Common menu bar links

Fort Walsh National Historic Site

Group Tours

Bookings

All groups planning to visit Fort Walsh NHSC are requested to please pre-book in advance.

Bookings may be made (after March 1st) by calling (306) 662-2645.

Please note that NO bookings will be accepted during the second and third week of May. After Victoria Day through to Labour Day, call the historic site at (306) 662-3590 to make your booking.

Please indicate at the time of booking if your group is interested in pre-ordering lunch at our on-site concession. Should you wish to discuss menu options and prices, please indicate so at the time of your booking and the appropriate information will be forwarded to you in advance of your tour.

Fees

Please call the site at the above number for the latest fees.

Orientation

It is requested that upon arrival to the site, all groups register at the Visitor Reception Centre where the attendant will provide you and your group with an orientation and supply you with an itinerary for the day.

Activities

As part of your visit to our site, your group will have an opportunity to explore the site museum and view one or more of the site's orientation videos located in the Visitor Reception Centre.

Individuals of all ages enjoy the hands-on activities encountered at Fort Walsh NHSC. Your tour of the historic site of Fort Walsh will be led by a knowledgeable guide dressed in period costume. Students are actively involved in a plentitude of learning activities, which present the site's historic significance in a fun and entertaining fashion. Students experience a simulated recruitment training as a North West Mounted Policeman and are assigned various tasks, which emphasize cooperative learning and an appreciation for Canada's past.

Extras

Battle Creek Picnic Site - located along the banks of Battle Creek and just a short 5 minute walk from the historic Fort Walsh grounds, this scenic spot is an ideal location for enjoying a picnic or bag lunch. Please ensure all lunches are in containers with tight fitting lids to avoid being scavenged by wildlife.

Cemeteries - NWMP Cemetery and Civilian Cemetery. Ask one of our guides about the interesting and sometimes surprising stories about the lives and deaths of those who have been laid to rest at Fort Walsh.

Lieu historique national du Fort-Walsh

Les visites de groupe

Réservations:

Tous les groupes qui planifient une visite à Fort-Walsh LHNC sont priés de réserver à l'avance.

Les réservations peuvent se faire (après le 1er mars) en appelant au (306) 662-2645.

S'il vous plaît, notez que l'on ne prend pas de réservation pendant la deuxième et troisième semaines de mai. Après la journée de fête de la reine Victoria jusqu'à la fête du travail, appelez le site historique au (306) 662-3590 pour réserver.

S'il vous plaît, indiquez la journée et l'heure de votre visite lors de la réservation. Si votre groupe est intéressé de commander à l'avance un goûter à notre restaurant et vous désirez discuter des différents menus et prix disponibles, indiquez le lors de votre réservation et nous vous ferons parvenir l'information appropriée.

Tarifs:

Veuillez appelez le site au numéro ci-haut pour connaître les tarifs en vigeur.

Orientation:

Lors de votre arrivée au lieu historique, tous les groupes doivent s'enregistrer au Centre d'accueil des visiteurs où une personne préposée à l'accueil vous guidera et vous donnera un itinéraire de la journée.

Activités:

Faisant partie de votre visite au site, votre groupe aura l'opportunité d'explorer le musée et voir une ou plusieurs vidéos des attraits du site au centre d'accueil.

Les individus de tous les âges aimeront les activités à faire au Fort-Walsh LHNC. Votre tour du lieu historique du Fort-Walsh sera mené par un guide qualifié habillé en costume d'époque. Les étudiants et étudiantes sont activement impliqués dans plusieurs activités éducatives, ce qui présente la signification historique du fort d'une façon amusante. Les étudiants et étudiantes expérimentent la simulation d'un entraînement d'une recrue comme Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest. Les policiers se font assigner des tâches variées, qui mettent l'emphase sur l'éducation coopérante et sur l'appréciation du passé du Canada.

Extras:

L'aire de pique-nique de Battle Creek - localisée le long des rives de Battle Creek à cinq minutes de marche des terrains historiques du Fort-Walsh, ce point de vue est l'endroit idéal pour faire un pique-nique ou pour prendre son goûter. S'il vous plaît, assurez-vous que vos goûters sont dans des contenants hermétiques pour empêcher les animaux sauvages de se servir.

Cimetières - Le cimetière de la P.C.N.-O. et le cimetière pour les civils. Demandez à un de nos guides de vous raconter des histoires parfois surprenantes de la vie et la mort de ceux qui reposent dans ces cimetières du Fort-Walsh.