Parks Canada Heritage Gourmet App

French Hot Chocolate

This hot chocolate is to your standard cup of cocoa what Dom Perignon is to the house wine at your local pizza place.

French Hot Chocolate

Origin: Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site
Region: Atlantic (Nova Scotia)
Period: 18th Century
Course: Beverages and Other

Interpreter and hot chocolate, Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site Interpreter and hot chocolate
© Parks Canada

The consumption of chocolate spread from the aristocracy in Spain to the French court in the 17th century, so it was still a new food at the beginning of the 18th century. The Basque Region in southwestern France was an early centre for chocolate processing, and as many merchants at Louisbourg came from this region, chocolate was often available at the fortress. However, chocolate was expensive and reserved for the elite.

In the 18th century, chocolate was usually served as a drink at breakfast. Today, the Grandchamps Inn, a restaurant in the reconstructed town of Louisbourg, offers a chocolate menu in the afternoon. Visitors can enjoy a taste of the past at this restaurant and sample French hot chocolate and other 18th century dessert delights, as shown above.

French Hot Chocolate

Ingredients:

  • 1 oz | 30 g good quality chocolate bars or ground chocolate
  • 1 cup | 250 ml water or milk
  • 1 tsp | 5 g sugar
  • spices and flavourings to taste (cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, vanilla, orange flower water)
  • egg yolk (optional)

Directions:

  • Heat the liquid and, if using milk, don’t let it boil. Grate the chocolate if it is not ground and melt it into the liquid. If you are adding an egg yolk, beat it first with a small amount of the warm liquid then add the mixture to the pot and beat it in, add sugar and a combination of spices to taste.
  • For best results, prepare the chocolate drink the night before and refrigerate overnight. Reheat, whipping or frothing the chocolate.

Credits:

Recipe tested by Chef David Fairbanks, Algonquin College School of Hospitality and Tourism

This recipe was submitted by Parks Canada staff.

Application de Parcs Canada : Patrimoine gourmand

Chocolat chaud français

Ce chocolat chaud est à votre tasse de chocolat chaud classique ce que le Dom Pérignon est au vin maison de votre pizzéria locale.

Chocolat chaud français

Origine : Lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg
Région : Atlantique (Nouvelle-Écosse)
Époque : 18e siècle
Plat : Boissons et autres

Interprète et chocolat chaud, Lieu historique national du Canada de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg Interprète et chocolat chaud
© Parcs Canada

La consommation de chocolat s’est propagée de l’aristocratie espagnole à la cour française au 17e siècle et il s’agissait donc encore d’un aliment relativement nouveau au début du 18e siècle. La région basque du sud-ouest de la France était l’un des premiers centres de transformation du chocolat et, vu que de nombreux marchands de Louisbourg provenaient de cette région, le chocolat était souvent disponible à la forteresse. Cependant, le chocolat était dispendieux et réservé à l’élite.

Au 18e siècle, le chocolat était habituellement servi comme boisson au petit déjeuner. De nos jours, l’Auberge Grandchamps, un restaurant dans le village reconstruit de Louisbourg, offre un menu de chocolats dans l’après-midi. À ce restaurant, les visiteurs peuvent goûter des saveurs d’antan et y déguster un chocolat chaud français et d’autres délicieux desserts du 18e siècle, comme ceux figurant ci-dessus.

Chocolat chaud français

Ingrédients :

  • 1 oz | 30 g de tablettes de chocolat ou de chocolat moulu de bonne qualité
  • 1 tasse | 250 ml d’eau ou de lait
  • 1 c. à thé | 5 g de sucre
  • Épices et aromates au goût (cannelle, muscade, clous de girofle, vanille, eau de fleur d’oranger)
  • Jaune d’oeuf (facultatif)

Instructions :

  • Chauffer le liquide et, si c’est du lait, éviter de le faire bouillir. Râper le chocolat s’il n’est pas moulu et le faire fondre dans le liquide. Si un jaune d’oeuf est ajouté, le fouetter d’abord avec une petite quantité du liquide chaud, puis ajouter le mélange à la casserole au fouet, incorporer le sucre et une combinaison d’épices au goût.
  • Pour obtenir de meilleurs résultats, préparer la boisson au chocolat la veille et la mettre au réfrigérateur jusqu’au lendemain. Réchauffer et fouetter ou faire mousser le chocolat.

Crédits :

Recette testée par le chef David Fairbanks, Algonquin College School of Hospitality and Tourism

Cette recette nous a été soumise par des employés de Parcs Canada.