Klondike National Historic Sites of Canada

Guided Programs

Guided Town Walking Tour: Dawson Then and NowGuided Hike with the Poetry of Robert Service | Greatest Klondiker Contest: Interactive Theatre Presentation | The Life and Poetry of Robert Service | Guided Town Walking Tour: Strange Things Done | Palace Grand Theatre Tour


Guided Town Walking Tour: Dawson Then and Now


© CTC / F. Mueller

Location: Visitor’s Centre
Time: 9:30 am daily

Ever wonder what life is like in Dawson in the middle of winter? Or what to do for fun on a rainy weekend in a town with no movie theatre? Do you think the answer has changed since the gold rush era? You might be surprised! Explore this unique town with your Parks Canada guides, and get a sense of what life is and was like here. See the spots where life really happens in Dawson City, both in gold rush times, and in present day.



Guided Hike with the Poetry of Robert Service


© CTC / F. Mueller

Location: Starts at the Robert Service Cabin, ends at Crocus Bluff
Time: 11:00 am daily

Robert Service loved to ramble these very hillsides as he composed his famous rhymes. On this program, you will begin at Service’s beloved little cabin, and journey with your guide up the hill behind the cabin, to the spectacular outlook at Crocus Bluff. You’ll learn about Service’s quirky personality and hear some of his unforgettable poems as you go. Please note: this program requires a moderate level of fitness, as the hill is steep. Footwear and clothing suitable for the conditions are required.


Greatest Klondiker Contest: Interactive Theatre Presentation


© CTC / F. Mueller

Location: Palace Grand Theatre, King Street
Time: 3:30 pm Sundays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays

Thousands of men and women with great talent and greater dreams made their way to the Klondike in the stampede of 1897. Some stayed and made a name for themselves, others disappeared into obscurity, their dreams never realized. In this program, you will meet three of the remarkable Klondikers who “made it” during the Gold Rush. They will regale you with their adventures and let you know why they, and they alone are the greatest of the dreamers and schemers who made such great contributions to this particular place and time. When it’s all said and done, it’s up to you to decide who will be crowned the Greatest Klondiker!


The Life and Poetry of Robert Service


© CTC / F. Mueller

Location: Robert Service Cabin
Time: 1:00 pm daily

Robert W. Service, the bard of the Yukon, immortalized the gold rush and brought Canadian literature to a worldwide audience. Service lived in this cozy two-room cabin nestled amidst the willows and alders. It is a must-see—a spot to contemplate an intriguing life through the man’s own poetry and unexpected life story. Meet a talented guide who will enthral you with Service’s lilting verse and fascinating tidbits about the humble yet extraordinary man’s life. Ask questions, and step into Service’s cabin.


Guided Town Walking Tour: Strange Things Done


© CTC / F. Mueller

Location: Visitor’s Centre
Time: 7:00 pm daily

It’s all about the gold... but gold can do strange things to those who seek it. As Robert Service eloquently wrote it, “The Northern Lights have seen queer sights” and let’s be clear, Service was talking about Dawson City! With a transition from a patch of moose pasture to a topsy-turvy boomtown in the blink of an eye, anything and everything could, AND DID happen! Find out how much stranger than fiction the truth really is while wandering through the historical core of this amazing town.


Palace Grand Theatre Tour


© CTC / F. Mueller

Location: Palace Grand Theatre, King Street
Time: 2:30 pm daily

Arizona Charlie Meadows built this beautiful theatre in 1899. Throughout its history it has provided entertainments ranging from vaudeville to silent films. Tours relate the dramas and dreams of the leading ladies, percentage girls and miners desperate for a place to spend their gold dust. Explore backstage haunts and the 2nd & 3rd floor nooks both public and private with your knowledgeable costumed guide.

Les lieux historiques nationaux du Canada du Klondike

Programmes Guidées

Visite guidée du centre-ville : Dawson hier et aujourd’hui | Randonnée guidée sur la poésie de Robert Service | Concours du meilleur personnage du Klondike : activité interactive au théâtre | Vie et poésie de Robert Service | Visite guidée du centre-ville : Des choses étranges | Visite guidée du Théâtre Palace Grand

Visite guidée du centre-ville : Dawson hier et aujourd’hui


© CTC / F. Mueller

Endroit : Centre d'accueil des visiteurs
Heure : 9 h 30 tous les jours

Vous êtes-vous déjà demandé à quoi ressemble le quotidien à Dawson au beau milieu de l’hiver? Ou comment les habitants de la ville passent le temps lorsqu’il pleut la fin de semaine dans cet endroit sans salle de cinéma? Croyez-vous que ces réponses ont beaucoup changé depuis l’époque de la ruée vers l’or? Vous pourriez être surpris! Explorez cette ville sans pareille avec des guides de Parcs Canada et apprenez-en davantage sur le quotidien de ses habitants hier et aujourd’hui. Visitez les endroits branchés de Dawson, à l’époque de la ruée vers l’or comme de nos jours.


Randonnée guidée sur la poésie de Robert Service


© CTC / F. Mueller

Endroit : Départ à la cabane de Robert Service, arrivée à la falaise Crocus
Heure : 11 h tous les jours

Robert Service adorait parcourir cette même colline tout en composant les rimes qui l’ont rendu célèbre. Les participants à ce programme partent de la petite cabane bien aimée de Robert Service puis suivent leur guide le long de la colline qui s’élève derrière le bâtiment, jusqu’au belvédère spectaculaire de la falaise Crocus. Le guide présente la personnalité excentrique de Robert Service et récite certains de ses poèmes inoubliables. Il est à noter que les participants doivent avoir un minimum de forme physique puisque la colline est abrupte. Ils doivent également porter des chaussures et des vêtements appropriés.


Concours du meilleur personnage du Klondike : activité interactive au théâtre


© CTC / F. Mueller

Endroit : Théâtre Palace Grand, rue King
Heure : 15 h 30 les dimanches, lundis, mardis, mercredis et jeudis

Des milliers d’hommes et de femmes de grand talent qui caressaient des rêves encore plus grands se sont rendus au Klondike lors de la ruée de 1897. Certains sont restés et se sont fait un nom, d’autres ont sombré dans l’oubli, leur rêve inachevé. Dans le cadre de ce programme, vous ferez la connaissance de trois des grands personnages du Klondike qui ont fait fortune durant la ruée vers l’or. Ils vous raconteront leurs aventures et vous diront pourquoi ils sont, plus que nul autre, les plus grands des rêveurs et fins stratèges et qu’ils ont tant apporté à cet endroit et à cette époque. Une fois leurs présentations terminées, il reviendra à vous de décider qui mérite le titre meilleur personnage du Klondike!



Vie et poésie de Robert Service


© CTC / F. Mueller

Endroit : Cabane de Robert Service
Heure : 13 h tous les jours

Robert W. Service, surnommé le « poète du Yukon », a immortalisé la ruée vers l’or et fait connaître la littérature canadienne de par le monde. Robert Service vivait dans cette intime cabane de deux pièces nichée parmi les saules et les aulnes. Il s’agit d’une visite à ne pas manquer pour en apprendre davantage sur cet homme fascinant grâce à sa poésie et à l’histoire étonnante de sa vie. Posez des questions et entrez dans la cabane de Robert Service.


Visite guidée du centre-ville : Des choses étranges


© CTC / F. Mueller

Endroit : Centre d'accueil des visiteurs
Heure : 19 h tous les jours

Tout est question d’or, mais des choses étranges peuvent arriver à ceux qui le cherchent. Comme Robert Service l’a si bien dit, « Les aurores boréales en font voir de toutes les couleurs », et, rappelons-le, il parlait bel et bien de Dawson City! Passer d'un marécage fréquenté par les orignaux à une ville bruyante en un clin d’œil peut faire tourner la tête et, à Dawson City, tout ce qui pouvait arriver EST arrivé. Lorsque vous marchez dans les rues du quartier historique de cette ville incroyable, découvrez à quel point la réalité dépasse la fiction.


Visite guidée du Théâtre Palace Grand


© CTC / F. Mueller

Endroit : Théâtre Palace Grand, rue King
Heure : 14 h 30 tous les jours

Arizona Charlie Meadows a construit ce magnifique théâtre en 1899. Depuis, on y a présenté des divertissements variés allant du vaudeville aux films muets. Des visites quotidiennes expliquent les drames et les rêves des stars, des danseuses et des mineurs qui tenaient à tout prix à dépenser leur poussière d’or. Explorez les repaires dans les coulisses et les recoins privés et publics des 2e et 3e étages!