Common menu bar links

Dredge No. 4 National Historic Site of Canada

Fact Sheet

Printable version (PDF, 1.12 Mb)

Symbolizes the importance of dredging operations in the Yukon from 1899 to 1966.

Historic photo of Dredge No. 4
Historic Photo of Dredge No 4. - Dawson City, Yukon Territory, Canada
© Parks Canada / George Hunter Collection / 40/147

Background

During the early years of the Klondike Gold Rush, more than 30,000 miners hand mined for gold on the rich placer creeks. Much of the gold was simply too difficult and expensive to remove using hand mining techniques. While hand miners were working hard, promoters and investors were looking for long-term mining possibilities in the Yukon.

In September 1898, the first dredge began working the Yukon River. Promotion of the Klondike fields brought in two large companies, the Canadian Klondike Mining Company in 1905 and the Yukon Gold Company a few years later.

Large land holdings, called concessions had to be available to the corporations. Through negotiations with the Federal Government, the first concession was granted in 1900 to Joe Boyle. The corporations constructed hydroelectric power stations to supply a reliable and consistent supply of power to run the dredges. They constructed a system of dams and ditches to provide an adequate supply of water for the dredges.

Dawson City was the key to the success of the efforts of the large corporations. It could provide government administration and banking services. The transportation network, of rail and steamship, that ended in Dawson City, ensured that the companies could receive the supplies of machinery that were needed to operate. Dawson City also provided a large labour force and suppliers and services to meet the corporate mining needs.

Dredge No. 4 built in 1912 for the Canadian Klondike Mining Company, was the largest wooden hulled bucket lined dredge in North America. It worked in the Klondike Valley on the "Boyle Concession" until 1940 and then was relocated to Bonanza Creek and worked this valley until 1959.

At the peak of corporate mining, a dozen dredges, churned through the creeks. Dredging continued in the Klondike until 1966, when the last of the Yukon Consolidated Gold Company's dredges shut down. Dredge No. 4 represents the many decades of corporate mining in the Canadian mid-north through the 20th century.

Reasons for National Historic Significance

Dredge No. 4 is commemorated because it represents the importance of dredging operations in the Yukon between 1899 and 1966. Dredges were brought to the Yukon in 1899 as a very efficient means of mining for Klondike gold. Corporate mining played a major role in the viability of the community of Dawson City and the Yukon Territory.

Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, 1997

Diagram of a dredge
© Parks Canada

Milestones

1898
The first dredge began operating in the Yukon.

1899
Promoters negotiated with the Canadian government for large tracts of land

1900
Joe Boyle from Woodstock Ontario, was granted 40 square miles of land.

1905
Canadian Klondike Mining Company managed by Joe Boyle, built their first dredge.

1906-1925
The Yukon Gold Corporation operated nine dredges.

1909
Yukon Gold built the Twelve Mile ditch to provide water for hydraulic mining.

1911
North Fork Hydro Power Plant was in operation and supplying electricity to run all of the dredges.

1912
CKM Co. Dredge No. 4 was built.

1921
Canadian Klondike Mining Company went bankrupt.

1923
The Yukon Consolidated Gold Corporation was formed and they were the only company until 1966.

1940
Dredge No. 4 was relocated to Bonanza Creek.

1959
Trapped by increasing labour costs, shrinking gravel reserves and the fixed price of gold, YCGC shuts Dredge No. 4 down.

1966
The last of the four operating dredges are shut down, ending YCGS's mining operations in the Klondike.

1970
Parks Canada acquired Dredge No. 4

1997
Dredge No. 4 was designated a national historic site

Location


© Parks Canada

Dredge No. 4 is located 12.3 km from the Klondike Highway on Bonanza Creek Road.

For more information:

Klondike Natinal Historic Sites
Box 390
Dawson City, Yukon Territory
Y0B 1G0
Telephone: (867) 993-7200
Fax: (867) 993-7203
Email: dawson.info@pc.gc.ca


Note: To read the PDF version you need Adobe Acrobat Reader on your system.

If the Adobe download site is not accessible to you, you can download Acrobat Reader from an accessible page.

If you choose not to use Acrobat Reader you can have the PDF file converted to HTML or ASCII text by using one of the conversion services offered by Adobe.

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Drague-Numéro-Quatre

Fiche d'information

Version prête à imprimer (PDF, 1.16 Mo)

Rappelle l'importance qu'ont eue les opérations de dragage au Yukon de 1899 à 1966.

Photographie historiques du drague no 4
Photographie historiques du drague no 4, Dawson, Territoire du Yukon, Canada
© Parcs Canada/Collection George Hunter/40/147

Historique

Durant les premières années de la ruée vers l'or du Klondike, plus de 30 000 mineurs viennent chercher l'or à la main dans les riches filons des ruisseaux de placer. Toutefois, dans une bonne partie des gisements, l'or est tout simplement trop difficile et trop coûteux à extraire à la main. Tandis que les mineurs solitaires triment dur, des entrepreneurs et des investisseurs s'intéressent aux possibilités d'exploitation à long terme au Yukon.

En septembre 1898, une première drague est mise en service dans le fleuve Yukon. La promotion des champs aurifères du Klondike encourage deux grandes entreprises à se lancer dans leur exploitation : la Canadian Klondike Mining Company, en 1905, et la Yukon Gold Company, quelques années plus tard.

Les sociétés veulent se procurer de vastes concessions; la première d'entre elle est accordée à Joe Boyle en 1900 après des négociations avec le gouvernement fédéral. Les entreprises construisent des centrales hydroélectriques, source fiable et constante d'électricité dont elles ont besoin pour faire fonctionner les dragues. Elles érigent également un réseau de barrages et de tranchées pour fournir les dragues en eau.

Dawson joue un rôle central dans la réussite des efforts de ces grandes entreprises. La ville est en mesure de fournir des services administratifs, et on y trouve aussi des services bancaires. Le réseau de transport ferroviaire et fluvial qui dessert Dawson permet aux sociétés de recevoir les fournitures et les machines dont elles ont besoin pour mener leurs opérations. Dawson sert également de bassin de main-d'œuvre, en plus d'abriter les fournisseurs et les services dont ont besoin les sociétés minières.

La drague no 4, construite en 1912 pour la Canadian Klondike Mining Company, est la plus grande drague à coque de bois et à godets en ligne de l'Amérique du Nord. Elle est en service dans la vallée de la Klondike, sur la concession Boyle, jusqu'en 1940, puis sur le ruisseau Bonanza, où elle drague la vallée jusqu'en 1959.

Durant l'âge d'or de l'exploitation minière industrielle, une douzaine de dragues creusent les ruisseaux. Elles poursuivent leurs activités jusqu'en 1966, alors que la Yukon Consolidated Gold Company met hors service sa dernière drague au Klondike. La drague no 4 commémore les nombreuses décennies d'exploitation minière industrielle qui ont eu lieu dans le Moyen Nord canadien au XXe siècle. vités riveraines.

Raisons de l'importance historique nationale

La drague no 4 est commémorée en tant que symbole de l'importance qu'ont eue les opérations de dragage au Yukon de 1899 à 1966. Des dragues ont été apportées au Yukon en 1899 pour exploiter très efficacement les gisements d'or du Klondike. L'exploitation industrielle a joué un rôle primordial dans la viabilité de la collectivité de Dawson et des territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, 1997

Diagramme d'une drague
© Parcs Canada

Faits saillants

1898
Une première drague entre en service au Yukon.

1899
Des entrepreneurs négocient avec le gouvernement canadien la cession de vastes lopins de terre.

1900
Joe Boyle, de Woodstock en Ontario, se voit accorder une centaine de kilomètres carrés de terres.

1905
La société Canadian Klondike Mining Company, administrée par Joe Boyle, construit une première drague.

1906-1925
La société Yukon Gold Corporation exploite neuf dragues.

1909
La Yukon Gold construit la tranchée Twelve Mile pour fournir l'eau nécessaire à l'exploitation hydraulique.

1911
La centrale hydroélectrique North Fork fournit l'électricité nécessaire au fonctionnement de toutes les dragues.

1912
La Canadian Klondike fait construire la drague no 4.

1921
La Canadian Klondike fait faillite.

1923
La Yukon Consolidated Gold Corporation est créée; elle extrait seule l'or du Klondike jusqu'en 1966.

1940
La drague no 4 est maintenant en service au ruisseau Bonanza.

1959
La hausse du coût de la main-d'œuvre, la baisse des réserves de gravier et le prix fixe de l'or poussent la Yukon Consolidated à mettre la drague no 4 hors service.

1966
La Yukon Consolidated met hors service la dernière de ses quatre dragues et cesse ses opérations d'exploitation au Klondike.

1970
Parcs Canada achète la drague no 4.

1997
La drague no 4 est désignée lieu historique national.

EMPLACEMENT

Dredge no. 4 location map
© Parks Canada

La drague no 4 est située à 12,3 km de la route du Klondike, sur Bonanza Creek Road.

Pour des plus amples renseignements :

Les lieux historiques nationaux du Klondike
C.P. 390
Dawson (Territoire du Yukon)
Y0B 1G0
Téléphone : (867) 993-7200
Télécopieur : (867) 993-7203
Adresse électronique : dawson.info@pc.gc.ca


N. B. : Vous avez besoin du logiciel Adobe Acrobat Reader pour lire la version PDF.

Si vous n'avez pas accès au site de téléchargement d'Adobe, vous pouvez télécharger le logiciel Acrobat Reader d'une page accessible.

Si l'accessibilité à un document PDF pose un problème, vous pouvez convertir le fichier en format texte HTML ou ASCII en utilisant l'un des services d'accès offerts par Adobe (en anglais seulement).