Batoche National Historic Site of Canada

Shared Management Board

The Batoche National Historic Site now has the assistance of a Shared Management Board, comprised of three members appointed by the Minister of Canadian Heritage, and three members appointed by the Métis Nation of Saskatchewan (MNS). The newly formed Board is in the process of reviewing the existing Management Plan, developed in collaboration with the MNS in 1998, and will provide suggestions for implementation. It is hoped that the Shared Management Board will provide a means to revitalize the Batoche National Historic Site so that it remains an honored place for Métis people and Canadian citizens to remember those who lived and died there . 1

2001 newsletter

November 6, 2000 saw the coming together of the Métis Nation of Saskatchewan and the government of Canada at the Batoche National Historic Site for the first meeting of the Shared Management Board.

Murray Hamilton, Dale McCauley, Peter Rudyk, Yvonne Vizina, Leon McCauley, John Dorion, and Cheryl Penny make up the seven member board that will "assist in insuring the Commemorative Integrity of Batoche by protecting and presenting the site for the benefit, education, and enjoyment of this and future generations, in a manner that respects the significant, irreplaceable and historic legacy represented by Batoche." The Board has been established as a result of the Batoche Management Agreement signed by Clem Chartier, President, Métis Nation of Saskatchewan and the Honorable Andy Mitchell, Secretary of State (Parks), Government of Canada on November 8, 1998.

With the establishment of the board, both organizations look forward to a productive working relationship that will honor this very special place. Batoche was declared a national historic site in 1923, by the government of Canada, on the recommendation of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada. It has been a place of great importance to the Métis for many generations..

A Batoche National Historic Site of Canada Management Plan was created and tabled by the Minister of Canadian Heritage and will form the basis of future developments at the site. The Management Plan replaces the first Management Plan implemented in 1982. That plan directed the development of the facilities, services, and programs which are seen today. The new plan was created for three main reasons:

- to incorporate the new shared management role of the Métis Nation of Saskatchewan at Batoche National Historic Site of Canada (NHSC)

- to insure that the objectives for commemorative integrity at Batoche NCSC, confirmed in the site's 1996 Commemorative Integrity Statement, are represented in the site management plan; and

- to insure that site management direction is consistent with the principles and practice in the Parks Canada cultural Resource Management Policy, approved by the Minister of Canadian Heritage in 1994.

Since May 2002, Guy Bouvier has replaces Murray Hamilton on the board.

1 Yvonne N. Vizina, "Moving Heaven and Earth" New Breed Magazine, 2001

Lieu historique national du Canada de Batoche

Conseil de gestion partagée

Le lieu historique national de Batoche bénéficie maintenant d'un Conseil de gestion partagée, composé de trois membres nommés par le ministre du Patrimoine canadien, et de trois membres nommés par la Metis Nation of Saskatchewan (MNS). Le Conseil récemment constitué s'emploie à examiner le plan directeur existant, élaboré en collaboration avec la MNS en 1998, et fera des suggestions pour la mise en Suvre. On espère que le Conseil de gestion partagée saura trouver un moyen de revitaliser le lieu historique national de Batoche de façon qu'il demeure un lieu respecté où les Métis et les Canadiens pourront se souvenir de ceux qui ont vécu là et qui y sont morts 1 .

Bulletin 2001

Le 6 novembre 2000, la Metis Nation of Saskatchewan et le gouvernement du Canada se sont réunis pour la première fois en tant que Conseil de gestion partagée.

Murray Hamilton, Dale McCauley, Peter Rudyk, Yvonne Vizina, Leon McCauley, John Dorion et Cheryl Penny constituent le Conseil de sept membres qui contribuera à garantir l'intégrité commémorative de Batoche en protégeant et en mettant en valeur le lieu pour le bénéfice, l'éducation et le plaisir des générations actuelles et futures, et ce, d'une manière qui respecte l'héritage historique important et irremplaçable que représente Batoche. La formation du Conseil découle de l'entente sur la gestion de Batoche signée par Clem Chartier, président de la Metis Nation of Saskatchewan, et M. Andy Mitchell, secrétaire d'État (Parcs), gouvernement du Canada, le 8 novembre 1998.

Au sein de ce Conseil, les deux organismes espèrent nouer une relation de travail productive qui sera à l'honneur de ce lieu spécial. Batoche a été désigné lieu historique national en 1923 par le gouvernement du Canada, sur la recommandation de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada. Batoche a été un lieu de grande importance pour les Métis pendant des générations.

Un plan directeur pour le lieu historique national du Canada de Batoche, préparé et présenté au Parlement par le ministre du Patrimoine canadien, exposait la base des aménagements prévus au lieu. L'actuel plan directeur remplace celui mis en Suvre en 1982. Ce dernier guidait l'aménagement des installations, des services et des programmes que nous voyons aujourd'hui. Le nouveau plan directeur a été créé pour trois raisons principales, soit :

- incorporer le nouveau rôle de la Nation métisse de Saskatchewan au lieu historique national du Canada (LHNC) de Batoche dans la gestion partagée;

- veiller à ce que les objectifs d'intégrité commémorative au LHNC de Batoche, définis dans l'énoncé d'intégrité commémorative de 1996 du lieu, figurent dans l'actuel plan directeur;

- veiller à ce que l'orientation sur la gestion du lieu soit conforme aux principes et pratiques exposés dans la politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles de Parcs Canada, approuvée par le ministre du Patrimoine canadien en 1994.

1 Vizina, Yvonne N. « Moving Heaven and Earth ». New Breed Magazine, 2001