S.S. Klondike National Historic Site of Canada

River Transportation on the Yukon

Sternwheelers on the Lower River

In 1866 the S.S. Wilder, in support of the Russian-American Telegraph initiative, became the first sternwheeler to ascend the Yukon River. Three years later the Alaska Commercial Company (ACC) introduced the regular use of sternwheelers on the lower Yukon River. For the remainder of the 19C the ACC, and later its competitor the North American Trading & Transportation Company, used sternwheelers to supply their trading posts on the Yukon River. Operating from the port of St. Michael, Alaska, near the river's mouth, sternwheelers would carry freight and supplies, as well as fur traders and prospectors, during the short May to September navigation season.

Klondike Gold Rush

S.S. May West arriving in Dawson from St. Michael's, 1898.
S.S. May West arriving in Dawson from St. Michael's, 1898.
© Vancouver Public Library Special Collections #32856

When word of the Klondike gold strike reached the outside world in the spring of 1897, it ignited a rush the likes of which have not been seen since. The stampede of people to the Klondike gold fields overwhelmed the few sternwheelers on the river at the time. During the summer of 1897, the boats of 30 new companies appeared to join those already in service, and by the end of the season 60 new sternwheelers were in operation on the Yukon River.

While many of these new boats operated on the lower river, from St. Michael, sternwheelers were also introduced on the headwater lakes and the upper river carrying people and supplies that had come over the Chilkoot and White Pass Trails from Dyea and Skagway on the coast of the Alaskan Panhandle.


Sternwheelers on the Upper River

Three sternwheelers and horsedrawn tramway at Canyon City.
Three sternwheelers and horsedrawn tramway at Canyon City.
© 1898 / Yukon Archives. E. A. Hegg, #2695

The sternwheelers operating on the headwater lakes sailed between Bennett at the northern terminus of the coastal trails and Canyon City on the upper Yukon River. At Canyon City, a horse drawn tramway, running on wooden rails, was used to carry goods around the treacherous Miles Canyon and White Horse Rapids. From the tiny new settlement of White Horse, located at the base of the rapids, it was a relatively easy 740 kilometre (460 mile) journey by sternwheeler down the upper Yukon River to the booming mining town of Dawson City.


White Pass & Yukon Route (WP&YR)

WP&YR locomotive rounding bend at Rocky Point.
WP&YR locomotive rounding bend at Rocky Point.
© 1899 / Yukon Archives. H.C. Barley, #5509

On July 6, 1899, the arduous journey over the coastal passes was eliminated when the narrow-gauge WP&YR railway was completed between Skagway and Bennett. A year later the rail line was completed to Whitehorse bypassing Bennett and Canyon City; eliminating two freight transfer points. It was now possible for goods and passengers to be transported from Skagway to Dawson City with only a single transfer point from railway to riverboat in Whitehorse.


British Yukon Navigation Company

BYN Sternwheelers at Whitehorse.
BYN Sternwheelers at Whitehorse.
© 1903 / Yukon Archives. H.C. Barley, #5537.

The rail line completed, WP&YR moved quickly to extend its dominance in transportation establishing a river division, the British Yukon Navigation Company (BYN). Within a short period of time BYN succeeded in buying out the competition establishing a virtual monopoly on the transportation of goods and people coming into and leaving the Yukon Territory. The dominant pattern of transportation that would serve the Territory for the next fifty years, had been established. Though the boom created by the gold rush was short lived, the development of an efficient transportation system established Dawson City as the supply centre for the upper Yukon River basin.


Mayo District Silver

Gold Dredge working in the Klondike District.
Gold Dredge working in the Klondike District.
© Edna Stewart Collection #42(b)-103 / Parks Canada

While mining continued in the Klondike district, increasingly corporate mining interests were acquiring Klondike mining claims and mechanized gold dredges were replacing hand mining operations. Individual hand miners meanwhile fanned out to work other rivers in the upper Yukon basin in search of a new bonanza.

One such river was the Stewart. Flowing into the Yukon 112 km upstream of Dawson City, it had long been known as the “grubstake river”, where one could reliably make enough to finance further exploration. In 1914 a hard rock silver find on a tributary of the Stewart River started a staking rush. In 1918 a second, even richer, ore body was discovered on nearby Keno Hill attracting the attention of corporate mining interests. By 1923 the value of silver coming out of the Mayo District had bypassed the value of gold coming out of the Klondike and the settlement of Mayo, at the head of navigation on the Stewart River, replaced Dawson City as the supply centre for the new silver mining district.

The Silver Challenge

Sacks of silver-lead ore stockpiled in Mayo for shipment to Whitehorse. From Whitehorse the ore travelled by train to Skagway.
Sacks of silver-lead ore stockpiled in Mayo for shipment to Whitehorse. From Whitehorse the ore travelled by train to Skagway.
© John Dunn Collection / Parks Canada

For BYN, Mayo District silver was a boon. Unlike placer gold which was melted down into gold bricks for shipment in Dawson City, Mayo District silver was found as a component of galena, a silver lead mineral, that needed to be shipped out as ore in order to be further processed. Sternwheelers that had previously returned to Whitehorse empty now had a payload – sacks of silver lead ore – for the return trip. But the opportunity came did not come without challenges.

S.S. Keno pushing barge on the Stewart River.
S.S. Keno pushing barge on the Stewart River.
© Gordon A. McIntyre Collection #42(b)-30, 1933 / Parks Canada

The Stewart River was shallower than the Yukon, limiting the use of Yukon River sternwheelers to the brief period of the spring flood. In 1922 BYN built the S.S. Keno for use on the Stewart River. Smaller than the Yukon River sternwheelers the Keno could transport supplies to Mayo and carry ore back down to Stewart Landing at the river's mouth for the duration of the navigation season. At Stewart Landing the ore would be transferred onto the Yukon River sternwheelers that would stop there on their return trip from Dawson to Whitehorse.

S.S. Casca pushing a barge on the Yukon River
S.S. Casca pushing a barge on the Yukon River.
© R. Willis Collection #38-131 / Parks Canada

Even the larger sternwheelers working the main river did not exceed 51.81 meters (170') in length or 10.66 meters (35') in width. They could carry 180-225 tonnes (198-248 t.) of cargo on a shallow draft of 1.21 meters (four feet). In order to move sufficient quantities of ore they needed to push barges in order to increase their cargo capacity. This meant that the upstream run took half again as much time and fuel. The solution to moving ore upstream to Whitehorse more efficiently was to build the S.S. Klondike .


Hard Times

No sooner had the S.S. Klondike been built than the stock market crashed. The impact of the depression on the Mayo silver mining operations was somewhat buffered by increases in efficiency and economies of scale. Despite the depression, the mines kept operating, though at reduced output. The outbreak of the Second World War however soon saw Treadwell Yukon, the main player, shutting down its operations, drastically reducing the volume of ore shipments coming out of the district. Throughout the depression and the war BYN sternwheelers continued to run, but there were fewer boats on the water.

Rivers to Roads

Paddlewheel of unidentified sternwheeler.
Paddlewheel of unidentified sternwheeler.
© R. Willis Collection#38-138 / Parks Canada

Mayo District silver mining operations, reorganized under new ownership, resumed in earnest in 1946, giving the BYN sternwheelers a brief reprieve. However the opening of an all weather road between Whitehorse and Mayo in 1950 signalled that the demise of the sternwheeler was near at hand. Ore could now be carried by truck south to Whitehorse on a more or less year round basis overcoming what had always been the Yukon River's chief liability as a transportation route – an open navigation season that was restricted to only four or five months a year. BYN sternwheelers continued to operate between Whitehorse and Dawson City at reduced capacity until 1952 when the Mayo Road was extended to Dawson City.

Lieu historique national du Canada S.S. Klondike

Navigation fluviale au Yukon

Les bateaux à aubes sur le cours inférieur du fleuve

En 1866, pour appuyer le projet de télégraphe russo‑américain, le S.S. Wilder devint le premier bateau à aubes à remonter le fleuve Yukon. Trois ans plus tard, l'Alaska Commercial Company (ACC) instaura l'utilisation régulière des bateaux à aubes sur le cours inférieur du fleuve. Pendant le reste du XIXe siècle, l'ACC et plus tard, sa concurrente, la North American Trading & Transportation Company, utilisèrent les bateaux à aubes pour approvisionner les postes de traite le long du fleuve. À partir de leur port d'attache de St. Michael, en Alaska, près de l'embouchure du fleuve, les bateaux transportaient des marchandises et des fournitures, de même que des commerçants de fourrures et des prospecteurs, pendant la brève saison de navigation de mai à septembre.

La ruée vers l'or du Klondike

Le S.S. May West arrive à Dawson en provenance de St. Michael.
Le S.S. May West arrive à Dawson en provenance de St. Michael.
© 1898 / Collections spéciales de la bibliothèque publique de Vancouver, no 32856

Lorsque le monde extérieur apprit la nouvelle de la découverte d'or au Klondike au printemps 1897, une ruée inégalée depuis se produisit alors. L'afflux massif de gens vers les champs aurifères du Klondike dépassa complètement la capacité des quelques bateaux à aubes qui circulaient sur le fleuve à l'époque. À l'été 1897, les bateaux de 30 nouvelles sociétés furent ajoutés à ceux qui offraient déjà le service et à la fin de la saison, 60 nouveaux bateaux naviguaient sur le fleuve Yukon.

Un grand nombre de ces nouveaux bateaux circulaient sur le cours inférieur du fleuve à partir de St. Michael, mais on y avait aussi recours sur les lacs tributaires et le cours supérieur du fleuve pour transporter les gens et les fournitures qui arrivaient par la piste Chilkoot et celle du col White , depuis Dyea et Skagway, sur la côte de la péninsule de l'Alaska.


Les bateaux à aubes sur le cours supérieur du fleuve

Trois bateaux à aubes et un tramway tiré par des chevaux à Canyon City.
Trois bateaux à aubes et un tramway tiré par des chevaux à Canyon City.
© 1898 / Archives du Yukon, fonds Eric Hegg, no 2695

Les bateaux à aubes qui circulaient sur les lacs tributaires faisaient la navette entre Bennett, au point d'arrivée nord des pistes côtières, et Canyon City, sur le cours supérieur du fleuve Yukon. À Canyon City, un tramway tiré par des chevaux circulait sur des rails de bois et transportait les denrées autour du dangereux canyon Miles et des rapides de White Horse. Depuis le minuscule nouvel établissement de White Horse, situé au pied des rapides, il était assez facile d'effectuer les 740 kilomètres par bateau à aubes sur le cours supérieur du Yukon jusqu'à la ville minière de Dawson City, alors en pleine expansion.


Le White Pass & Yukon Route (WP&YR)

Une locomotive du chemin de fer WP&YR dans un tournant à Rocky Point.
Une locomotive du chemin de fer WP&YR dans un tournant à Rocky Point.
© 1899 / Archives du Yukon, fonds H.C. Barley, no 5509

Le 6 juillet 1899, grâce à l'achèvement de l'étroit chemin de fer WP&YR entre Skagway et Bennett, il ne fut plus nécessaire de faire l'ardu voyage par les cols côtiers. Un an plus tard, la voie ferrée fut prolongée jusqu'à Whitehorse, contournant Bennett et Canyon City et éliminant du coup deux points de transbordement des marchandises. Il était maintenant possible pour les marchandises et les passagers de se rendre de Skagway à Dawson City, et de ne faire qu'une seule escale du chemin de fer au bateau à aubes à Whitehorse.


La British Yukon Navigation Company

Des bateaux à aubes de la BYN à Whitehorse.
Des bateaux à aubes de la BYN à Whitehorse.
© 1903 / Archives du Yukon, fonds H.C. Barley, no 5537.

La voie ferrée terminée, WP&YR s'employa rapidement à étendre sa suprématie en transport en créant une division fluviale, la British Yukon Navigation Company (BYN). En peu de temps, la BYN réussit à l'emporter sur la concurrence et à établir un monopole virtuel du transport des biens et des personnes dans le territoire du Yukon. C'est ainsi que naquit le mode de transport qui allait dominer pendant les 50 années suivantes au Yukon. Même si la prospérité créée par la ruée vers l'or ne dura pas, la mise en place d'un système de transport efficace fit de Dawson City le centre d'approvisionnement du bassin supérieur du Yukon.


L'argent du district de Mayo

Une drague à la recherche d'or au Klondike.
Une drague à la recherche d'or au Klondike.
© Collection Edna Stewart, no 42(b)-103 / Parcs Canada

Pendant que l'exploitation minière se poursuivait au Klondike, des sociétés minières de plus en plus nombreuses faisaient l'acquisition de concessions minières au Klondike et les dragues mécanisées remplacèrent l'abattage à la pioche. Les mineurs, pendant ce temps, s'éparpillaient à la recherche d'or dans d'autres cours d'eau du bassin du cours supérieur du Yukon.

La Stewart étaient l'une de ces rivières. Cette dernière, qui se jette dans le Yukon 112 kilomètres en amont de Dawson City, fut longtemps connue comme la « rivière des prospecteurs », parce qu'on pouvait y trouver assez d'or pour financer d'autres travaux d'exploration. En 1914, la découverte d'argent en roche dure dans un affluent de la rivière Stewart donna lieu à un piquetage généralisé. En 1918, on découvrit un deuxième gisement encore plus riche sur la colline voisine de Keno, ce qui attira l'attention des sociétés minières. En 1923, la valeur de l'argent extrait dans le district de Mayo avait dépassé celle de l'or trouvé au Klondike et l'établissement de Mayo, point de départ de la navigation sur la rivière Stewart, supplanta Dawson City comme centre d'approvisionnement du nouveau district de l'exploitation minière de l'argent.

Le défi de l'argent

Sacs de minerai d'argent empilés à Mayo, en vue de leur expédition à Whitehorse. De Whitehorse, on expédiait le minerai en train jusqu'à Skagway.
Sacs de minerai d'argent empilés à Mayo, en vue de leur expédition à Whitehorse. De Whitehorse, on expédiait le minerai en train jusqu'à Skagway.
© John Dunn Collection / Parcs Canada

Pour la BYN, l'argent du district de Mayo constituait une véritable manne. Contrairement à l'or placérien qui était fondu en briques avant d'être expédié à Dawson City, l'argent du district de Mayo se trouvait dans la galène, un minerai argentifère, qu'il fallait expédier sous cette forme en vue d'une transformation ultérieure. Les bateaux à aubes qui revenaient auparavant vides à Whitehorse avaient dorénavant une charge utile au retour – les sacs de galène argentifère. Cette manne n'allait cependant pas sans difficultés.

Le S.S. Keno pousse une barge sur la rivière Stewart.
Le S.S. Keno pousse une barge sur la rivière Stewart.
© 1933, collection Gordon A. McIntyre, no 42(b)-30 / Parcs Canada

La rivière Stewart était moins profonde que le fleuve Yukon, ce qui limitait l'utilisation des bateaux à aubes du fleuve Yukon à la brève période d'inondation printanière. En 1922, le BYN construisit le KenoS.S. pour l'utiliser sur la rivière Stewart. Plus petit que les bateaux à aubes du fleuve Yukon, le Keno pouvait transporter des marchandises jusqu'à Mayo, puis prendre la galène à Stewart Landing, à l'embouchure de la rivière, pendant la durée de la saison de navigation. À Stewart Landing, le minerai était transféré dans les bateaux à aubes du fleuve Yukon qui s'y arrêtaient à leur retour de Dawson, en direction de Whitehorse.

Le S.S. Casca pousse une barge sur le fleuve Yukon.
Le S.S. Casca pousse une barge sur le fleuve Yukon.
© Collection Coghlan, no 64 / Parcs Canada

Même les gros bateaux à aubes qui circulaient sur le fleuve ne dépassaient pas 51,81 mètres de long ou 10,66 mètres de large. Ils pouvaient transporter de 180 à 225 tonnes de cargaison avec un faible tirant d'eau de 1,21 mètre. Pour transporter des quantités suffisantes de galène, il leur fallait pousser des barges afin d'accroître la capacité de cargaison. Pour cette raison, il fallait compter deux fois plus de temps et de carburant au retour, en amont. Pour résoudre le problème du transport de la galène en amont jusqu'à Whitehorse, on construisit le S.S. Klondike .


Des périodes difficiles

On venait à peine de finir de construire le S.S. Klondike que les marchés boursiers s'effondraient. Les répercussions de la Crise sur l'exploitation des mines d'argent à Mayo furent quelque peu atténuées par les gains d'efficacité et les économies d'échelle. Malgré la Crise, les mines continuèrent à fonctionner, mais à un rythme réduit. Le début de la Seconde Guerre mondiale obligea vite Treadwell Yukon, le principal exploitant, à fermer ses mines, ce qui réduisit de façon draconienne le volume des expéditions de minerai du district. Tout au long de la Crise et de la guerre, les bateaux à aubes de la BYN continuèrent à circuler, mais en nombre réduit.

Des rivières aux routes

Roue à aubes d'un bateau non identifié.
Roue à aubes d'un bateau non identifié.
© Collection R. Willis, no 38-138 / Parcs Canada

L'exploitation des mines d'argent du district de Mayo, réorganisée par de nouveaux propriétaires, reprit de plus belle en 1946, assurant aux bateaux à aubes de la BYN une brève reprise. L'ouverture d'une route de toutes saisons entre Whitehorse et Mayo en 1950 marqua toutefois le déclin des bateaux à aubes. Il était maintenant possible de transporter le minerai par camion vers le sud jusqu'à Whitehorse presque toute l'année, surpassant ainsi ce qui avait toujours été le principal écueil du fleuve Yukon en tant que voie de transport – une saison de navigation restreinte à seulement quatre ou cinq mois par année. Les bateaux à aubes de la BYN continuèrent à fonctionner entre Whitehorse et Dawson City à capacité réduite jusqu'en 1952, année où la route de Mayo fut prolongée jusqu'à Dawson City.