Parks Canada Heritage Gourmet App

Iced Cheese à la Bourgeoise

Delicious - very similar to ice cream

Iced Cheese à la Bourgeoise

Origin: Saint-Louis Forts and Châteaux National Historic Site
Region: Quebec
Period: 18th Century
Course: Desserts and Baked Goods


© Parks Canada

Archeological excavations at the Saint Louis Forts and Chateaux National Historic Site uncovered many dishes – such as the 19th plates shown above – that help us to imagine the many meals, both simple and lavish, that were held here over three centuries.

Iced Cheese à la Bourgeoise

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups | 500 ml 35% cream
  • 1 cup | 250 ml milk
  • 1 egg yolk, lightly beaten
  • ¾ cup |180 ml refined sugar
  • 3-4 tsp | 15-20 ml lemon extract or orange blossom water

Directions:

  • Place the cream, milk and egg yolk in a saucepan over medium heat. Gradually add the sugar, beating continuously with a whisk, and bring to a boil. After 15 minutes, the cream should start to foam indicating that it is beginning to boil. Continue to beat for one minute. After 5 or 6 large bubbles appear, remove from heat, add the flavoring and beat slightly. Taste and adjust the flavour.
  • Pour into six single serving dishes and freeze for 2 hours, then unmould and serve.
  • Alternately, pour into a tin mould and freeze for four hours. To remove, plunge the mould into hot water for a fraction of a second; place a dish on top of the mould then turn upside down. Serve immediately.

Credits:

Recipe tested by Chef Scott Warrick, Algonquin College School of Hospitality and Tourism

The recipe was adapted from the book A Taste of History: The Origins of Quebec's Gastronomy. Yvon Desloges and Marc Lafrance. Éditions de la Chenelière. Montréal 1989. English-French book. ISBN : 2-89310-028-7. The authors found the original recipe in La Cuisinière bourgeoise, by Menon, which dates to 1772.

Application de Parcs Canada : Patrimoine gourmand

Fromage glacé à la bourgeoise

Délicieux – comme une crème glacée

Fromage glacé à la bourgeoise

Origine : Lieu historique national des Forts-et-Châteaux-Saint-Louis
Région : Québec
Époque : 18e siècle
Plat : Desserts et pâtisseries

lieu historique national des Forts-et-Châteaux-Saint-Louis
© Parcs Canada

Des fouilles archéologiques au lieu historique national des Forts-et-Châteaux-Saint-Louis ont mis au jour de nombreuses pièces de vaisselle – comme les assiettes du 19e siècle figurant ci-dessus – qui nous aident à imaginer les nombreux repas, simples ou copieux, qui se sont déroulés ici pendant trois siècles.

Fromage glacé à la bourgeoise

Ingrédients :

  • 2 tasses | 500 ml de crème 35%
  • 1 tasse | 250 ml de lait
  • 1 jaune d’oeuf, légèrement battu
  • ¾ de tasse | 180 ml de sucre raffiné
  • De 3 à 4 c. à thé | de 15 à 20 ml d'essence de citron ou d'eau de fleur d'oranger

Instructions :

  • Mettre dans une casserole à feu moyen la crème, le lait et le jaune d'oeuf. Ajouter peu à peu le sucre sans cesser de battre au fouet, et amener à l'ébullition. Après 15 minutes, la crème devrait se mettre à mousser : c'est le signe que l'ébullition commence. Continuer à fouetter pendant 1 minute. Après l’apparition de 5 ou 6 grosses bulles, retirer du feu; ajouter l'essence et fouetter quelque peu. Goûter et rectifier la saveur.
  • Verser dans 6 petits moules et congeler pendant 2 heures. Ensuite, démouler et servir.
  • Option : Verser dans un moule en fer blanc et congeler pendant 4 heures. Pour démouler, plonger dans l'eau chaude une fraction de seconde; mettre une assiette sur le moule et renverser. Servir aussitôt.

Crédits :

Recette testée par le chef Scott Warrick, Algonquin College School of Hospitality and Tourism

La recette est adaptée du livre Goûter à l’histoire : les origines de la gastronomie québécoise. Yvon Desloges et Marc Lafrance. Éditions de la Chenelière. Montréal 1989. Livre français-anglais. ISBN : 2-89310-028-7. Les auteurs ont tiré cette recette de La Cuisinière bourgeoise, de Menon, en 1772.