S.S. Klondike National Historic Site of Canada

Why an Historic site?

Printable version (388 KB)PDF icon

Shipyards Whitehorse
Historic view of the Whitehorse Shipyards
© Archives of Canada

S.S. Klondike National Historic Site is a Parks Canada heritage place, one part of a system of national and international heritage places. The natural and cultural heritage represented by these places is our legacy as Canadians and a significant element of Canadian identity.

The S.S. Klondike National Historic Site represents an era of riverboat transportation. It was the sternwheeler that brought the world to the Yukon and it was the Yukon River that carried these changes.

The transportation story includes Whitehorse as a transfer point between rail and riverboat and the site of important shipyards and ways. Other related sites such as the MV Tarahne in Atlin, the Thirty Mile Heritage River, S.S. Keno National Historic Site, Canyon City and Fort Selkirk and Dawson Historical Complex National Historical Site are part of this story.

Setting the Stage
SS Klondike sunk near Hootalinqua
Photo (1936 ) of SS Klondike I aground and sinking on a sandbar.
© John Dunn Collection / Parks Canada

Steam powered river transportation was the central element in the development and connection of the Yukon to the outside world for almost a century after the first vessel reached Fort Selkirk in 1866. The character of the system that developed was shaped by the geography of the Yukon and the technology of the riverboats. Alternative transport options developed slowly.

Overland winter travel supplemented the summer river transport, but in the late 1920's a more direct challenge appeared as aircraft began regular service to Yukon communities. It was only during and after World War II that road transport finally ended the importance of the inland water transport system in the Yukon.

A History of the S.S. Klondike

Built in Whitehorse in 1929 by the British Yukon Navigation Company, a subsidiary of the White Pass and Yukon Route, the S.S. Klondike I represented a major breakthrough in sternwheeler design. Her cargo capacity was increased 50 percent over other boats on the river without sacrificing shallow draft. The vessel was the first sternwheeler large enough to handle a cargo in excess of 272 tonnes (300 t.) without having to push a barge. The career of the S.S. Klondike I came to an abrupt end in 1936 when the vessel ran aground on a section of the Yukon River between Lake Laberge and the Teslin River.

1954 photo of lounge in the SS Klondike
Passenger enjoying themselves seated on whicker chairs on the SS Klondike II.
© Vancouver Maritime Museum

The company immediately built the S.S. Klondike II a virtual carbon copy of her predecessor. She had two careers. From 1937 to 1952 the Klondike II was employed primarily as a cargo vessel. Carrying general merchandise and a few passengers, the Klondike II could make the downstream run from Whitehorse to Dawson (740.27km/460 mi) in 36 hours with one or two stops to take on wood.

Returning from Dawson the Klondike II stopped first at Stewart Landing where she loaded sacks of silver lead ore. Mined in the Mayo District the ore was carried down the Stewart River by small sternwheelers such as the S.S. Keno. The ore would then be transferred in Whitehorse by rail to Skagway, Alaska. The S.S. Klondike II was refurbished as a cruise ship, in an attempt to save the career of the flag ship of the British Navigation Company. Though her trips were well booked it was the increased cost of operation on the Yukon that ended her brief sojourn as a passenger ship. In August 1955 the S.S. Klondike II steamed into Whitehorse for the very last time.

The Whitehorse - Dawson Run
Map
Map showing the route the SS Klondike regularly traveled down the Yukon River to Dawson City.
(Click on Image for a larger view)

© Parks Canada
Lengthening the Season

Each spring navigation was delayed until the ice broke up on Lake Laberge. Lamp black was spread along the lake to speed up melting. In the 1920's a dam was constructed to hold back the headwaters of Marsh Lake to create a surge of water to speed the break-up of lake ice and to regulate water levels in early spring and fall.

Early Spring on Lake Laberge
A Sternwheeler pushing a barge through broken ice on Lake Laberge
© Parks Canada
Crew Member loading wood on the SS Klondike
Weighing nearly 800 pounds one man would handle a truckload of chord wood which would be stored and burned as fuel.
© Fraber Collection/Parks Canada
Wood Camps

Wood was the standard fuel for the sternwheeler. The S.S. Klondike II could consume as much as two cords of wood per hour. Wood stations were provided at frequent spots along the river.

Stewart Landing

With the opening of an all weather road to Mayo from Whitehorse in 1950 the S.S. Klondike II ceased being a cargo vessel. Silver lead ore could be hauled by truck year round and was not restricted by the short river season of four to five months.

Silver Lead Ore stock piled in Mayo
The SS Klondike would deliver nearly 300 tons of silver lead ore packed in ore bags to Whitehorse. From Whitehorse the ore traveled by train to Skagway Alaska.
© John Dunn Collection / Parks Canada
Lining the SS Klondike through 5 Fingers Rapids.
Sternwheelers traveling through Five Fingers Rapids were winched through the canyon against the current using a steel cable and the power of the bow winch or capstan.
© John Dunn Collection /Parks Canada
Five Finger Rapids: “ A challenge to navigation»

North of Carmacks four massive knuckles of rock divided the river into five channels. A narrow channel offered safe passage; boats were often winched through the corridor by means of a cable attached to the bank.

Dawson City
Dawson Waterfront
Three Sternwheelers are seen docked on a very busy Dawson City Waterfront.
© John Dunn Collection /Parks Canada

The “City of Gold” was the destination of most of the sternwheelers. It was the capital of the Yukon until 1953 and a major transfer point for freight and passengers bound for the gold mining operations in the region.

S.S. Klondike II: Specifications

Launched: Whitehorse, May 1937

Owner:
British Yukon Navigation
Co/White Pass & Yukon Route

Port of Registry: Dawson City, Yukon
Official No: 156744
Length: .64 m (210')
Width: 12.5 m (41.9')
Molded Depth: 1.5 m (5.75')
Loaded Draught: 1 m (40”)
Gross Tonnage: 1226.25 tonnes (1362.5 t)
Registered Tonnage: 918.45 tonnes (1020.5 t)
Cargo Capacity: 270 tonnes (approx 300 t)
Crew: 23 (in 1940)
Passengers (1st & 2nd Class): 75
Engines: 2 compound jet-condenser type producing 525 H.P.

Boiler:
Locomotive type (fire tube) manufactured at the Polson Iron Works Toronto 1901. Previously used in the Steamer Yukoner & S.S. Klondike I (working pressure 184 lb.sq.in)

Travel Time:
(Whitehorse - Dawson) 1.5 days
(Dawson - Whitehorse) 4-5 days

Information

S.S. Klondike National Historic Site of Canada
Parks Canada
Room 205, 300 Main Street
Whitehorse, Yukon
Y1A 2B5
1-867-667-3917
Web site: www.pc.gc.ca

What To Expect

In the company of a guide you will be taken on a tour of the S.S. Klondike. Tours are half an hour in duration, a video presentation is also presented in the Atlin barge tent. Parking can accommodate recreation vehicles and buses.

Gift shop, picnic tables and exhibits are located on site. Inquire about special group rates.


Note: To read the PDF version you need Adobe Acrobat Reader on your system.

If the Adobe download site is not accessible to you, you can download Acrobat Reader from an accessible page.

If you choose not to use Acrobat Reader you can have the PDF file converted to HTML or ASCII text by using one of the conversion services offered by Adobe.

Lieu historique national du Canada S.S. Klondike

Pourquoi est-ce un lieu historique ?

Version imprimable (387 ko)icône PDF

Vue historique des chantiers navals de Whitehorse
Chantiers navals de Whitehorse
© Archives du Canada

Le lieu historique national S.S. Klondike est une place patrimoniale de Parcs Canada, qui fait partie d'un réseau de places patrimoniales nationales et internationales. En tant que Canadiens, ces sites sont notre héritage culturel et naturel et représentent un élément important de notre identité canadienne.

Le lieu historique national S.S. Klondike illustre l'ère du transport fluvial. Le bateau-vapeur à roue arrière a amené le monde entier vers le Yukon, et la rivière Yukon a été témoin de tous les changements transportés au gré de ses flots.

L'histoire du transport parle de Whitehorse comme d'un centre de transfert entre le train et le bateau-vapeur et d'un site de chantiers maritimes et de rampes important. Parmi les autres sites faisant aussi partie de l'histoire, on trouve le MV Tarahne à Atlin, la rivière du patrimoine The Thirty Mile, le lieu historique national S.S. Keno, Canyon City, Fort Selkirk et le lieu historique national du Complexe-Historique-de-Dawson.

Préparer la voie
Naufrage du S.S. Klondike près de Hootalinqua
Photo (1936) du S.S. Klondike I échoué, s'enlisant dans une barre sableuse
© John Dunn Collection / Parcs Canada

À partir du moment où le premier bateau est arrivé à Fort Selkirk en 1866, les vapeurs furent l'élément central du développement du Yukon et de son ouverture au monde extérieur, et ce durant presque cent ans. Étant donné la géographie du Yukon et l'existence des vapeurs, le choix du système de transport s'imposa. Les autres moyens de transport se développèrent lentement.

Les moyens de transport terrestres en hiver vinrent compléter le transport fluvial en été, puis vers la fin des années 1920, le service régulier par avion –concurrence de taille - vers les communautés du Yukon débuta. Ce n'est que pendant et après la Seconde Guerre mondiale que le transport terrestre mit fin au règne du transport fluvial vers l'intérieur du Yukon.

L’histoire du S.S. Klondike

Le S.S. Klondike I, construit en 1929 par la British Yukon Navigation Company, filiale de la compagnie ferroviaire White Pass and Yukon Route, était d'une toute nouvelle conception. Sa capacité était supérieure de 50 pour cent à celle des autres bateaux tout en gardant un faible tirant d'eau. C'était la première fois qu'un bateau-vapeur pouvait transporter une charge de plus de 272 tonnes sans avoir à pousser une barge. Sa carrière prit fin brusquement en 1936 lorsqu'il s'est échoué sur le fleuve Yukon, entre le lac Laberge et la rivière Teslin.

Photo de 1954 du salon du S.S. Klondike
Des passagers se prélassent dans des chaises en rotin, à bord du S.S. Klondike II
© Vancouver Maritime Museum

La compagnie construisit immédiatement le S.S. Klondike II, réplique du premier bateau, qui eut deux carrières. Le S.S. Klondike II servit principalement de cargo de 1937 à 1952. Chargé de marchandises et de quelques passagers, il pouvait descendre les quelque 740,27 km (460 milles) reliant Whitehorse à Dawson en 36 heures, ne s'arrêtant qu'une ou deux fois pour prendre du bois.

Sur le chemin du retour, il s'arrêtait d'abord à Stewart Landing, où on le chargeait de minerai d'argent et de plomb. Le minerai était extrait dans le district de Mayo, pour être ensuite transporté sur la rivière Stewart par des petits vapeurs comme le S.S. Keno. Une fois arrivé à Whitehorse, on le transférait par train jusqu'à Skagway, Alaska.

Pour tenter de sauver la carrière de ce vaisseau qui fut la fierté de la British Navigation Company, on le transforma en bateau de croisière. La haute fréquentation de ses voyages n'a pas suffit pour lutter contre la hausse des coûts d'opération sur le fleuve Yukon, et le bateau de croisière prit sa retraite très tôt. En août 1955 le S.S. Klondike II s'est amarré à Whitehorse pour ne plus jamais naviguer.

La ligne Whitehorse - Dawson
Carte
Carte illustrant la route qu'empruntait régulièrement le S.S. Klondike lorsqu'il parcourait le fleuve Yukon jusqu'à Dawson
(Cliquez sur l'image)

© Parcs Canada
Prolonger la saison navigable

Au printemps, il était impossible de naviguer sur le lac Laberge tant que la glace n'avait pas fondu. Pour tenter de précipiter la fonte de la glace sur le lac, on y répandait du noir de fumée. Dans les années 1920, on construisit un barrage pour contenir les eaux des sources du lac Marsh. On pouvait alors faire déferler l'eau, ce qui précipitait la débâcle, et contrôler le niveau d'eau au printemps et à l'automne.

Début du printemps sur le lac Laberge
Un vapeur à une roue pousse une barge parmi les débris de glace sur le lac Laberge
© Parcs Canada
Membre d'équipage qui charge du bois sur le S.S. Klondike
Un homme pouvait s'occuper d'un chargement de bois pouvant peser jusqu'à 800 livres, qui était entreposé et servait de combustible
© Collection Fraber/Parcs Canada
Stations d’approvisionnement en bois

Les bateaux-vapeur utilisaient généralement le bois comme combustible. Le S.S. Klondike pouvait brûler jusqu'à deux cordes de bois par heure. On avait donc é tabli des stations d'approvisionnement en bois à intervalles réguliers le long du fleuve.

Stewart Landing

Lorsque fut construite, en 1950, une route tous temps reliant Mayo à Whitehorse, le S.S. Klondike perdit son titre de navire de charge, puisqu'il était dorénavant possible de transporter le minerai d'argent et de plomb par camion à l'année longue, plutôt que pendant la courte saison de transport fluvial, qui durait de quatre à cinq mois.

Galène argentifère empilée à Mayo
Le S.S. Klondike pouvait livrer près de 300 tonnes de galène argentifère dans des sacs à minerai à Whitehorse. De Whitehorse, le minerai était acheminé par train jusqu'à Skagway, en Alaska.
© Collection de John Dunn/Parcs Canada
Halage du S.S. Klondike dans les rapides
Les vapeurs qui traversaient les rapides Five Finger étaient tirés dans le canyon à contre-courant au moyen d'un câble d'acier et de la puissance du treuil ou cabestan.
© Collection de John Dunn/Parcs Canada
Les rapides Five Finger : « un défi pour les pilotes »

Au nord de Carmacks, quatre énormes rochers divisent le fleuve en cinq chenaux. Seul le chenal du côté est du fleuve permettait le passage des bateaux. Il fallait souvent tirer les bateaux à travers le passage à l'aide de câbles attachés à un treuil sur la rive.

Dawson
Secteur riverain de Dawson
Trois vapeurs à une roue sont amarrés dans le secteur riverain très achalandé de Dawson.
© Collection de John Dunn/Parcs Canada

La « ville de l'or » était la destination de la majorité des vapeurs. Capitale du Yukon jusqu'en 1953, elle était aussi le principal centre de transbordement des marchandises et des passagers à destination des nombreuses exploitations minières de la région.

S.S. Klondike II : Spécifications

Lancé à : Whitehorse, Mai 1937

Propriétaires :
British Yukon Navigation
Cie/White Pass & Yukon Route

Port d'enregistrement : Dawson, Yukon
Numéro officiel : 156744
Longueur : 64 m (210')
Largeur : 12.5 m (41.9')
Creux sur quille : 1.5 m (5.75')
Tirant d'eau en charge : 1 m (40”)
Tonnage brut : 1226,25 tonnes
Jauge officielle : 918,45 tonnes
Capacité de chargement : 270 tonnes
Équipage : 23 (en 1940)
Passagers (1re et 2e classe) : 75
Moteurs : 2 moteurs compound de type condenseur à injection produisant 525 CV

Chaudière :
Type locomotive (à tubes de fumée) construite par Polson Iron Works, Toronto, en 1901, utilisée auparavant dans les vapeurs Yukoner et S.S. Klondike I (pression de régime : 129,4 kg/cm2 - 184 lb/po2)

Durée du voyage :
(Whitehorse - Dawson) 1,5 jours
(Dawson - Whitehorse) 4 à 5 jours

Renseignements

S.S. Klondike, lieu historique national du Canada
Parcs Canada
300, rue Main, bureau 205
Whitehorse (Yukon)
Y1A 2B5
1-867-667-3917
Site internet : www.pc.gc.ca

Nous vous offrons

Un tour guidé du S.S. Klondike d'une durée d'une demi-heure et une présentation vidéo dans la tente Atlin située sur la rive. Le stationnement est suffisamment grand pour accueillir les véhicules de plaisance et les autobus.

Vous trouverez également sur place un magasin de souvenirs, des tables à pique-nique et des expositions. Informez-vous de nos tarifs de groupe.


N. B. : Vous avez besoin du logiciel Adobe Acrobat Reader pour lire la version PDF.

Si vous n'avez pas accès au site de téléchargement d'Adobe, vous pouvez télécharger le logiciel Acrobat Reader d'une page accessible.

Si l'accessibilité à un document PDF pose un problème, vous pouvez convertir le fichier en format texte HTML ou ASCII en utilisant l'un des services d'accès offerts par Adobe (en anglais seulement).