Common menu bar links

Dredge No. 4 National Historic Site of Canada

Northern Lights over Dredge No. 4
Northern Lights over Dredge No. 4
© Parks Canada / Kevin Hastings

Not long after gold was discovered in large quantities in the Klondike, dredges were brought into the Yukon, the first dredge being built in the fall of 1899. One of the two dozen dredges that worked this area, Dredge No. 4 rests on Claim No. 17 Below Discovery on Bonanza Creek near the spot where it ceased operations in 1960. The largest wooden hull, bucket-line dredge in North America, it was designed by the Marion Steam Shovel Company.

Operational History

Dredge No. 4 was built during the summer and winter of 1912 for the Canadian Klondike Mining Company on Claim 112 Below Discovery on Bonanza Creek. It commenced operations in May of 1913, and dug its way upstream in the Klondike Valley into what was known as the "Boyle Concession," sinking there in 1924. In 1927, it was refloated and continued to operate from the Klondike Valley to Hunker Creek. The ground at the mouth of Hunker Creek was so rich the dredge produced as much as 800 ounces of gold in a single day on Claim 67 Below. It operated until 1940. The dredge was rebuilt on Bonanza Creek by the Yukon Consolidated Gold Corporation and from 1941 to 1959 worked the Bonanza Creek valley.

Gangplank and digging ladder of Dredge No. 4
Gangplank and digging ladder of Dredge No. 4
© Parks Canada / John Butterall

Dredge No. 4 is 2/3 the size of a football field and 8 stories high. It has a displacement weight of over 3,000 tons (2,722 t), with a 16 cubic foot (.45 cubic metre) bucket capacity. The dredge could dig 48 feet (17 metres) below water level, and 17 feet (5 metres) above water level using hydraulic monitors and washing the gravel banks down.

The dredge was electrically powered from the Company's hydro plant on the Klondike River about 30 miles (48 kilometres) away, requiring 920 continuous horsepower during the digging operation. Extra horsepower was needed occasionally for such things as hoisting the "spud" (pivot) and the gangplank.

The dredge moved along on a pond of its own making, digging gold bearing gravel in front, recovering the gold through the revolving screen washing plant, then depositing the gravel out the stacker at the rear. A dredge pond could be 300 feet (91 metres) by as much as 500 feet (152 metres) wide, depending on the width of the valley in which the dredge was working. The operating season was on average about 200 days, starting in late April or early May and operating 24 hours a day until late November.

The dredges were a very efficient means of mining for gold. The very fine flour gold however was very hard to save, as were nuggets too large to go through the 1 1/8 inch (1.9 centimetre) holes in the revolving screen, or those caught in the nugget catcher. These went up the stacker and out to the tailing piles.

National Historic Designation

Relocation of Dredge No. 4
Relocation of Dredge No. 4
© Parks Canada / Pat Habiluk

During the summers of 1991 and 1992 the dredge was excavated, refloated and relocated to its current position on higher ground to protect it from seasonal flooding. Over the last two years, Parks Canada has made a significant investment in the restoration and stabilization of the Dredge. This significant historic resource and local tourism attraction is at the mid-point of a multi-year restoration project.

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Drague-Numéro-Quatre

Une aurore boréale illumine la drague n°4
Une aurore boréale illumine la drague n°4
© Parcs Canada / Kevin Hastings

Peu de temps après la découverte de grandes quantités d'or au Klondike, on a amené des dragues au Yukon, et la première fut construite à l'automne de 1899. Parmi les deux douzaines de drague utilisées dans cette région, la drague no. 4, qui se trouve aujourd'hui sur la concession no. 17, en aval concession Discovery, dans Bonanza Creek, près de l'endroit où l'on cessé de utiliser, en 1960. Il s'agit de la plus grande drague à godets en ligne en Amérique du Nord. Elle a été conçue par la Marion Steam Shovel Company.

Historique opérationnel

La drague no 4 a été construite durant l’été et l’hiver 1912 pour la Canadian Klondike Mining Company sur les lieux de la concession no 112, en aval de la concession de la découverte, dans le ruisseau Bonanza. Entrée en service en mai 1913, elle s’est creusé un chemin en remontant la vallée de la rivière Klondike jusqu’à un endroit connu sous le nom de concession Boyle, où elle a coulé en 1924. En 1927, elle fut renflouée et utilisée de la rivière Klondike jusqu’au ruisseau Hunker. Le gisement situé à l’embouchure du ruisseau Hunker était tellement riche que la drague pouvait extraire jusqu’ à 22 kg d’or par jour sur les lieux de la concession no 67. La drague a été en service jusqu’en 1940, puis a été reconstruite dans la vallée du ruisseau Bonanza par la Yukon Consolidated Gold Corporation, qui s’en est servi à cet endroit de 1941 à 1959.

Passerelle et échelle pour l'excavation de la drague n°4
Passerelle et échelle pour l'excavation de la drague n°4
© Parcs Canada / John Butterall

La drague no 4 est aussi grande que les deux tiers d’un terrain de football et est haute de huit étages. Son déplacement est de plus de 2 722 tonnes métriques, et ses godets ont une capacité de 0,45 m3. La drague pouvait creuser jusqu’ à 17 m sous le niveau de l’eau, et jusqu’ à 5 m au-dessus du niveau de l’eau en utilisant des lances géantes pour ramener le gravier des rives vers elle par la force de l’eau.

La drague était alimentée par l’électricité produite à la centrale hydroélectrique de l’entreprise, située sur la rivière Klondike, à environ 48 km de là. Elle avait besoin d’une alimentation continue de 920 chevaux-vapeur pour fonctionner. Il arrivait parfois que des chevaux-vapeur supplémentaires soient nécessaires, par exemple pour remonter le stabilisateur ou la passerelle.

La drague se déplaçait sur un lagon qu’elle fabriquait elle-même; elle excavait le gravier aurifère devant elle, récupérait le minerai d’or dans son lavoir à crible rotatif, puis déversait le gravier par l’empileuse derrière elle. Le lagon de la drague pouvait mesurer jusqu’à 91 m de longueur sur 152 m de largeur, selon la largeur de la vallée où on l’utilisait. Elle fonctionnait en moyenne 200 jours par année, 24 heures sur 24, de la fin du mois d’avril ou du début du mois de mai jusqu’à la fin de novembre.

Les dragues constituaient un moyen très efficace d’extraire le minerai d’or. Cependant, la poussière d’or était très difficile à récupérer, tout comme les pépites trop grosses pour passer à travers les trous de 1,9 cm du crible rotatif et celles récupérées par l’attrape-pépites, qui se retrouvaient dans l’empileuse et finissaient sur les monticules de débris.

Désignation historique nationale

Relocalisation de la Drague n°4
Relocalisation de la Drague n°4
© Parcs Canada / Pat Habiluk

Au cours des étés 1991 et 1992, on a remonté et renfloué la drague avant de la déplacer vers l’endroit où elle se trouve maintenant, en terrain élevé afin d’éviter les dommages dus aux crues saisonnières. Ces deux dernières années, Parcs Canada a investi des sommes importantes dans la restauration et la stabilisation de la drague. L’Agence en est à mi-chemin du projet de restauration de ce lieu historique important, qui constitue une grande attraction touristique.