Chilkoot Trail National Historic Site of Canada

Winter Backcountry Safety


© Parks Canada / Christine Aikens

The Chilkoot Trail and White Pass area is remote. Your safety is your personal responsibility. While natural hazards exist, the risks can be minimized by taking reasonable precautions. Careful pre-trip planning, appropriate equipment and knowledge of natural hazards are all essential. Choose a trip that reflects the level of ability of your group.


Avalanche Hazard

Skier and avalanche debris near Chilkoot Pass
Skier and avalanche debris near Chilkoot Pass
© Parks Canada

Significant avalanche terrain exists in the Chilkoot Trail and White Pass area. All winter backcountry users should know how to recognize and avoid avalanche terrain.

Travel through avalanche terrain requires a special set of skills for evaluating avalanche risk. While in avalanche terrain, your entire group must be properly equipped with shovels, avalanche transceivers and probes, so as to be able to find and rescue a member(s) of your party should they get caught in an avalanche. 

More information on avalanche safety.

Weather

Weather in the Chilkoot/White Pass area can be extreme and unpredictable. Even if the day starts out sunny, be prepared for cold temperatures, snow, strong winds and poor visibility. Whiteout conditions can complicate route-finding and prevent you from detecting avalanche terrain, open water and overflow. Road closures are common due to high winds and driving snow. Weather can also play a major role in the development of avalanche hazard.

It is important to check current weather conditions and forecasts when planning a trip to the Chilkoot Trail / White Pass area. The Yukon Avalanche Association website has a comprehensive listing of weather resources (current conditions, forecasts, webcams) for the area.

Lake Ice

You may encounter water (overflow) under the snow layer on any of the lakes, rivers or creeks in the area. This slush layer may also be present around underground springs. Thin ice may be encountered on any water body (generally in spring and early winter and also near inflows and outflows of lakes). If you become wet, you must be prepared to dry out your gear, or carry dry gear to change into. Extreme caution should be exercised when travelling on lakes and streams.

Learn More

Exposure

Hypothermia

Hypothermia is the lowering of the interior body temperature, and is caused by exposure to the cold, aggravated by wetness, wind and personal exhaustion. Your body is similar to a furnace: if it loses more heat than it can produce, the body's core temperature will drop. Without an external heat source hypothermia can be fatal.

Watch for these symptoms:

  • uncontrollable fits of shivering 
  • slurred speech 
  • stumbling 
  • loss of coordination: difficulty performing simple tasks 
  • changes in normal behaviour: a good-natured person may begin to grumble and complain.

Frostbite

Frostbite is the actual freezing of the body tissues caused by exposure to cold, especially when aggravated by wind and wetness. The nose, ears, cheeks and chin are most often affected, but more severe cases of frostbite can involve the hands and feet.

Watch for these symptoms:

  • affected area becomes cold and numb 
  • skin turns white, yellow-white and/or mottled blue-white

Be Prepared

To ensure you have a safe and enjoyable trip, please plan your trip carefully. Do not attempt activities beyond your skills and capabilities, and use your discretion when traveling in the backcountry. You are ultimately responsible for your own safety.

A Few Tips:

  • It is always safer to travel in a group 
  • Pick an objective that is within your group’s ability and have an alternate plan in case conditions change. 
  • Check the weather forecast
  • Let someone know your plans. Leave an itinerary, route map and the names of your party with a friend or family member. 
  • Ensure that you are properly equipped
  • Take your avalanche safety gear and know how to use it if you are venturing into avalanche terrain. 
  • Dress in layers to adapt to changing conditions 
  • Drink and eat regularly to stay hydrated and maintain energy 
  • Set a turn-around time and stick to it.

NOTE: Except in an emergency, open fires are not permitted in the park. Backpacking stoves or woodstoves in the shelters at Lindeman are your only source of heat on the Canadian side of the trail.

Emergencies

Chilkoot Trail National Historic Site is a remote wilderness park. Travellers must be entirely self-sufficient and able to handle any emergency situations on their own. In the event of an emergency you should be prepared for lengthy delays in search and rescue response times due to weather conditions and/or the availability of both aircraft and rescue personnel.

There is no cell phone coverage in Chilkoot Trail National Historic Site. We recommend you carry a satellite phone. Be aware that coverage can be adversely affected by vegetation and topography in some locations. The closest telephone is at Canada Customs at Fraser on the South Klondike Highway (6.5 km/4 miles south of Log Cabin parking lot). Let the dispatcher know that you are in the Chilkoot Trail National Historic Site, and then give your precise location and the accident details.

Emergency Numbers

Parks Canada 24 hour Emergency Dispatch
1-877-852-3100
1-780-852-3100 (if calling from a satellite phone)

RCMP Carcross
1-867-821-5555

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Piste-Chilkoot

Sécurité en hiver dans l'arrière–pays


© Parcs Canada / Christine Aikens

Le secteur de la piste Chilkoot et du col White se trouve dans une région reculée. C’est à vous qu’il incombe d’assurer votre propre sécurité. Il existe des dangers naturels, mais vous pouvez réduire les risques en prenant des précautions raisonnables. Vous devez à tout prix planifier soigneusement votre excursion, avoir en votre possession l’équipement approprié et connaître les dangers naturels. Choisissez un itinéraire qui correspond aux capacités de votre groupe.


Risque d’avalanche

Skieur et débris d'avalanche près du col Chilkoot Skieur et débris d'avalanche près du col Chilkoot 
© Parcs Canada

La piste Chilkoot et le col White traversent des zones de terrain avalancheux. Tous les excursionnistes qui s’aventurent dans l’arrière-pays en hiver doivent pouvoir les reconnaître et les éviter.

Pour se déplacer en terrain avalancheux, il faut posséder les compétences voulues pour évaluer le risque d’avalanche. En terrain avalancheux, tous les membres de votre groupe doivent avoir en leur possession de l’équipement approprié – des pelles, des appareils de recherche de victime d’avalanche et des sondes – pour être en mesure de repérer et de sauver un coéquipier dans l’éventualité d’une avalanche.

Pour en savoir davantage sur la sécurité en terrain avalancheux.

Conditions météorologiques

Les conditions météorologiques dans le secteur de la piste Chilkoot et du col White sont parfois difficiles et imprévisibles. Même lorsqu’il fait soleil en début de journée, il faut se tenir prêt à affronter du froid, de la neige, des vents forts et une faible visibilité. Les voiles blancs peuvent contribuer à vous désorienter et vous empêcher de détecter les zones de terrain avalancheux, les bassins d’eau libre et la névasse. Les fermetures de route sont courantes en raison des vents forts et de la poudrerie. En outre, les conditions météorologiques contribuent grandement à accroître le risque d’avalanche.

Il est important de vérifier les conditions météorologiques actuelles et les prévisions avant de partir en excursion dans le secteur de la piste Chilkoot et du col White. Le site Web de la Yukon Avalanche Association (en anglais seulement) renferme une liste complète des ressources météorologiques (conditions actuelles, prévisions, caméras Web) accessibles aux adeptes du plein air qui font des excursions dans le secteur.

Glace lacustre

Il se peut que vous rencontriez de l’eau – de la névasse – sous la neige qui recouvre la surface des lacs et des cours d’eau. Cette couche de neige gorgée d’eau peut également être présente autour des sources souterraines. Il faut aussi s’attendre à rencontrer de la glace mince sur tout plan d’eau, surtout au printemps et au début de l’hiver, ainsi que près des points d’entrée et de sortie d’eau des lacs. Si vous vous mouillez, vous devez être prêt à faire sécher vos vêtements ou à porter des vêtements de rechange secs. Il faut être extrêmement prudent sur les lacs et les cours d’eau.

En savoir plus

Exposition au froid

Hypothermie

L’hypothermie – la baisse de la température interne du corps – est causée par une exposition au froid et aggravée par l’humidité, le vent et l’épuisement. Votre corps est semblable à un appareil de chauffage : s’il perd plus de chaleur qu’il ne peut en produire, votre température corporelle baisse. Sans l’apport d’une source de chaleur externe, l’hypothermie peut être mortelle.

Guettez les symptômes suivants :

  • Frissons incontrôlables
  • Empâtement de la parole 
  • Démarche titubante 
  • Perte de coordination : difficulté à accomplir des tâches simples 
  • Changement du comportement normal : une personne qui a généralement bon caractère peut commencer à maugréer et à se plaindre.

Engelures

Les engelures sont des lésions cutanées causées par le gel des tissus du corps à la suite d’une exposition au froid. La situation est aggravée par le vent et l’humidité. Le nez, les oreilles, les joues et le menton sont les régions les plus souvent touchées, mais, dans les cas les plus graves, les mains et les pieds peuvent également être affectés.

Guettez les symptômes suivants :

  • La région touchée devient froide et engourdie. 
  • La peau devient blanche ou jaune-blanchâtre ou présente des taches bleu-blanc.

Bien se préparer!

Pour que votre excursion soit sécuritaire et agréable, il importe de bien la planifier. Évitez de choisir des activités qui dépassent vos compétences et vos capacités et servez-vous de votre jugement pendant vos déplacements dans l’arrière-pays. En définitive, vous êtes responsable de votre sécurité.
Quelques conseils :

  • Il est toujours plus prudent de vous déplacer en groupe
  • Choisissez un objectif à la mesure des capacités de votre groupe et prévoyez un itinéraire de rechange pour le cas où les conditions changeraient. 
  • Consultez les prévisions météorologiques (en anglais seulement). 
  • Informez un ami ou un parent de vos projets d’excursion. Remettez-lui un itinéraire, une carte du parcours choisi ainsi que le nom des membres de votre groupe. 
  • Assurez-vous que vous êtes bien équipé
  • Emportez votre équipement de sécurité avalanche et maîtrisez-en l’utilisation avant de vous aventurer en terrain avalancheux. 
  • Emportez plusieurs épaisseurs de vêtements pour vous adapter aux conditions changeantes. 
  • Buvez et mangez régulièrement pour rester hydraté et conserver votre énergie. 
  • Fixez-vous une heure de demi-tour et respectez-la.

NOTA : Sauf en situation d’urgence, il est interdit d’allumer des feux à ciel ouvert dans le lieu historique. Les réchauds portatifs et les abris situés à Lindeman représentent les seules possibilités de se réchauffer du côté canadien de la piste.

En cas d'urgence

Le lieu historique national Piste Chilkoot se trouve au cœur d’une région sauvage et reculée. Les voyageurs doivent donc être entièrement autonomes et capables de composer seuls avec les urgences. En cas d’urgence, attendez-vous à ce que les délais d’intervention des moyens de recherche et de sauvetage soient longs à cause des conditions atmosphériques ou de problème de disponibilité des aéronefs et des sauveteurs.

Il n’y a pas de couverture cellulaire dans le lieu historique national de la Piste-Chilkoot. Nous vous recommandons de transporter un téléphone satellite. Sachez que la végétation et la topographie peuvent nuire à la couverture à certains endroits. Le téléphone le plus près se trouve au poste douanier de Fraser, sur le tronçon sud de la route du Klondike (6,5 km en direction sud du stationnement à Log Cabin). Faites savoir au répartiteur que vous vous trouvez dans le lieu historique national de la Piste-Chilkoot, puis communiquez-lui votre emplacement précis ainsi que les détails de l’accident.

Téléphone d'urgence

Parcs Canada (service 24 heures sur 24)
1-877-852-3100
1-780-852-3100 (si vous appelez d’un téléphone satellite)

GRC (à Carcross)
1-867-821-5555