Common menu bar links

Louis S. St. Laurent National Historic Site of Canada

Conscription

Anti-Conscription demonstration, 1942 Anti-Conscription demonstration, 1942
© National Archives of Canada / PA-107910

During the First World War, a majority of French-Canadians refused to take part in a conflict they considered strictly European. Conscription (obligatory enrolment of the population for military service), which was brought in by the Canadian government in 1917, aroused anger amongst the French Canadian population. In 1918, there was a riot in Quebec in which a number of people were killed or injured.

French ballot Illustration of a Ballot
© Parks Canada

Twenty years later, with a new war threatening Europe, the question of military conscription was once more brought up in Canada. The Liberal government of Mackenzie King wished to avoid the emotional conflicts of 1917, and agreed repeatedly not to resort to obligatory conscription for overseas military service.

However, as of 1941, given the sluggish level of recruiting in Canada, a certain number of people began to urge conscription. These people came first from the Conservative Party, but were later supported by English Canadians as a whole. Faced with this reaction, Mackenzie King held a plebiscite asking Canadians to free the government from its previous commitment.

English ballot Illustration of a Ballot
© Parks Canada

On April 27, 1942, 71% of Quebec citizens voted against the proposal. Elsewhere in Canada, the proposal was agreed to by a majority of 70%. In July of the same year, using this majority, the Government adopted Bill 80, which allowed conscription for overseas service when deemed necessary.

Canadian Soldiers Last march past by Canadian soldiers prior to embarcation
© National Archives of Canada / C-38723

In 1944, front-line losses decimated the army and it became imperative to provide replacements. King's government, after considerable hesitation, brought in conscription for overseas service. St. Laurent backed his leader. The Liberals relied on him to convince francophones of the need to take up arms.

St. Laurent's position was difficult and he was the target of much criticism. In Quebec, he was accused more particularly of involving his compatriots in a foreign war. On the other hand, the anglophones imperialists criticized his anti-imperialist convictions and accused him of making "over-nationalistic", "over-Canadian" pronouncements.

Sources:

Bélanger, Jacqueline et al, Louis-S. St-Laurent: Two Careers, One Destiny, Ottawa, Canadian Heritage, Parks Canada, c1995, 23 p.

Gaffen, Fred, "Wartime", Horizon Canada, Brampton, Ontario, Centre for the Study of Teaching Canada, Vol. 9, c1984-1987.

Granatstein, J. L, "Conscription - World War I", The Canadian Encyclopedia, Edmonton, Hurtig Publishers, Vol. 1, c1988.

Jones, Richard, "Conscription - World War II", The Canadian Encyclopedia, Edmonton, Hurtig Publishers, Vol. 1, c1988.

Quinn, Majella and Claude Marcil, Louis-S. St-Laurent, Jurist, Politician and Statesman, Ottawa, Minister of Supply and Services Canada, c1982, 47 p.

Lieu historique national du Canada Louis-S.-St-Laurent

Conscription

Photo noir et blanc d'une manifestation contre la conscription, 1942 manifestation contre la conscription, 1942
© Archives nationales du Canada / PA-107910

Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, les Canadiens-français refusent majoritairement de participer à un conflit qu'ils estiment être strictement européen. La conscription, c'est-à-dire l'enrôlement obligatoire de la population pour le service militaire, imposée par le gouvernement canadien en 1917 provoque la colère de la population canadienne-française. En 1918, une émeute éclate, faisant des morts et des blessés à Québec.

Bulletin de vote en français Illustration de bulletin de vote
© Parcs Canada

Vingt ans plus tard, alors qu'une nouvelle guerre menace l'Europe, la question de la conscription militaire refait surface au Canada. Désirant éviter d'autres déchirements, le gouvernement libéral de Mackenzie King s'engage à plusieurs reprises à ne pas recourir à l'enrôlement obligatoire pour le service militaire outre-mer.

Mais, dès 1941, devant la lenteur du recrutement au pays, des voix favorables à la conscription se font entendre. Ces voix proviennent d'abord du Parti conservateur et, plus tard, des Canadiens anglais en général. Devant ces réactions, Mackenzie King tient un plébiscite demandant aux Canadiens de libérer le gouvernement de ses engagements du passé.

Bulletin de vote en anglais Illustration de bulletin de vote
© Parcs Canada

Le 27 avril 1942, 71 % des citoyens du Québec votent « non » à la question. Ailleurs au Canada le « oui » l'emporte avec 70 % des voix. Fort de cette majorité, le gouvernement adopte donc, en juillet, le projet de loi 80, permettant la conscription pour le service outre-mer si elle est jugée nécessaire.

Soldats canadiens Soldats canadiens défilant une dernière fois avant l'embarquement
© Archives nationales du Canada / C-38723

En 1944, des pertes élevées au front viennent décimer les effectifs de l'armée de terre. Il devient urgent de combler les rangs. Le gouvernement de King, après bien des hésitations, impose la conscription pour le service outre-mer. St-Laurent appuie son chef. Les libéraux comptent sur lui pour convaincre les francophones de la nécessité de prendre les armes.

La position de St-Laurent est difficile et lui vaut alors de nombreuses critiques. Au Québec, on lui reproche notamment d'entraîner ses compatriotes dans un conflit étranger. À l'opposé, les impérialistes anglophones dénoncent ses convictions anti-impérialistes et lui reprochent ses déclarations qu'ils jugent trop « nationalistes », trop « canadiennes ».

Sources :

Bélanger, Jacqueline et al, Louis-S. St-Laurent: Two Careers, One Destiny, Ottawa, Patrimoine canadien, Parcs Canada, 1995, 23 p.

Gaffen, Fred, « La guerre sans fusils », Horizon Canada, St-Laurent, Québec, Le Centre, fascicule 107, c1984-1987.

Granatstein, J. L, « Conscription - Première Guerre mondiale », L'encyclopédie du Canada, Montréal, Éditions internationales Alain Stanké, vol. 1, 1987.

Jones, Richard, « Conscription - Deuxième Guerre mondiale », L'encyclopédie du Canada, Montréal, Éditions internationales Alain Stanké, vol. 1, 1987.

Quinn, Majella et Claude Marcil, Louis-S. St-Laurent, jurisconsulte, homme politique et chef d'État canadien, Ottawa, ministre des Approvisionnements et Service Canada, 1982, 47 p.