Common menu bar links

Parks Canada Heritage Gourmet App

Lafayette Cake

A traditional cake that is sure to please!

Lafayette Cake

Origin: Sir Georges-Etienne Cartier National Historic Site
Region: Quebec
Period: 19th Century
Course: Desserts and Baked Goods

Iamge of the dining room of Sir George-Étienne Cartier Dining room of Sir George-Étienne Cartier
© Parks Canada

Lafayette cake is a well-known traditional dessert in Quebec, and could well have been served in the dining room of Sir George-Étienne Cartier (pictured above). Marius Barbeau, while collecting popular traditional recipes in 1935-36, came upon this recipe several times. It is also mentioned in the manuscripts of recipes from the 19th and 20th centuries in religious communities in Quebec. The version from La Nouvelle Cuisinière canadienne was the first to be published in Quebec. However, the original recipe comes from the United States of America. This dessert was named in honour of the Marquis de Lafayette, a hero of the American Revolution.

This story is adapted from the book A Taste of History: The Origins of Quebec's Gastronomy. Yvon Desloges and Marc Lafrance. Éditions de la Chenelière, Montréal 1989. English-French book. ISBN : 2-89310-028-7.

Lafayette Cake

Ingredients:

  • 6 eggs, separated
  • 1 ¾ cups | 430 ml sugar
  • 2 oz | 60 g butter
  • 2 cups | 500 ml sifted all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp | 10 ml chemical leavening (baking powder)
  • A favourite jam

Directions:

  • In a large bowl, beat the egg whites until stiff. In a separate bowl, beat the yolks, gradually adding the sugar. Cream the butter and add the yolk/sugar mixture to it. Gently add the egg whites, one spoonful at a time, carefully stirring after each addition. Gradually add the flour and baking powder.
  • Preheat the oven to 350°F (175°C). Butter two 10-inch round (24 cm) cake pans and pour the batter into them. Bake in the centre of the oven for 25 minutes. Allow to sit for 10 minutes, then unmould. Spread the top of one of the cakes with jam and cover with the other cake.

Credits:

Recipe tested by Chef Sean Edwards, Algonquin College School of Hospitality and Tourism

This recipe comes from the book A Taste of History: The Origins of Quebec's Gastronomy. Yvon Desloges and Marc Lafrance. Éditions de la Chenelière, 1989. Montréal 1989. English-French book. ISBN : 2-89310-028-7. The authors found the original recipe in La Nouvelle Cuisinière canadienne (circa 1855).

Application de Parcs Canada : Patrimoine gourmand

Tarte à Lafayette

Un gâteau traditionnel et délicieux!

Tarte à Lafayette

Origine : Lieu historique national de Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier
Région : Québec
Époque : 19e siècle
Plat : Desserts et pâtisseries

Image du salle à manger de Sir George-Étienne Cartier Salle à manger de Sir George-Étienne Cartier
© Parcs Canada

La tarte à Lafayette est reconnue comme un dessert de la cuisine traditionnelle du Québec et elle aurait bien pu être servie dans la salle à manger de Sir George-Étienne Cartier (figurant ci-dessus). Marius Barbeau, lors de sa cueillette de recettes populaires traditionnelles, en 1935-1936, la relève à plusieurs reprises. On la retrouve aussi dans les cahiers de recettes manuscrites des 19e et 20e siècles des communautés religieuses de Québec. La version de La Nouvelle Cuisinière canadienne est la première publiée au Québec. Mais la recette d'origine vient des États-Unis. Il s'agit d'un nouveau dessert baptisé en l'honneur du marquis de Lafayette, héros de la révolution américaine.

Ce récit est adapté du livre Goûter à l’histoire : les origines de la gastronomie québécoise. Yvon Desloges et Marc Lafrance. Éditions de la Chenelière. Montréal 1989. Livre français-anglais. ISBN : 2-89310-028-7.

Tarte à Lafayette

Ingrédients :

  • 6 oeufs, séparés
  • 1¾ tasse | 430 ml de sucre
  • 2 oz | 60 g de beurre
  • 2 tasses | 500 ml de farine tout-usage tamisée
  • 2 c. à thé | 10 ml de poudre à pâte
  • Confiture au choix

Instructions :

  • Dans un grand bol, battre les blancs d’oeufs en neige. Battre les jaunes dans un autre bol et incorporer le sucre graduellement. Défaire le beurre en crème et y ajouter le mélange de jaunes d’oeufs et de sucre. Incorporer les blancs d’oeufs délicatement une cuillerée à la fois, en remuant bien. Ajouter graduellement la farine et la poudre à pâte.
  • Préchauffer le four à 350 °F (175 °C). Beurrer 2 moules ronds de 10 pouces (24 cm) et y verser le mélange. Cuire au centre du four pendant 25 minutes. Attendre 10 minutes et démouler. Napper de confiture le dessus d'un des deux gâteaux et placer l'autre gâteau par-dessus.

Crédits :

Recette testée par le chef Sean Edwards, Algonquin College School of Hospitality and Tourism

Cette recette provient du livre Goûter à l’histoire : les origines de la gastronomie québécoise. Yvon Desloges et Marc Lafrance. Éditions de la Chenelière. Montréal 1989. Livre français-anglais. ISBN : 2-89310-028-7. Les auteurs ont tiré cette recette de La Nouvelle Cuisinière canadienne (circa 1855).