Common menu bar links

S.S. Klondike National Historic Site of Canada

Activities


© Parks Canada / Fritz Mueller 

The big white S.S. Klondike sternwheeler on the banks of the Yukon River attracts visitors in Whitehorse, Yukon to explore the exciting history of the Yukon River. The Klondike welcomes guests to return to the romantic days of the riverboats. Find out how the ship worked, what it carried and how people spent their days aboard the vessel. Locate the geocache or try the game of quoits. After your visit to the riverboat, round out the adventure with one of the many attractions along the Whitehorse waterfront.

The S.S. Klondike is open for visitors from May 16 (the Victoria Day long weekend) through September 7, 2015 (Labour Day). Parks Canada has knowledgeable staff on site at the S.S. Klondike to welcome visitors. The site is open from 9:30 am to 5:00 pm.


Featured Activities

© Parks Canada / Linda Magill

Roam the decks of an authentic sternwheeler 
The days of ferrying practically everything up and down the Yukon River are gone but you can explore the mighty S.S. Klondike and discover how the ship maneuvered the swift waters. Wander the freight deck, inspect the powerful paddlewheel and admire the spectacular scenery of the Yukon River valley from the sun deck.

© Parks Canada / Fritz Mueller

Guided tours
Explore the S.S. Klondike with professional guides who bring the days of the riverboats to life. Their knowledge and enthusiasm heightens your experience as you explore the boat.



Other Activities

Lieu historique national du Canada S.S. Klondike

Activités


© Parcs Canada / Fritz Mueller 

Rendez-vous à Whitehorse, au Yukon, pour découvrir le S.S. Klondike, un grand bateau à aubes blanc situé sur la rive du fleuve Yukon. Explorez l’histoire passionnante du fleuve ! Venez revivre l’époque romantique des bateaux fluviaux à bord du Klondike. Découvrez comment le bateau avançait, ce qu’il transportait et comment les passagers occupaient leurs journées. Expérimentez la géocache ou essayez-vous au jeu du palet. Après la visite du bateau, poursuivez votre aventure en profitant de l’une des nombreuses attractions présentes au bord de l’eau, à Whitehorse.

Le S.S. Klondike est ouvert aux visiteurs du 16 mai (la longue fin de semaine de la Fête de la Reine) jusqu'au 7 septembre, 2015 (la Fête du Travail). Des employés chevronnés de Parcs Canada accueillent les visiteurs au S.S. Klondike. Le site est ouvert de 9 h 30 à 17 h.


Activités en vedette

© Parcs Canada / Linda Magill 

Une promenade à bord d’un bateau à aubes authentique
Venez explorer le majestueux S.S. Klondike et découvrir comment le bateau se déplaçait sur les eaux vives du fleuve Yukon. Transportez-vous à l’époque où l’on transportait presque tout par bateau sur ce fleuve. Arpentez les ponts et observez la puissante roue à aubes ! Prenez le temps d’admirer le paysage spectaculaire de la vallée du fleuve Yukon.


Visites guidées
Parcourez le S.S. Klondike en compagnie de guides qualifiés qui vous feront revivre l’époque des bateaux fluviaux. Laissez-vous imprégner de leur savoir et de leur enthousiasme pour une visite des plus enrichissantes.


Autres activités