Common menu bar links

Chilkoot Trail National Historic Site of Canada

Guidelines for Custodial Groups hiking the Chilkoot Trail

Custodial Groups require a higher Standard of Care

Leading a group of youth into the wilderness comes with tremendous responsibilities - there are risks to be managed and many decisions to be made. The onus is on everyone who encourages youth to explore the mountains to understand and accept the associated responsibilities. This includes parents, group organizers, group leaders and park managers.

These guidelines apply to custodial groups hiking on the Chilkoot Trail during the hiking season (June 1 - Sept 30). The goal of these guidelines is to ensure that custodial groups receive safe leadership. The information that follows will offer some assistance and resources for planning a safe and rewarding mountain experience.


What is a Custodial Group?

A "custodial group" means a group affiliated with an institution, where at least one person is below the age of majority and that minor is not in the company of his/her parent or legal guardian. The age of majority is 19 in British Columbia and the Yukon and 18 in Alaska.

Custodial refers to custody, and the fact that when leading minors in the absence of their parent or legal guardian, the group leader is in loco parentis (in the place of the parent). In other words: if an institution of some form has organized the group, and there are minors participating whose parents or legal guardian aren't present - then it is a custodial group.

This doesn't include groups of friends or families - this is about institutions, and their responsibility to the children they lead and the parents they replace. Institutional groups include but are not limited to school groups, Scout/Guide groups, church groups, cadet groups and community youth groups.

When you reserve, and again when you pick up your permits to hike the Chilkoot Trail, you should declare your party as a custodial group.

Please contact Parks Canada at 800-661-0486 or 867-667-3910 for further information regarding Custodial Groups traveling on the Chilkoot Trail.

Pre-trip information on hiking the Chilkoot Trail 

Pre-trip Communication and Disclosing Risk to Parents and Administrators

The trip leaders are responsible to communicate trip information and to disclose risk to parents and administrators well in advance of the scheduled trip. Planning ahead for backcountry travel is an absolutely essential part of the experience - a well-prepared group with well-researched options has the best chance for success. Of primary importance when planning a trip with custodial groups, is involving more than just the participants themselves. Parents and institutions also need reliable information if they are to make informed decisions on behalf of their children or students.

This requires extra effort on the part of everyone involved to explain the trip details, options, and risks in a clear and concise format that an untrained parent, group leader, or teacher will understand. These same people bear an equal or greater responsibility to listen to the information, and to ask questions which will ensure they understand the risks the group may face. All parents want to make the right decisions on behalf of their children and their own family's tolerance for risk. It is a major responsibility of the institutions organizing these trips to assist those parents in making informed decisions.

Resources such as guidebooks and maps should be considered long before the trip. Weather and trail conditions must be tracked regularly in the weeks leading up to the trip - and checked once more just prior to departure.

Pre-trip information on hiking the Chilkoot Trail 

Competencies and Qualifications of Leaders

The goal of this policy is to ensure that custodial groups receive appropriate leadership. Anyone who proposes to lead a group into the backcountry must have significant personal experience with travel in mountain terrain, first aid training, and possess strong leadership skills. It is the responsibility of the institution associated with any custodial group to ensure that leaders have the appropriate knowledge, skills and abilities as identified below:

  • Pre-trip and daily group planning
  • Ability to assess abilities of trip participants and adapt program so that all trip members are able to have a safe experience
  • Familiarity with trail and route selection for seasonal hazards
  • Mountain safety and survival knowledge, skills and abilities
  • Awareness of wildlife hazards and bear safety procedures
  • Map and compass use and/or GPS and route finding experience
  • Environmental practices, minimal impact camping and sanitation
  • Site specific natural, cultural, and historical information

Minimum First Aid Training

  • Wilderness First Aid and CPR / 40 hour equivalent for one leader
  • Standard First Aid and CPR / 16 hour equivalent for the assisting leader

Group Size

  • Maximum group size of 12

In order to minimize the impacts of large groups only one large group (9 - 12 people) is permitted to cross Chilkoot Pass on any given day. Show respect for fellow hikers and the park environment by respecting these limitations. Use of multiple bookings to circumvent group size restrictions may result in loss of permits.

Ratios for all Custodial Groups

  • Maximum group size of 12
  • Minimum of two leaders required per group
  • Minimum one leader per five youth (1:5)

Communication

There is no cell phone coverage along the Chilkoot Trail. It is recommended that all custodial groups carry an Iridium satellite phone for emergency communications. Iridium is the only carrier with reliable coverage on the Chilkoot Trail. Satellite phone rental should be arranged prior to departure as local availability is limited. Ensure that you are familiar with the use of your satellite phone and its limitations in mountainous terrain.

Each group should carry:

  • Iridium Satellite phone
  • All emergency contact numbers and contingency plans

As the Chilkoot Trail crosses an international border there is no single emergency contact number that is good for the whole trail. It is important to know which number to call in the event of an emergency. South of Chilkoot Pass you are in Klondike Gold Rush National Historical Park and the U.S. National Park Service (NPS) is the resonding agency. North of Chilkoot Pass you are in Chilkoot Trail National Historic Site of Canada and Parks Canada is the responding agency.

Emergency Contact Numbers

Klondike Gold Rush National Historical Park, Alaska
NPS Emergency Dispatch: 1-907-683-9555

Chilkoot Trail National Historic Site, British Columbia
Parks Canada Emergency Dispatch: 1-780-852-3100

Equipment

It is the responsibility of custodial group leaders to ensure that all members of the hiking party are sufficiently equipped and that group gear is well maintained. It is vital that all groups visiting the Chilkoot Trail have equipment adequate for a harsh mountain climate. Tents, sleeping bags, and clothing must be of high quality and waterproof, as weather can be winter-like even in the summer. Refer to the equipment list in the pre-trip package. In addition to the personal gear and group equipment, each leader should carry:

Avalanche Safety

During the early hiking season (June 1 until mid July) there is a risk of avalanches affecting the Chilkoot Trail. To quantify this risk, Parks Canada calculated the Avalanche Hazard Index (AHI) for custodial groups, based on the eight-year average of 110 custodial hikers from June 1 - July 15. The resulting value (AHI = 0.1) indicates a relatively low acceptable risk for these groups, thus no closures are warranted. However, policy guiding the actions of custodial groups travelling through avalanche terrain is still necessary.

In addition to the above recommendations for leadership, first aid training and group ratios, during the early hiking season, Parks Canada recommends:

  • One leader should have previously hiked the Chilkoot Trail
  • Leaders should have experience leading groups in the backcountry in avalanche terrain
  • Groups should leave Sheep Camp no later than 6:00 am in order to facilitate travel through the avalanche zones north of Chilkoot Pass early in the day when the snowpack is more stable
  • Groups should travel quickly and avoid stopping in avalanche zones
  • Leaders should review the avalanche terrain maps for Chilkoot Pass

Log Cabin Access/Egress

The Cut Off Trail is closed between May 1 and November 30. During this time travel on it is prohibited and you may be charged with an offence under the Canada National Parks Act if you are found travelling on the Cut Off Trail.The trail is no longer maintained and a bridge has been removed. There is therefore a greater risk to you of personal injury. Reduced sightlines due to vegetation re-growth increases the risk of a surprise bear encounter.

Using the WP&YR railway right of way and tracks to get to or from the Chilkoot Trail is trespassing and illegal under the Railway Safety Act. Travelling on the railway right of way is dangerous there is a risk of being hit by a train or other railway equipment. If you do so it is entirely at your own discretion and you accept any and all risks absolutely and Parks Canada Agency is not liable to you whatsoever.

Winter Travel

During the winter (October 1 - May 31) custodial groups require additional skills to travel safely in the Chilkoot Trail National Historic Site. Please call 1-800-661-0486.

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Piste-Chilkoot

Lignes directrices visant les groupes encadrés en excursion dans la piste Chilkoot

Les groupes encadrés exigent beaucoup plus de précautions

Diriger un groupe de jeunes dans les régions sauvages s'accompagne d'immenses responsabilités : il y a des risques à gérer et de nombreuses décisions à prendre. Quiconque encourage des jeunes à explorer les montagnes doit comprendre et accepter les responsabilités qui s'y rattachent et les parents, les organisateurs des groupes, les chefs des groupes et les directeurs des parcs sont tous visés.

Les présentes lignes directrices s'appliquent aux groupes encadrés qui font une excursion dans la piste Chilkoot pendant la saison des randonnées pédestres (du 1er juin au 30 septembre). Elles visent à s'assurer que les groupes encadrés sont dirigés en toute sécurité. Les renseignements suivants aideront à planifier une expérience en montagne enrichissante et sûre et procureront aussi des ressources utiles.


Qu'est - ce qu'un groupe encadré?

Un « groupe encadré » s'entend d'un groupe appartenant à une institution donnée et dont au moins un des membres est un mineur qui n'est pas accompagné de ses parents ou d'un tuteur. L'âge de la majorité est de 19 ans au Yukon et en Colombie - Britannique, et de 18 ans en Alaska.

L'encadrement désigne la garde de mineurs et le fait que le chef de groupe qui dirige des mineurs en l'absence du parent ou du tuteur tient alors lieu de parent ou de tuteur. Autrement dit, si une institution donnée a organisé un groupe et que des mineurs dont les parents ou les tuteurs ne sont pas présents en font partie, on parle de groupe encadré.

Cette désignation n'englobe pas les groupes d'amis ou les familles - ce sont les institutions qui sont visées, de même que leur responsabilité envers les enfants qu'ils dirigent et les parents qu'ils remplacent. Les groupes institutionnels comprennent sans s'y limiter les groupes scolaires, les groupes de scouts ou de guides, les groupes religieux, les groupes de cadets et les groupes communautaires de jeunes.

Au moment d'effectuer une réservation, et aussi quand vous allez chercher vos permis pour partir en randonnée sur la piste Chilkoot, vous devez aviser Parcs Canada qu'il s'agit d'un groupe encadré.

Veuillez communiquer avec Parcs Canada (au 1-800-661-0486 ou au 867-667-3910) pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les groupes encadrés qui prévoient des excursions sur la piste Chilkoot. Pour vous renseigner avant l'excursion sur la piste Chilkoot

Communication préalable et divulgation des risques aux parents et aux administrateurs avant l'excursion

Les chefs d'excursion doivent communiquer les renseignements sur cette dernière et faire part des risques aux parents et aux administrateurs longtemps avant l'excursion proposée. La planification d'une excursion en arrière - pays est un élément absolument essentiel de l'expérience : un groupe bien préparé, dont les options ont fait l'objet de recherches approfondies, a les meilleures chances de réussite. Il est primordial, lorsqu'on planifie une excursion avec des groupes encadrés, d'y faire participer d'autres personnes en plus des participants eux - mêmes. Les parents et les institutions ont également besoin de renseignements sûrs, s'ils veulent prendre des décisions éclairées au nom des enfants ou des élèves.

Toutes les personnes visées doivent donc faire des efforts supplémentaires pour expliquer les détails de l'excursion, les options et les risques de manière claire et concise pour qu'un parent, un chef de groupe ou un enseignant peu au fait de ces excursions comprenne ce qu'il en est. Ces personnes ont, quant à elles, une responsabilité égale ou plus grande d'écouter les renseignements et de poser des questions pour s'assurer de bien comprendre les risques auxquels le groupe peut être exposé. Tous les parents veulent prendre de bonnes décisions au nom de leurs enfants, et en fonction de la tolérance de leur propre famille au risque. C'est là une responsabilité importante des institutions qui organisent ces excursions d'aider les parents à prendre des décisions éclairées.

Il faut examiner les ressources comme les guides et les cartes longtemps avant l'excursion, suivre régulièrement les conditions météorologiques et l'état de la piste pendant les semaines qui précèdent l'excursion, et les vérifier une dernière fois immédiatement avant le départ.

Pour vous renseigner avant l'excursion sur la piste Chilkoot

Compétences et qualités des chefs de groupe

La présente politique a pour objet de s'assurer que les groupes encadrés sont correctement dirigés. Quiconque propose de diriger un groupe en arrière - pays doit posséder une expérience personnelle considérable des randonnées en terrain montagneux, avoir une formation en secourisme et être un leader capable. Il incombe à l'institution responsable d'un groupe encadré de veiller à ce que les chefs de groupe possèdent les compétences, les connaissances et les aptitudes pertinentes suivantes :

  • Planification d'une excursion et planification quotidienne de groupe
  • Aptitude à évaluer les capacités des participants à l'excursion et à adapter les programmes, de façon à ce que tous puissent vivre une expérience en toute sécurité
  • Connaissance de la sélection des sentiers et des itinéraires en fonction des dangers saisonniers
  • Connaissance, compétences, et aptitudes en matière de sécurité et de survie en montagne
  • Sensibilisation aux dangers de la faune et connaissance des règles de sécurité concernant les ours
  • Utilisation de cartes et de boussole et/ou d'un GPS et expérience en l'orientation
  • Pratiques, camping et hygiène écologiques
  • Renseignements sur la nature, la culture ou l'histoire de l'endroit

Formation minimale en secourisme

  • Secourisme en milieu sauvage et RCR/équivalent de 40 heures pour un chef de groupe
  • Secourisme général et RCR/équivalent de 16 heures pour le chef adjoint

Taille du groupe

  • Nombre maximal de 12 personnes

Afin de réduire au minimum les répercussions des grands groupes, seul un grand groupe (de 9 à 12 personnes) est autorisé à franchir le col Chilkoot, en une seule journée. Soyez respectueux envers les autres randonneurs et l'environnement du parc en respectant ces limites. Faire des réservations multiples pour contourner les restrictions de la taille des groupes peut entraîner le retrait du permis.

Ratios pour tous les groupes encadrés

  • Nombre maximal de 12 personnes
  • Minimum de deux chefs par groupe
  • Minimum d'un chef pour cinq jeunes (1:5)

Communications

Il n'y a pas de réception pour les téléphones cellulaires dans la piste Chilkoot. Il est recommandé à tous les groupes encadrés en excursion dans la piste Chilkoot de se munir d'un téléphone satellite Iridium pour les communications d'urgence. Iridium est la seule entreprise de télécommunications qui offre une couverture fiable sur la piste Chilkoot. Il est préférable d'organiser la location d'un téléphone satellite bien avant le départ puisqu'on en trouve peu dans la région. Vérifiez localement la couverture satellite actuelle, car le service varie considérablement entre les différents fournisseurs de téléphones satellites. Assurez-vous de bien connaître le fonctionnement de votre téléphone satellite ainsi que ses limites en terrain montagneux.

Chaque groupe doit transporter :

  • un téléphone satellite Iridium
  • tous les numéros des personnes avec qui communiquer en cas d'urgence, de même que des plans d'urgence.

Puisque la piste Chilkoot traverse une frontière internationale, il n'y a pas qu'un seul numéro à composer en cas d'urgence. Il est important de savoir où appeler selon l'endroit où vous vous trouvez sur la piste. Au sud du col Chilkoot, vous vous trouvez dans le parc historique national américain de la Ruée-Vers-l'Or-du-Klondike, et le Service national des parcs des États-Unis est l'organisme qui doit y intervenir. Au nord du col Chilkoot, vous vous trouvez dans le lieu historique national du Canada de la Piste-Chilkoot, et c'est Parcs Canada qui doit y intervenir.

En cas d'urgence

Parc historique national de la Ruée-Vers-l'Or-du-Klondike, en Alaska
Centre de répartition des urgences du Service national des parcs : 1-907-683-9555

Lieu historique national de la Piste Chilkoot, Colombie-Britannique
Centre de répartition des urgences de Parcs Canada : 1-780-852-3100

Équipement

Il incombe aux chefs des groupes encadrés de veiller à ce que tous les membres disposent de l'équipement nécessaire et que ce dernier soit bien entretenu. Tous les groupes en excursion dans la piste Chilkoot doivent disposer de l'équipement nécessaire pour affronter un climat montagneux difficile. Les tentes, les sacs de couchage et les vêtements doivent être de très grande qualité et imperméables, car on peut y voir des conditions météorologiques semblables aux conditions hivernales, même en été. Consultez la liste de l'équipement dans la trousse de planification de l'excursion. En plus des vêtements personnels et de l'équipement du groupe, chaque chef de groupe doit avoir :

Sécurité en terrain avalancheux

Au début de la saison des randonnées (du 1er juin à la mi - juillet), il peut y avoir des avalanches dans la piste Chilkoot. Pour quantifier ce risque, Parcs Canada a calculé l'indice de risque d'avalanche (IRA) pour les groupes encadrés, selon une moyenne de 8 ans de 110 randonneurs encadrés, entre le 1er juin et le 15 juillet. La valeur qui en résulte (IRA = 0,1) indique un risque acceptable assez faible pour ces groupes, bien qu'aucune fermeture ne soit garantie. Il n'en demeure pas moins nécessaire d'instaurer une politique concernant les déplacements de groupes encadrés dans des régions à risque d'avalanche.

En plus des recommandations qui précèdent sur la direction des groupes, la formation en secourisme et les ratios des groupes, Parcs Canada recommande, en début de saison de randonnée :

  • Qu'un chef ait déjà fait une randonnée dans la piste Chilkoot.
  • Que les chefs aient l'expérience de la direction de groupes en arrière - pays, dans des régions à risque d'avalanche.
  • Que les groupes quittent Sheep Camp au plus tard à 6 h afin de pouvoir traverser les zones d'avalanche situées au nord du col Chilkoot assez tôt dans la journée, quand le manteau neigeux est plus stable
  • Que les groupes se déplacent rapidement et évitent de s'arrêter dans les zones d'avalanche.
  • Que les chefs examinent les cartes des régions à risque d'avalanche pour le col Chilkoot

Randonnée en hiver

En hiver (du 1er octobre au 31 mai), les groupes encadrés doivent posséder des compétences additionnelles pour se déplacer en toute sécurité au lieu historique national de la Piste-Chilkoot. Veuillez signaler le 1-800-661-0486.