Parks Canada Heritage Gourmet App

Colonel Rogers Administration Building Apple Pie

The recipe for this classic apple pie has been handed down from generation to generation. It is especially delicious served with Limburger cheese.

Colonel Rogers Administration Building Apple Pie

Origin: Jasper Park Information Centre National Historic Site
Region: West (Alberta)
Period: 19th Century
Course: Desserts and Baked Goods

Colonel Rogers, wife Annette and dog, Jasper Park Information Centre National Historic Site Photo of Colonel Rogers, his wife Annette and their dog
© Courtesy of Jasper Yellowhead Historical Society

In the 1920s, Marie Louise Camp worked as a maid for Jasper National Park superintendent Lieutenant Colonel Maynard Rogers, who lived in the building that is now the park’s Information Centre. In an interview, she remembered the following amusing incident:

“…we were having special guests so I had to prepare an apple pie. That night at dinner The Colonel rang the bell and said they were ready for dessert, so I served the apple pie. He said “we will have cheese with it” and I said I had spent some time trying to pick the mould out of it but it was too far gone. The janitor, Dan Patch, had come into the kitchen and said “What the heck stinks in here?” I showed him the cheese and he said it was rotten so he had thrown it in the garbage pail and fed it to the chickens. The Colonel was so mad! We had thrown his good Limburger cheese to the chickens, but it was the first I’d ever seen.”

Colonel Rogers Administration Building Apple Pie

Ingredients:

  • Filling
    • ⅔ cup | 170 ml sugar
    • ¼ cup | 60 ml sifted all-purpose flour
    • ½ tsp | 2.5 ml ground nutmeg
    • ½ tsp | 2.5 ml ground cinnamon
    • pinch of salt
    • 8 medium-sized firm apples (a medium apple = about 1 cup)
    • 2 tbsp | 30 ml butter

  • Crust (recipe makes one double crust)
    • 2½ cups | 625 ml sifted all-purpose flour
    • 2 tbsp | 30 ml sugar
    • 1.25ml / 1/4 tsp. salt
    • ½ cup | 125 ml chilled butter, cut into small pieces
    • tbsp | 75 ml lard
    • 18 tbsp | 270 ml ice water

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 325°F (165°C).
  • Filling:
    • Peel, core and slice the apples, keeping the size of the slices even. Mix the sugar, flour, nutmeg, cinnamon and salt in large bowl and toss with the apples.
  • Crust:
    • Combine the flour, sugar and salt in a bowl. With a knife or pastry cutter, cut in the chilled butter and lard. Do not over mix. Add the ice water. Mix until the dough holds together, adding more water, if necessary. Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface. Knead it together and then divide it in half. Flatten each half into a disk and chill in the fridge for at least half an hour. Roll out one of the disks on a lightly floured surface until you have a circle that's about 12 inches in diameter. Place the circle in a pie plate, trimming any excess dough from the edges with a sharp knife. Return it to the ice box until you are ready to make the pie.
  • Pour the apple filling into pastry-lined pie plate. Dot with butter.
  • Roll out the second ball of dough into another 12-inch diameter circle; cover the top of the apples with the circle. Use a fork or your fingers to pinch the edges of the pastry together. Cut slits in the top of the pie. Bake for 40 to 50 minutes or until the crust is brown and juices begin to bubble through the slits in the crust.

Credits:

Recipe tested by Chef Sean Edwards, Algonquin College School of Hospitality and Tourism

The recipe comes to us from Parks Canada employee Deb Joly. It was passed down to her from her great-grandmother.

Application de Parcs Canada : Patrimoine gourmand

Tarte aux pommes du colonel Rogers

Cette tarte aux pommes classique, dont la recette est transmise de génération en génération, est particulièrement délicieuse lorsqu’elle est servie avec du fromage Limburger.

Tarte aux pommes du colonel Rogers

Origine : Lieu historique national du Centre-d’Information-du-Parc-Jasper
Région : Ouest (Alberta)
Époque : 19e siècle
Plat : Desserts et pâtisseries

Photo du colonel Rogers, sa femme Annette et son chien Photo du colonel Rogers, sa femme Annette et son chien
© Jasper Yellowhead Historical Society

Dans les années 1920, Marie Louise Camp travaillait comme servante auprès du directeur du parc national Jasper, le lieutenant-colonel Maynard Rogers, qui habitait dans l’édifice qui abrite aujourd’hui le Centre d’information du parc. Lors d’une entrevue, elle s’est rappelée de l’incident amusant suivant :

«…nous avions des invités spéciaux et j’ai donc préparé une tarte aux pommes. Ce soir-là au dîner, le colonel a sonné la cloche et a dit qu’il était prêt pour le dessert et j’ai donc servi de la tarte aux pommes. Il a dit : " Nous mangerons du fromage avec la tarte. " Puis, j’ai dit que j’avais passé quelque temps à enlever le moisi, mais que le fromage était trop gâté. Le concierge, Dan Patch, était arrivé dans la cuisine et avait dit : " Qu’est-ce qui sent si mauvais ici? " Je lui avais montré le fromage et il avait dit qu’il était très gâté et il l’avait donc jeté dans la poubelle et l’avait donné aux poulets. Le colonel était furieux! Nous avions donné son bon fromage Limburger aux poulets, mais c’était la première fois que je voyais ce fromage. »

Tarte aux pommes du colonel Rogers

Ingrédients :

  • Garniture
    • ⅔ de tasse | 170 ml de sucre
    • ¼ de tasse | 60 ml de farine tout-usage tamisée
    • ½ c. à thé | 2,5 ml de muscade moulue
    • ½ c. à thé | 2,5 ml de cannelle moulue
    • Pincée de sel
    • 8 pommes fermes de taille moyenne (une pomme moyenne = environ 1 tasse)
    • 2 c. à soupe | 30 ml de beurre

  • Croûte (la recette produit une croûte double)
    • 2½ tasses | 625 ml de farine tout-usage tamisée
    • 2 c. à soupe | 30 ml de sucre
    • ¼ de c. à thé | 1,25 ml de sel
    • ½ tasse | 125 ml de beurre refroidi, coupé en petits morceaux
    • 5 c. à soupe | 75 ml de saindoux
    • 18 c. à soupe | 270 ml d’eau glacée

Instructions :

  • Préchauffer le four à 325 °F (165 °C).
  • Garniture :
    • Peler, évider et trancher les pommes en tranches égales. Mélanger le sucre, la farine, la muscade, la cannelle et le sel dans un grand bol, puis mélanger avec les pommes.
  • Croûte :
    • Mélanger la farine, le sucre et le sel dans un bol. À l’aide d’un couteau ou d’un coupe-pâte, couper le beurre refroidi et le saindoux. Ne pas trop mélanger. Ajouter l’eau glacée. Mélanger jusqu’à ce que la pâte se tienne, en ajoutant de l’eau au besoin. Déposer la pâte sur une surface légèrement farinée. Pétrir la pâte puis la séparer en deux. Aplatir chaque moitié pour former des disques et faire refroidir au réfrigérateur pendant au moins 30 minutes. Rouler une moitié de la pâte sur une surface légèrement farinée jusqu’à l’obtention d’un disque d’environ 12 pouces de diamètre. Déposer le disque dans un moule à tarte, puis couper la pâte qui dépasse à l’aide d’un couteau bien aiguisé. Réfrigérer de nouveau jusqu’au moment de faire la tarte.
  • Une fois que le fond de tarte a refroidi, y verser la garniture aux pommes. Parsemer de beurre.
  • Rouler la deuxième moitié de la pâte jusqu’à l’obtention d’un autre disque d’environ 12 pouces de diamètre, puis déposer sur la tarte pour recouvrir la garniture. Utiliser une fourchette ou les doigts pour sceller la pâte. Effectuer des incisions sur le dessus de la tarte. Cuire au four de 40 à 50 minutes ou jusqu’à ce que la croûte soit dorée et que la garniture commence à déborder par les incisions.

Crédits :

Recette testée par le chef Sean Edwards, Algonquin College School of Hospitality and Tourism

La recette nous a été soumise par une employée de Parcs Canada, Deb Joly. Elle mentionne qu’il s’agit d’une recette de son arrière-grand-mère qui a été transmise de génération en génération.