Parks Canada Heritage Gourmet App

Fort George Hedgehog

Fort George Hedgehog

Origin: Fort George National Historic Site
Region: Ontario
Period: 18th Century
Course: Desserts and Baked Goods

1970s archaeological dig, Fort George National Historic Site 1970s Archaeological Dig
© Parks Canada

We know that the officers at Fort George ate well. An archeological excavation conducted at the site in 1974 (shown above) revealed the remains of a multi-course dinner party that included several chickens, a domestic goose, a duck, a passenger pigeon and quail, as well as a variety of fish including drumfish, perch and walleye. There is no doubt that such a feast would have consisted of several courses and many dishes including at least two or three elaborate desserts. The hedgehog recipe has been adapted from The Art of Cookery Made Easy (Hannah Glasse, 1796), and is the type of showy dessert that could have appeared at this Fort George officers’ dinner party.

The original recipe:

Take two pounds of sweet almonds blanched, beat them well in a mortar, with a little canary [wine] and orange-flower water, to keep them from oiling; make them into a stiff paste, then beat in the yolks of twelve eggs, leave out five of the whites, put to it a pint of cream, sweeten it with sugar, put in half a pound of sweet butter melted, set it on a furnace or slow fire, and keep continually stirring till it is stiff enough to be made into the form of a hedge-hog, then stick it full of blanched almonds slit, and stuck up like the bristles of a hedge-hog, then put into a dish. Take a pint of cream and the yolks of four eggs beat up, and mix with the cream; sweeten to your palate, and keep them stirring over a slow fire all the time till it is hot, then pour it into your dish round the hedge hog; let it stand till it is cold, and serve it up.

Or cold cream sweetened with a glass of white wine in it, and the juice of a Seville orange, and pour into the dish. It will be pretty for a change.

This is a pretty side-dish at a second course or in the middle for supper, or in a grand dessert; plump two currants for the eyes. [Glasse, The Art of Cookery, 1796]

This recipe gave us a hard time, and we found that we could not get it to work so pastry chef Tony Bond developed this one, much easier and more cost effective.

Fort George Hedgehog

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb | 450 g graham cracker crumbs
  • 1 lb | 450 g ground almonds
  • 1 orange, juiced
  • 12 eggs, separated
  • 2 cups | 500 ml 35% cream
  • Slivered almond for bristles on hedgehog
  • Icing sugar and cocoa powder for dusting the hedgehog
  • ganache (optional)
    • 14 oz | 400 g semisweet chocolate
    • ⅔ cup | 160 ml 35% cream

Directions:

  • Mix together the graham cracker crumbs, almonds and orange juice; set aside. Separate the eggs. Remove 5 egg whites from total, placing the remaining egg whites and yolks in a pot with the cream. Gently warm to a temperature of 360 °F (185 °C), being careful not to curdle the mixture.
  • Fold the graham cracker mixture into the egg/cream mixture; allow to cool. Mould into the shape of a hedgehog. Dust with cocoa powder and use the icing sugar to make the face. Add raisins or currants for eyes (half a blueberry makes a great nose) and insert almond slivers all over the body to make the bristles.
  • If using the ganache, allow the form to cool first. Make the ganache by melting the chocolate and then adding the cream until well mixed. Pour over the body of the hedgehog; this may have to be done twice to get good coverage.

Credits:

Recipe tested by Chef Tony Bond, Chef Sean Edwards and Chef Chris Rutishauser, Algonquin College School of Hospitality and Tourism

The recipe has been adapted from The Art of Cookery Made Easy (Hannah Glasse, 1796).

Application de Parcs Canada : Patrimoine gourmand

Hérisson du fort Georges

Hérisson du fort Georges

Origine : Lieu historique national du Fort-George
Région : Ontario
Époque : 18e siècle
Plat : Desserts et Pâtisseries

Fouilles archéologiques réalisées sur les lieux en 1974, Lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-George Fouilles archéologiques réalisées sur les lieux en 1974, Lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-George
© Parcs Canada

Nous savons que les officiers du Fort-George mangeaient bien. Des fouilles archéologiques réalisées sur les lieux en 1974 (figurant ci-dessus) ont révélé les restes d’un dîner à plusieurs plats qui incluaient quelques poulets, une oie domestique, un canard, un pigeon voyageur et une caille ainsi que divers poissons, dont du malachigan, de la perche et du doré jaune. Il ne fait aucun doute qu’un tel festin aurait comporté plusieurs plats et de nombreux mets, incluant au moins deux ou trois desserts élaborés. La recette de Hérisson a été adaptée de The Art of Cookery Made Easy (Hannah Glasse, 1796) et représente le genre de dessert tape-à-l’œil qui aurait été servi à ce dîner d’officiers du Fort-George.

La recette originale :

Prendre deux livres d’amandes douces blanchies, les broyer avec un mortier, ajouter un peu de canari [vin] et d’eau de fleur d’orange, pour les empêcher d’huiler; faire une pâte ferme, puis incorporer les jaunes de douze œufs en les fouettant, omettre cinq blancs d’œuf, y ajouter une pinte de crème, sucrer avec du sucre, ajouter une demi-livre de beurre sucré fondu, placer sur un foyer ou un feu lent et continuer de remuer constamment jusqu’à le mélange soit suffisamment ferme pour être façonné en forme de hérisson, puis y insérer des amandes blanchies effilées sur toute la surface, qui se dressent comme les poils d’un hérisson, et mettre dans un plat. Prendre une pinte de crème et les jaunes battus de quatre œufs et mélanger avec la crème; ajouter du sucre au goût et garder sur un feu lent en remuant jusqu’à ce que le mélange soit chaud, puis le verser dans votre plat autour du hérisson; le laisser refroidir, puis servir.

Ou de la crème froide sucrée avec un verre de vin blanc ajouté et le jus de l’orange de Séville et le verser dans le plat. Ce sera une belle présentation pour faire changement.

Ceci est un joli plat d’accompagnement comme deuxième plat ou au milieu du souper ou comme grand dessert; placer deux groseilles pour les yeux. [Glasse, The Art of Cookery, 1796]

Cette recette nous a donné du fil à retordre, et nous avons constaté qu’il était impossible de la réussir alors notre chef pâtissier Tony Bond a élaboré celle-ci, qui est beaucoup plus facile et plus économique.

Hérisson du fort Georges

Ingrédients

  • 1 lb | 450 g de chapelure de biscuits graham
  • 1 lb | 450 g d’amandes broyées
  • Le jus d’une orange
  • 12 œufs, séparés
  • 2 tasses | 500 ml de crème 35 %
  • Amandes effilées pour faire les poils du hérisson
  • Sucre à glacer et poudre de cacao à saupoudrer sur le hérisson
  • Ganache (facultative)
    • 14 oz | 400 g de chocolat mi-sucré
    • ⅔ tasse | 160 ml de crème 35 %

Instructions

  • Mélanger la chapelure de biscuits graham, les amandes broyées et le jus de l’orange; réserver. Séparer les œufs. Enlever 5 blancs d’œufs et mettre le reste des blancs et jaunes d’œufs dans une casserole avec la crème. Chauffer doucement à une température de 360 °F (185 °C), en évitant de faire tourner le mélange.
  • Incorporer le mélange de biscuits graham au mélange d’œufs et de crème; laisser refroidir. Façonner le mélange en forme de hérisson. Saupoudrer de poudre de cacao et utiliser le sucre à glacer pour faire le visage. Ajouter des raisins secs ou des groseilles pour les yeux (la moitié d’un bleuet fait un excellent nez) et recouvrir le corps d’amandes effilées pour faire les poils.
  • Avant d’utiliser la ganache, laisser la forme refroidir. Pour préparer la ganache, faire fondre le chocolat puis ajouter la crème et bien mélanger. Verser sur le corps du hérisson; vous devrez peut-être répéter l’opération deux fois pour bien le recouvrir.

Crédits

Recette testée par le chef Tony Bond, Chef Sean Edwards et chef Chris Rutishauser, Algonquin College of Hospitality and Tourism

La recette de Hérisson a été adaptée de The Art of Cookery Made Easy (Hannah Glasse, 1796).