Common menu bar links

Parks Canada Heritage Gourmet App

Rich Soft Gingerbread

A simple and gently-spiced gingerbread.

Rich Soft Gingerbread

Origin: Woodside National Historic Site
Region: Ontario
Period: 19th Century
Course: Desserts and Baked Goods

Woodstove at Woodside Woodstove
© Parks Canada

Gingerbread has a long history in Europe and Great Britain and comes in many varieties. Sometimes it is hard and thin like a cookie and other variations, like this recipe, are more like cake. It is possible that the King family ate a gingerbread something like this Rich Soft Gingerbread. The ingredients were easily available in local stores in 1891, and customers could even choose among several types of molasses. Rich Soft Gingerbread is worth the effort to make but it does take practice, especially if prepared in a wood-fired stove!

This recipe has become a Christmas favourite with visitors to Woodside National Historic Site, and over the years many Parks Canada staff members have incorporated this recipe into their own family celebrations.

Rich Soft Gingerbread

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup | 250 ml butter
  • 1 cup | 250 ml sugar
  • 1 cup | 250 ml molasses (the darker the molasses, the darker the gingerbread)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp | 5 ml soda
  • 1 tsp | 5 ml powdered ginger
  • 1 tsp | 5 ml salt (or less, if using salted butter)
  • 1 cup | 250 ml sifted all-purpose flour (or a bit more if needed)

Directions:

  • In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar together until smooth. Add the molasses and eggs. In a separate bowl mix the baking soda, ginger and salt with the flour. Stir into batter. Continue adding flour in small amounts until dough is stiff. Spread into parchment paper lined or buttered 10" x 10" baking pan. Bake at 350°F (180°C) for approximately 40 minutes.
  • It can be served in pieces the size one would for brownies or in larger squares.
  • Note: It can be a challenge to determine exactly when to remove the gingerbread from the oven ... particularly by kerosene lamp light. However, it is well worth it as this is a very delicious dessert. The centre can be a little bit soft but the edges should be crisp when removed from the oven. Beware of overbaking or underbaking the gingerbread. A tester inserted in the centre should come out clean.

Credits:

Recipe tested by Chef Sean Edwards, Algonquin College School of Hospitality and Tourism

Adapted from: Smiley’s Cookbook and Universal Household Guide. 1894. p. 390

Application de Parcs Canada : Patrimoine gourmand

Le tendre et riche pain d’épice

Un pain d’épice aux arômes agréables facile à préparer

Le tendre et riche pain d’épice

Origine : Lieu historique national Woodside
Région : Ontario
Époque : 19e siècle
Plat : Desserts et pâtisseries

Four à bois de Woodside Four à bois de Woodside
© Parcs Canada

Le pain d’épice possède une longue histoire en Europe et en Grande-Bretagne et il se présente sous de nombreuses formes. Parfois, il est dur et mince comme un biscuit et, dans d’autres versions, comme dans cette recette, il ressemble plus à un gâteau. Il est possible que la famille King ait mangé du pain d’épice qui s’apparentait à ce pain d’épice riche et tendre. Il était facile de se procurer les ingrédients dans des magasins locaux en 1891, et les clients pouvaient choisir parmi plusieurs types de mélasse. Le pain d’épice riche et tendre en vaut l’effort, mais il faut de la pratique, particulièrement s’il est préparé dans un four à bois!

Cette recette est devenue une activité favorite de Noël auprès des visiteurs du lieu historique national Woodside, et, au fil des ans, beaucoup d’employés de Parcs Canada ont intégré cette recette à leurs propres célébrations familiales.

Le tendre et riche pain d’épice

Ingrédients :

  • 1 tasse | 250 ml de beurre
  • 1 tasse | 250 ml de sucre
  • 1 tasse | 250 ml de mélasse (la teinte du pain d’épice dépend de la teinte de la mélasse)
  • 2 oeufs
  • 1 c. à thé | 5 ml de bicarbonate de soude
  • 1 c. à thé | 5 ml de gingembre moulu
  • 1 c. à thé | 5 ml de sel (moins de sel si le beurre est salé)
  • 1 tasse | 250 ml de farine tout-usage tamisée (ou davantage, au besoin)

Instructions :

  • Dans un grand bol, crémer le beurre et le sucre jusqu’à l’obtention d’une consistance onctueuse. Ajouter la mélasse et les oeufs. Dans un autre bol, mélanger le bicarbonate de soude, le gingembre, le sel et la farine. Incorporer les ingrédients secs aux ingrédients humides et remuer pour obtenir une pâte. Ajouter de petites quantités de farine au mélange jusqu’à ce que la pâte soit ferme. Verser la pâte dans un moule carré de 10 po x 10 po (25 cm x 25 cm) beurré ou chemisé avec du papier sulfurisé. Cuire au four préchauffé à 350 °F (180 °C) pendant environ 40 minutes.
  • Le pain d’épice peut être tranché en forme de carrés au chocolat ou en plus gros morceaux.
  • Note : Il peut être difficile de déterminer le bon moment pour sortir le pain d’épice du four… surtout à la lumière d’une lampe à l’huile. Or, cela en vaut le coût, car ce dessert est tout à fait délicieux. Le centre du pain d’épice peut être moelleux à la sortie du four, mais les côtés doivent être croustillants. Attention, le pain d’épice ne doit n’être ni trop cuit, ni pas assez cuit. Un cure-dent inséré au centre du pain d’épice doit en ressortir propre.

Crédits :

Recette testée par le chef Sean Edwards, Algonquin College School of Hospitality and Tourism

Recette adaptée de Smiley’s Cookbook and Universal Household Guide. 1894. p. 390.