Common menu bar links

Klondike National Historic Sites of Canada

At your own pace

SS Keno | Commissioner's Residence | Xplorers | Explora – Dredge No. 4 and the Goldfields | Discovery Claim – Self Guiding Trail | Self-Guided Audio Tour of Dawson City | Harrington’s Store “Dawson As They Saw It”


SS Keno


© CTC / F. Mueller

Open: 9:30 am - noon daily
Tickets: available at the Visitor’s Centre

Built in 1922 to transport silver, lead and zinc ore from the mines on the Stewart River, the S.S. Keno was the answer to getting resources into and out of an extremely isolated spot. For many, this steamer was the first and last contact with the outside world each season, and residents lived according to its schedule. Explore this grand lady of the river at your own pace, with a costumed staffer on-hand to provide insight and answer questions.


Commissioner’s Residence


© CTC / F. Mueller

Open: 2:30 - 4:30 pm daily
Tickets: available on-site

Experience the grandeur of the official residence of the Commissioner of the Yukon restored to its 1914 splendor. Throughout the decades it also served as a hospital, and as the home of one of the Yukon’s most intriguing and influential women, Martha Black. Listen for the whispers of history while exploring this opulent home.


Xplorers

Are your children curious, bright, and active? Do they like challenges? Are they budding artists, dreamers or promising journalists? Then they are a perfect candidate to become a Parks Canada Xplorer.

When the kids have completed the requested number of activities they will be recognized as an official Xplorer with a certificate and a special collectible souvenir!

Ask for the booklets at the Visitor’s Centre and head out to “Xplore” with your family!


Explora – Dredge No. 4 and the Goldfields


© Parks Canada / G. Hunter

Download your app, or borrow a device from the Visitor’s Centre and take your family on your very own tour! Follow in the footsteps of those gold-crazed dreamers and visionaries who transformed the Bonanza Creek valley and brought big-industry to one of the most remote areas of the planet. This new hand-held technology, equipped with a Global Positioning System (GPS), will alert you at different points of interest providing historical photos and context that will make you see this serene valley in a whole new way.

Through photos, quizzes and text, you will hold in the palm of your hand the stories of the Klondike Goldfields as you drive and walk the actual route of thousands of gold-seekers before you.


Discovery Claim – Self Guiding Trail


© CTC / F. Mueller

Location: km 15 on Bonanza Creek Road

This is a legally defined mining claim located on Bonanza Creek, fifteen kilometres above its confluence with the Klondike River. Originally staked on August 17, 1896, it is the site of the gold discovery that sparked the Klondike Gold Rush.


Self-Guided Audio Tour of Dawson City

Dr. Brown's House
© Parks Canada

For in-depth information about the wealth of historic buildings in the Dawson town core, taken at your own pace, this is the tour for you. A compact mp3 player leads you through town to hear stories and details about almost all of the Dawson Historical Complex buildings. This tour is available in English, French and German.


Harrington’s Store “Dawson As They Saw It”

historic street scene of Dawson
© Parks Canada / G. Hunter

Many images of the rush of 1898 are familiar. Goldseekers recorded their impressions in diaries, letters and photographs. But there was more than one Dawson: from a hastily-built supply camp to an elegant territorial capital to a gold town in slow decline.

There is no judging how "faithfully" any one view has captured the original. Whether recording for the family album or for a specific audience, each photographer and writer has brought his or her own perspective and expectations to bear. This collection is by no means "Dawson as it really was", but rather "Dawson as they saw it."

Lieux historiques nationaux du Canada du Klondike

À votre propre rythme

SS Keno | Résidence du commissionaire | Xplorateurs | Explora : Drague no 4 et champs aurifères | Le sentier auto-interprété de la Concession-de-la-Découverte | Visite audioguidée autonome de Dawson | Le magasin Harrington exhibition « Vu par ceux qui ont fait son histoire »


SS Keno


© CTC / F. Mueller

Ouvert : 9 h 30 à midi tous les jours
Billets : en vente au Centre d’accueil

Construit en 1922 pour transporter le long de la rivière Klondike l’argent, le plomb et le de zinc tirés des mines, le S.S. Keno était un moyen de transporter des ressources depuis et jusqu'à un endroit très isolé. Pour bon nombre de personnes, ce bateau à vapeur était, chaque saison, le premier et le dernier point de contact avec le monde extérieur et donc, les résidants vivaient selon son horaire. Découvrez ce bateau à votre rythme, et profitez de l’aide d’un employé costumé qui sera sur place pour vous fournir des renseignements ainsi que répondre à vos questions.


Résidence du commissionaire


© CTC / F. Mueller

Ouvert : 14 h 30 à 16 h 30 tous les jours
Billets : en vente sur place

Découvrez l’élégance de la résidence officielle du commissaire du Yukon. Des travaux de restauration lui ont redonné la splendeur qu’elle possédait en 1914. Au fil des décennies, la résidence a également servi d’hôpital. Martha Black, l’une des femmes les plus mystérieuses et influentes du Yukon, y a aussi demeuré. Écoutez les murmures du passé tout en explorant cette somptueuse résidence.


Xplorateurs

Vos enfants sont curieux, vifs et actifs? Ils aiment les défis? Ils sont artistes en herbe, rêveurs ou futurs journalistes? Ils sont alors de parfaits candidats pour devenir des Xplorateurs de Parcs Canada.
Lorsque les enfants auront complété le nombre requis d'activités, ils recevront alors un souvenir spécial ainsi qu'un certificat les reconnaissant comme Xplorateurs officiels de Parcs Canada!

Demandez les cahiers au Centre d’accueil et partez « Xplorer » avec votre famille!


Explora : Drague no 4 et champs aurifères


© Parcs Canada / G. Hunter

Téléchargez l’application ou empruntez un appareil au Centre d’accueil, et guidez vous-même votre famille pour une visite inoubliable! Suivez les traces des visionnaires et des chercheurs d’or rêveurs qui ont transformé la vallée du ruisseau Bonanza et industrialisé un des coins les plus reculés de la planète. Cet outil technologique portatif muni d’un GPS vous avertira lorsque vous arriverez à différents points d’intérêt et vous fournira des photos et un contexte historiques qui vous feront voir cette vallée paisible d’un tout autre œil.

Grâce aux photos, aux questions et aux autres documents accessibles depuis le creux de votre main, vous découvrirez l’histoire des champs aurifères du Klondike tout en parcourant, en véhicule et à pied, l’itinéraire suivi par des milliers de chercheurs d’or avant vous.


Le sentier auto-interprété de la Concession-de-la-Découverte


© CTC / F. Mueller

Endroit : au kilomètre 15 sur la route du ruisseau Bonanza

Ceci est une concession minière délimitée juridiquement et située en bordure du ruisseau Bonanza, à 15 km en amont de l'endroit où celui-ci rejoint la rivière Klondike. La découverte d'or sur ce terrain, jalonné pour la première fois le 17 août 1896, a déclenché la ruée vers l'or du Klondike.


Visite audioguidée autonome de Dawson

Dr. Brown's House
© Parcs Canada

Si vous voulez obtenir toutes sortes d’information sur les nombreux bâtiments historiques du centre de Dawson, à votre propre rythme, cette visite s’adresse à vous! Un lecteur compact mp3 vous révèle des histoires et des détails au sujet de la quasi-totalité des bâtiments du complexe historique de Dawson. Cette visite est offerte en français, en anglais et en allemand.


Le magasin Harrington exhibition « Vu par ceux qui ont fait son histoire »

historic street scene of Dawson
© Parcs Canada / G. Hunter

Nombreuses sont les images de la ruée vers l’or de 1898 qui nous sont familières. Chercheurs d’or transmirent leurs impressions dans leur journal, dans des lettres et sur des photographies. Mais ils y eut une autre Dawson: d’un camp d’approvisionnement construit à la hâte, à une capitale territoriale élégante à une ville de l’or à son déclin.

On ne saurait préjuger de la « fidélité » avec laquelle chacun a cru capter la réalité. Que ce soit pour un album de famille ou pour up public particulier, chaque photographe ou narrateur a été influencé par sa propre façon de voir et par ses espoirs. La collection que nous présentons ne saurait donc en aucune façon vous montrer « Dawson qui fut », mais plutôt « Dawson qu’ils on vu. »