Chilkoot Trail National Historic Site of Canada

Boat Building

The Long Portage

Prospectors building boats
Prospectors building boats
© Library & Archives Canada, Iris Warner Collection, C-026410

For early prospectors and Klondike stampeders, the Chilkoot Trail was a long portage. It allowed them to move their outfits from the coast to the headwaters of the Yukon River.

Prior to the gold rush, prospectors would traverse the Chilkoot Trail each spring and build boats on the shores of Lindeman Lake, part of the Southern Lakes chain – headwaters of the Yukon. Once the frozen lakes melted, they would use the Yukon River – which flows over 3000 km (1800 miles) from the outlet of the Southern Lakes to the Bering Sea – to disperse throughout the interior of the Yukon and Alaska in their search for gold.

The Rush

Stampeders in Dyea
Stampeders in Dyea at the start of the Chilkoot Trail
© Anton Vogee/ Yukon Archives, Anton Vogee fonds, #144

When word of the Klondike gold strike reached the outside world in the summer of 1897, a steady stream of hopeful “stampeders” began making their way over the Chilkoot Trail. After packing their supplies over the 42 km / 26 miles of the Chilkoot Trail, the stampeders still had over 800 km / 500 miles of lake and river travel ahead of them before reaching Dawson City and the goldfields. A few made it to Dawson City in the fall of 1897. Most were halted in their tracks upon reaching the frozen lakes.


Ice Bound

Tent city
Tent city, Bennett, B.C.
© Library & Archives Canada, W.J. Woodside Collection, PA-016157

While some of the stampeders built boats at Lindeman Lake, others – faced with the prospect of a long wait for spring break up – chose to push on to Bennett Lake to build their boats. This allowed them to avoid negotiating the rapids on the One Mile River that flowed from Lindeman into Bennett. Meanwhile, those using the alternate White Pass Trail reached the headwater lakes at Bennett and built boats for the fresh water portion of their journey there as well. As the winter wore on both Lindeman and Bennett became bustling tent cities.


To Build a Boat

Whipsawing lumber
Whipsawing lumber at Lindeman
© Anton Vogee, 1898/Yukon Archives, Anton Vogee fonds, #133

While there were commercial sawmills operating near both Lindeman and Bennett, the cost of milled lumber was beyond the means of most. The majority were forced to resort to milling their own lumber by hand. This involved laying a log on a scaffold and then sawing the log lengthwise using a whipsaw. It was a two man operation. One man would stand atop the scaffolding straddling the log, while the other would work underneath. The man on top would pull the saw on each upward stroke and guide the saw on the downward cutting stroke. It was both a physically demanding and exacting job. The man on the bottom meanwhile would provide the power for the downward cutting stroke, an equally exhausting job.

Stampeders building boats
Stampeders building boats at Bennett
© E.A. Hegg, 1898/ Library & Archives Canada, E.A. Hegg/Eva Davies Collection/C-004688

For the inexperienced, the physical demands of the job, combined with the inherent difficulty of keeping the saw straight enough to produce a usable plank – plank, after plank, after plank – proved more of a frustration than the hardships of the trail. Klondike Gold Rush journals are liberally laced with accounts of partnerships forged on the trail, dissolving in the sawpits of Lindeman and Bennett. Nonetheless by the spring of 1898 a makeshift armada had assembled on the shores of Lindeman and Bennett Lakes, impatiently waiting for the ice to go out.


Off to Dawson

The Klondike flotilla on Lake Labarge
The Klondike flotilla on Lake Labarge
© Larss & Duclos, 1898/Yukon Archives, Jacqueline Greenbank Collection (89/19) Pho 371

On the 29th of May the ice began to move. There was a frenzy of activity and within 48 hours over 7000 boats of various descriptions had set off, bound for Dawson City. Some swamped and sank – others were beached – on the stormy lakes. One hundred and fifty more were wrecked – and countless others lost their outfits – in Miles Canyon. But by the 8th of July, the main flotilla had arrived in Dawson City. Their arrival signalled the end of the era of the small hand built scow and ushered in the era of commercial sternwheel navigation on the upper Yukon River .

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Piste-Chilkoot

Fabrication d'embarcations

Le long portage

Prospecteurs construisant des bateaux
Prospecteurs construisant des bateaux
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, collection Iris Warner, C-026410

Pour les premiers prospecteurs et chercheurs d'or du Klondike, la piste Chilkoot représentait un long portage. Elle leur permettait de transporter leur matériel depuis la côte jusqu'au cours supérieur du fleuve Yukon.

Avant la ruée vers l'or, les prospecteurs traversaient la piste Chilkoot tous les printemps et construisaient des embarcations sur les rives du lac Lindeman, qui fait partie de la chaîne des lacs Southern – le cours supérieur du fleuve Yukon. Lorsque la glace qui recouvrait les lacs fondait, ils naviguaient sur le fleuve Yukon – qui s'étend sur une distance de plus de 3 000 km depuis l'embouchure des lacs Southern jusqu'à la mer de Béring – pour se disperser un peu partout dans l'intérieur du Yukon et de l'Alaska, en quête d'or.

La ruée

Chercheurs d’or à Dyea
Chercheurs d’or à Dyea, point de départ de la piste Chilkoot
© Anton Vogee/Archives du Yukon, fonds Anton Vogee, no 144

Quand, au cours de l'été 1897, le monde extérieur eut vent de la découverte d'or du Klondike, une file ininterrompue de chercheurs d'or remplis d'espoir se mit à circuler sur la piste Chilkoot. Après avoir transporté leur matériel sur les 42 km que faisait la piste, il restait aux chercheurs d'or 800 km à parcourir sur des lacs et des rivières avant d'atteindre Dawson et les champs aurifères. Quelques-uns parvinrent à Dawson à l'automne 189. La plupart durent interrompre leur parcours lorsqu'ils atteignirent les lacs gelés.


Prisonniers des glaces

Village de tentes
Village de tentes, Bennett Colombie-Britannique)
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, collection W.J. Woodside, PA-016157

Tandis que certains des chercheurs d'or construisirent des embarcations au lac Lindeman, d'autres – confrontés à la perspective de devoir attendre jusqu'à la crue printanière – décidèrent de poursuivre jusqu'au lac Bennett avant de construire leur embarcation. Ils purent ainsi éviter les rapides de la rivière One Mile, qui allait de Lindeman jusqu'à Bennett. Entre-temps, ceux qui choisirent de passer par la piste du Col-White atteignirent les lacs d'amont à Bennett et y construisirent des embarcations pour naviguer sur les lacs d'eau douce qui parsemaient leur parcours. Alors que se poursuivait l'hiver, Lindeman et Bennett devinrent des villes-campements en plein essor.

La construction d'une embarcation

Sciage du bois
Sciage du bois sur la longueur à Lindeman
© Anton Vogee, 1898/Archives du Yukon, fonds Anton Vogee, no 133

Même s'il y avait des scieries commerciales près de Lindeman et de Bennett, la plupart des hommes ne pouvaient se permettre d'acheter du bois d'œuvre. Ils durent scier leur propre bois à la main. Ils devaient pour ce faire déposer une bille sur un échafaud et la scier sur la longueur au moyen d'une scie de long. Il fallait deux hommes pour exécuter la coupe. Un homme se tenait sur l'échafaud à cheval sur la bille tandis que l'autre travaillait en dessous. L'homme qui se trouvait en haut tirait la scie quand elle remontait et la guidait quand elle descendait. C'était une tâche éreintante et d'une grande exigence. L'homme en dessous fournissait la force pour la coupe vers le bas, une tâche tout aussi épuisante.

Chercheurs d’or construisant des embarcations
Chercheurs d’or construisant des embarcations à Bennett
© E.A. Hegg, 1898/Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, collection E.A. Hegg/Eva Davies/ C-004688

Pour les novices, les exigences physiques d'un tel travail, de même que la difficulté qu'ils éprouvaient à garder la scie assez droite pour produire une planche utilisable – encore et encore et encore – était une source de frustration beaucoup plus grande que les épreuves de la piste. Les journaux de l'époque de la ruée vers l'or du Klondike abondent d'histoires de partenariats conclus le long de la piste qui prenaient fin dans les fosses de sciage de Lindeman et de Bennett. Néanmoins, au printemps 1898 une flotte de fortune fut assemblée sur les rives des lacs Lindeman et Bennett, attendant impatiemment la fonte des glaces.


En route vers Dawson

Flotille du Klondike sur le lac Labarge
Flotille du Klondike sur le lac Labarge.
© Larss et Duclos, 1898/Archives du Yukon, collection Jacqueline Greenbank (89/19), pho. 371

Le 29 mai, la glace commença à bouger, ce qui suscita un climat de fébrilité. Moins de 48 heures plus tard, plus de 7 000 embarcations de divers types s'étaient mises en route vers Dawson. Certaines furent submergées et coulèrent – d''autres échouèrent sur le rivage – dans les lacs aux eaux tumultueuses. Plus de cent cinquante autres firent naufrage – et d'innombrables autres perdirent le matériel qu'elles transportaient – dans le canyon Miles. Mais le 8 juillet, le gros de la flottille parvint à Dawson. Son arrivée signala la fin de l'époque du petit chaland construit à la main et le début de l'époque de la navigation des bateaux à aubes commerciaux dans le cours supérieur du fleuve Yukon.