Common menu bar links

Louis S. St. Laurent National Historic Site of Canada

The North-Atlantic Treaty Organization

NATO emblem NATO emblem

Following the Second World War, relationships deteriorated between the Soviet and the Western powers. In 1947, the USSR set up a buffer zone between Eastern Europe and West Germany. This step worried many western countries that considered the move to be part of "a policy of aggressive military expansion at home and subversion abroad 1."

This threat did not sit at all well with the Canadian government. For St. Laurent and his advisors, the solution was to be found in an agreement between the democracies on both sides of the Atlantic. He was looking to a defensive pact which would protect Western Europe against a Soviet attack and which would commit the United States to an involvement in world affairs. Such a commitment would have economic advantages for Canada as well, since the agreement would bring it together with its commercial partners.

USSR flag USSR flag

In 1947 and 1948, the British, Americans and Canadians held what were initially secret discussions with regard to such a pact. At the end of 1948, negotiations aimed at a wider agreement became official.

Meanwhile, the world did not stay still: there was a communist coup d'état in Czechoslovakia, the Berlin blockade and the imminent victory of Mao in China. In Canada, St. Laurent announced to the House of Commons that Canada would join up with other free countries in order to establish "a dynamic counter-attraction of a free, prosperous and progressive society as opposed to the totalitarian and reactionary society of the communist world 2 ." Caught between the Soviet and American land masses, Canada could not remain neutral when faced with the possibility of war between the two major blocs.

St. Laurent, c. 1949 Louis S. St-Laurent, c. 1949
© Parks Canada

On April 4, 1949, Canada joined the North Atlantic Treaty Organization, as did most of the non-communist European countries. This was the first occasion on which Canada signed a defensive military pact in peace time.

Sources:

Bothwell Robert, "Uncle Louis At The Wheel", Horizon Canada, Brampton, Ontario, Centre for the Study of Teaching Canada, Vol. 10, c1984-1987.

Granatstein, J. L, "NATO", The Canadian Encyclopedia, Edmonton, Hurtig Publishers, Vol. 3, c1988.

Quinn, Majella and Claude Marcil, Louis-S. St-Laurent, Jurist, Politician and Statesman, Ottawa, Minister of Supply and Services Canada, c1982, 47 p.

1. J. L. Granatstein, "NATO", The Canadian Encyclopedia, Edmonton, Hurtig Publishers, Vol. 3, c1988, p. 1462.

2. Quinn, Majella and Claude Marcil, Louis-S. St-Laurent, Jurist, Politician and Statesman, Ottawa, Minister of Supply and Services Canada, c1982, p. 31.

Lieu historique national du Canada Louis-S.-St-Laurent

L'Organisation du traité de l'Atlantique Nord

Sigle de l'OTAN Sigle de l'OTAN

Après la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, les relations se détériorent entre les Soviétiques et les Occidentaux. En 1947, l'URSS établit une zone tampon entre l'Europe de l'Est et l'Allemagne de l'Ouest. Cette mesure inquiète bon nombre de pays occidentaux qui y voient « une politique d'expansion militaire offensive et de subversion à l'étranger 1 . »

Cette menace ne plaît pas du tout au gouvernement canadien. Pour St-Laurent et ses conseillers, la solution consiste en une entente entre les démocraties des deux côtés de l'Atlantique. Il s'agirait d'un pacte défensif protégeant l'Europe de l'Ouest contre une attaque soviétique et qui engagerait fermement les États-Unis dans les affaires mondiales. Le Canada retirerait aussi d'intéressants avantages économiques de cette entente, puisque celle-ci regrouperait ses partenaires commerciaux.

Drapeau de l'URSS Drapeau de l'URSS

En 1947 et 1948, Britanniques, Américains et Canadiens discutent d'abord en secret de ce pacte. À la fin de 1948, les négociations en vue d'une entente plus large deviennent officielles.

Entre-temps, le monde bouge : coup d'État communiste en Tchécoslovaquie, blocus de Berlin, victoire imminente de Mao en Chine. Au Canada, St-Laurent annonce à la Chambre des communes l'intention du pays de se joindre à d'autres États libres afin de constituer « une attraction dynamique [...] qui opposerait une société libre, prospère et amie du progrès à la société totalitaire et réactionnaire du monde communiste 2 . » Coincé entre les territoires soviétiques et américains, le Canada ne peut rester neutre dans une guerre possible entre les deux blocs.

St-Laurent, vers 1949 Louis S. St-Laurent, vers 1949
© Parcs Canada / Coll. Lafferty

Le 4 avril 1949, le Canada joint les rangs de l'Organisation du traité de l'Atlantique Nord, tout comme la plupart des pays européens non communistes. C'est la première fois, en temps de paix, que le Canada signe un pacte militaire défensif.

Sources :

Bothwell Robert, « Le règne de l'oncle Louis », Horizon Canada, St-Laurent, Québec, Le Centre, fascicule 113, c1984-1987.

Granatstein, J. L, « OTAN », L'encyclopédie du Canada, Montréal, Éditions internationales Alain Stanké, vol. 2, 1987.

Quinn, Majella et Claude Marcil, Louis-S. St-Laurent, jurisconsulte, homme politique et chef d'État canadien, Ottawa, ministre des Approvisionnements et Service Canada, 1982, 47 p.

1. J. L. Granatstein, « OTAN », L'encyclopédie du Canada, Montréal, Éditions internationales Alain Stanké, vol. 2, 1987, p. 1404.

2. Quinn, Majella et Claude Marcil, Louis-S. St-Laurent, jurisconsulte, homme politique et chef d'État canadien, Ottawa, ministre des Approvisionnements et Service Canada, 1982, p. 31.