’en 1969, elle préparait la viande, les tartes, les gâteaux, les biscuits et, bien sûr, le pain maison, exclusivement dans le four à bois et à charbon en fonte noire Nafco Special. Aucun des six enfants de notre famille ne peut se rappeler un plat qui n’était pas cuit à point. À ce jour, je ne sais pas comment elle pouvait s’y prendre dans un four en fonte très chaud sans un mécanisme de minuterie ou une méthode mécanique pour régler la température. »

Le repas du dimanche de la famille Cantwell

Ingrédients :

  • 2 lb | 1 kg de boeuf salé ou de « corned-beef »
  • 2 lb | 1 kg de rôti de jambon frais (avec la peau et les os) ou de rôti de longe (désossé et avec le gras de couverture)
  • 6 pommes de terre
  • 6 carottes
  • 6 petites rabioles
  • 6 panais
  • 1 chou de 500 g à 1 kg | de 1 à 2 lb
  • 1 lb | 500 g de pois cassés jaunes qui ont trempé dans l’eau toute une nuit
  • 2 c. à soupe | 30 ml de farine
  • 2 c. à soupe | 30 ml de beurre ou de margarine
  • Bouillon de boeuf ou de poulet - en quantité suffisante pour couvrir le boeuf et ajouter des légumes
  • Sel et poivre

Instructions :

  • Les légumes et le boeuf :
    • Dans une grande casserole, laisser tremper le boeuf salé dans de l’eau froide pendant une nuit (cette étape n’est pas nécessaire si vous utilisez du « corned-beef »). Le matin, changer l’eau puis faire chauffer sur le poêle à feu moyen. (Pour le « corned-beef », mettre dans une casserole et couvrir la viande avec le bouillon et cuire jusqu’à ce que celle-ci soit tendre). Amener à ébullition, couvrir et réduire le feu à moyen.
    • Égoutter les pois cassés puis les déposer dans un sac de coton. Fermer le sac lâchement pour permettre aux pois de prendre de l’expansion, puis suspendre le sac dans la casserole avec le boeuf salé. Laisser mijoter pendant 90 minutes. Il est également possible de cuire les pois dans une autre casserole avec un peu de mirepoix, une préparation à base de carottes, d’oignons et de céleris coupés en dés (environ 100 g [3½ oz] de chaque ingrédient). Une fois les pois cuits, les réduire en purée, ajouter le beurre et assaisonner.
    • Peler les rabioles et les couper en morceaux. Peler les carottes et les panais puis les couper en deux. Peler et laver les pommes de terre puis les déposer dans la casserole, avec les rabioles, les carottes et les panais. Laisser bouillir de 20 à 30 minutes, jusqu’à ce que les légumes soient tendres. Couper le chou grossièrement sans enlever le trognon afin que les morceaux du chou se tiennent. Déposer le chou dans la casserole, couvrir et laisser bouillir 15 minutes.
  • Le rôti de porc :
    • Inciser le gras de couverture du rôti de porc sans atteindre la chair. Saler et poivrer les incisions. Déposer le rôti dans une rôtissoire, couvrir et cuire au four à 325 °F (165 °C). Calculer de 20 à 25 minutes de cuisson par livre (500 g). De 35 à 40 minutes avant de servir, découvrir la rôtissoire afin de faire dorer la peau du rôti. Faire en sorte que le rôti soit prêt 10 minutes avant les légumes. Une fois le rôti cuit, verser le jus de cuisson de la rôtissoire dans une casserole puis laisser reposer le rôti.
  • La sauce :
    • Chauffer le jus de cuisson du rôti à feu moyen puis déglacer – racler la rôtissoire pour y détacher les morceaux de viande, puis ajouter du bouillon ou de l’eau pour obtenir 2 tasses de liquide. Dans une tasse ou un pot, mélanger doucement 2 ou 3 c. à soupe de farine avec de l’eau froide pour obtenir une pâte fluide. Incorporer peu à peu ce mélange de farine au jus de cuisson du rôti; remuer sans cesse pour épaissir la sauce et éviter la formation de grumeaux. Passer la sauce avant de servir. Goûter et rectifier l’assaisonnement.
  • Montage final :
    • Retirer le sac de pois de la casserole et verser son contenu dans un bol. Ajouter du beurre, poivrer légèrement et fouetter le tout avec une fourchette pour obtenir une texture onctueuse. À l’aide d’une cuillère à rainures, retirer les légumes et le boeuf de la casserole puis les disposer dans un plat de service ou dans des bols. Couper la viande finement et la placer dans un plat de service. Verser la sauce dans une saucière. Servir chaud.
  • Fabrication du sac de cuisson :
    • Tailler un morceau de tissu d’étamine d’environ 10 pouces × 6 pouces (25 cm × 15 cm). Plier le morceau de tissu en deux, coudre les côtés puis retourner. Se servir d’une ficelle de cuisine ou de boucher pour fermer l’ouverture.

Crédits :

Recette testée par le chef Sean Edwards, Algonquin College School of Hospitality and Tourism

Inspiré d’une recette de Gerry Cantwell. Gerry a grandi à Cap Spear et a été le dernier membre de la famille Cantwell à s’occuper du phare.