Parks Canada Heritage Gourmet App

18th Century French Soldiers’ Bread

This bread is a favourite with visitors to the Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site. Visitors can purchase this bread from the baker or enjoy it with their 18th-century meal in the historic restaurant.

18th Century French Soldiers' Bread

Origin: Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site
Region: Atlantic (Nova Scotia)
Period: 18th century
Course: Breads and Pancakes

Photo of a baker standing with bread loaves and oven, Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site Baker standing with bread loaves and oven
© Parks Canada

In the 18th century, bread was the basis of the French diet, and the largest part of a soldier’s rations. Each soldier received one 6-lb loaf every 4 days, along with salt meat and dried vegetables. No one wanted to eat four-day old bread, so one day one soldier would claim his ration to share with his friends, the next day another would do the same.

Staff at the Fortress of Louisbourg prepare and bake Soldier’s Bread in the reproduction brick ovens in the bakery at the site, shown in the photo above. Visitors can meet the bakers and learn about the ovens and the baker’s tools, how bread was baked, and how the community used the bakery in the 18th century. Warm fresh bread can be purchased from the baker and is also served with meals in the restaurants at the fortress.

18th Century French Soldiers’ Bread

Ingredients

  • ½ tbsp | 8 g of dry yeast
  • 1½ cups | 350 ml of lukewarm water
  • ½ tbsp | 4 g salt
  • 3 cups | 750 ml stone-ground whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup | 250 ml stone-ground rye flour

Directions

  • Follow the yeast package directions to get started. Mix in a large bowl: the yeast preparation, any remaining water and one third of the flour. Beat for at least 100 strokes. Cover and let rise for ½ hour.
  • Beat down and fold in the salt. Add the remaining flour 1 cup at a time until a workable dough forms that is not too stiff. Turn out onto a floured surface and lightly knead until smooth, about 5 or 6 minutes, adding flour as required to prevent sticking. Place in greased bowl, cover and let rise in a warm place until double in bulk. Depending on the weather, this could take between 4 and 12 hours. Punch down, let rise again until double in bulk. (A second rising improves the texture and taste. This step may be skipped). Punch down and turn dough out on floured surface and knead slightly. Divide dough into 2 equal portions and shape into rounds. Let these rise until the surface of the dough yields to the touch, about a half hour. Place on greased baking sheets and bake in an oven pre-heated to 400°F (200°C) for 25-30 minutes.

Credits

Recipe tested by Chef David Fairbanks, Algonquin College of Hospitality and Tourism.

This traditional recipe was submitted by Parks Canada staff.

Application de Parcs Canada : Patrimoine gourmand

Pain des soldats français du 18e siècle

Ce pain est très apprécié des visiteurs du lieu historique national du Canada de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg. Les visiteurs peuvent acheter le pain chez le boulanger ou le déguster avec leur repas du 18e siècle dans le restaurant historique.

Pain des soldats français du 18e siècle

Origin: Lieu historique national de la Forteresse- de-Louisbourg
Région : Atlantique (Nouvelle-Écosse)
Époque : 18e siècle
Plat : Pains et crêpes

Boulanger, pains et four, Lieu historique national du Canada de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg Boulanger, pains et four
© Parcs Canada

Au 18e siècle, le pain constituait la base de la diète française et la plus grande part des rations d’un soldat. Chaque soldat recevait une miche de 6 lb tous les quatre jours, avec du lard salé et des légumes secs. Personne ne voulait manger le pain vieux de quatre jours, donc, un jour un soldat réclamait sa ration pour partager avec ses amis et le jour suivant un autre soldat faisait de même.

Dans la photographie ci-dessus, le personnel de la forteresse de Louisbourg prépare et cuit le pain des soldats dans des reproductions de fours en briques aménagés dans les boulangeries de la forteresse. Les visiteurs peuvent rencontrer les boulangers et se renseigner au sujet des outils du boulanger, de la cuisson du pain et de la façon dont la communauté faisait appel aux services de la boulangerie au 18e siècle. On peut acheter du pain chaud sortant du four auprès du boulanger et le pain est aussi servi avec les repas dans les restaurants de la forteresse.

Pain des soldats français du 18e siècle

Ingrédients :

  • ½ c. à soupe | 8 g de levure sèche
  • 1½ tasse | 350 ml d’eau tiède
  • ½ c. à soupe | 4 g de sel
  • 3 tasses | 750 ml de farine de blé entier moulue sur pierre
  • 1 tasse | 250 ml de farine de seigle moulue sur pierre

Instructions :

  • Suivre les directives figurant sur l’emballage de la levure sèche pour commencer. Mélanger dans un grand bol : la préparation de levure, le reste de l’eau et un tiers de la farine. Battre au moins 100 fois. Couvrir et laisser lever pendant 30 minutes.
  • Abaisser et incorporer le sel. Ajouter le reste de la farine une tasse à la fois jusqu’à l’obtention d’une pâte facile à travailler qui n’est pas trop ferme. Démouler sur une surface recouverte de farine et pétrir légèrement jusqu’à ce que la pâte soit lisse, soit pendant environ 5 ou 6 minutes, en ajoutant de la farine au besoin pour éviter que la pâte ne colle. Placer la pâte dans un bol graissé, couvrir et laisser lever dans un endroit chaud jusqu’à ce que la pâte ait doublé de volume. Selon le temps qu’il fait, ce processus pourrait prendre de 4 à 12 heures. Dégonfler la pâte en y enfonçant fermement le poing et laisser lever de nouveau jusqu’à ce que la pâte ait doublé de volume. (Laisser la pâte lever une deuxième fois en améliore la texture et le goût. Cette étape peut être sautée.) Dégonfler la pâte en y enfonçant fermement le poing et la démouler sur une surface recouverte de farine et pétrir légèrement. Diviser la pâte en 2 portions égales et les façonner en forme de tranches. Laisser lever jusqu’à ce que la surface de la pâte cède au toucher, soit pendant environ 30 minutes. Placer la pâte sur des plaques à pâtisserie graissées et faire cuire au four préchauffé à 400 °F (200 °C) de 25 à 30 minutes.

Crédits :

Recette testée par le chef David Fairbanks, Algonquin College School of Hospitality and Tourism.

Cette recette traditionnelle nous a été soumise par des employés de Parcs Canada.