Louis S. St. Laurent National Historic Site of Canada

Civil Code and Common Law:

Two Separate Systems

Collection of law books Title page of the Civil Code of Quebec, 1904
© Bibliothèque nationale du Québec / Louis Rioux

The Canada Encyclopedia defines a Civil Code as a "fundamental legislative enactment which contains a comprehensive and easily understood statement of a nation's private LAW. It is typically found in legal systems whose traditions are traceable to Roman law 1 ." A Civil Code "expounds only on matters of private law [...]. It consolidates the fundamental concepts, rules, principles and ideals of a legal tradition in a clear non-technical style 2 [...]."

Common Law is an unwritten legal system which is based on "decisions handed down by Courts, thus allowing the gradual establishment of principles and rules of conduct whose authority is essentially founded on immemorial use and custom [ Translation ] 3 ." This system applies to most English-language countries and all Canadian provinces, except for Quebec.

From the Custom of Paris to the Civil Code of Quebec



Law book Laws of England
© Bibliothèque nationale du Québec / Louis Rioux

The Civil Code now current in Quebec is based on the Napoleonic Code which, in turn, has a great number of provisions derived from the Custom of Paris which was introduced in New France in 1663. It is thus different from Common Law practised in England and in the other Canadian provinces.

Whereas Common Law is based on non-codified judgments handed down at an earlier time (jurisprudence), the Civil Code is based on provisions and regulations that have already been codified.

In Canada, only Quebec has its own Civil Code. It was in 1857 that the Parliament of United Canada decided to codify all the civil statutes of Lower Canada and to bring them together in one bilingual collection. The Commission of Codification then tabled a new Civil Code which came into force in 1866: the Civil Code of Lower Canada.

Over the following years, in spite of the development of society, the Civil Code hardly changed. Instead, special and independent laws gradually replaced those provisions of the Code which were less adapted to the expectations of a developing society.

Law book Civil Code of Quebec
© Bibliothèque nationale du Québec / Louis Rioux

In 1955, the Quebec Legislature ordered the reform of the Civil Code. The task was entrusted to the Civil Code Review Bureau. This body dealt first with those matters most urgently in need of reform, before undertaking a complete revision of the Code. In 1981, a new Quebec Civil Code was enacted. However, only certain recommendations involving family law came into force immediately. It was not until 1984 that the new Quebec Civil Code, in ten books, finally replaced the Civil Code of Lower Canada.

Sources:

Brierley, John E. C, "Common Law", The Canadian Encyclopedia, Edmonton, Hurtig Publishers, Vol. 1, c1988.

MacDonald, R. A, "Civil Code", The Canadian Encyclopedia, Edmonton, Hurtig Publishers, Vol. 1, c1988.

Quinn, Majella and Claude Marcil, Louis-S. St-Laurent, Jurist, Politician and Statesman, Ottawa, Minister of Supply and Services Canada, c1982, 47 p.

Reid, Hubert, Dictionnaire de droit québécois et canadien avec lexique anglais-français, Montréal, Wilson & Lafleur Ltée, 1994, 769 p.

1. R. A. MacDonald, "Civil Code", The Canadian Encyclopedia, Edmonton, Hurtig Publishers, Vol. 1, 1988, pp. 429-430.

2. Ibid .

3. Hubert Reid, Dictionnaire de droit québécois et canadien avec lexique anglais-français, Montréal, Wilson & Lafleur Ltée, 1994, p. 104

Lieu historique national du Canada Louis-S.-St-Laurent

Code civil et Common Law

Deux systèmes distincts

Volume de droit Page titre du Code Civil du Québec, 1904
© Bibliothèque nationale du Québec / Louis Rioux

L'encyclopédie du Canada définit le Code civil comme étant « le recueil fondamental de lois exposant de façon complète et aisément compréhensible le droit privé d'un pays. On le trouve surtout dans les systèmes juridiques fondés sur des traditions de droit romain 1 . » Le Code civil traite « uniquement des questions de droit privé [...] et réunit l'ensemble des notions, règles, principes et idéaux fondamentaux d'une tradition juridique dans un style clair et non spécialisé 2. »

La Common Law est le système de droit non écrit, formé « à partir des décisions rendues par les tribunaux d'où l'on a dégagé graduellement des principes et des règles de conduite dont l'autorité repose essentiellement sur des usages et des coutumes immémoriaux 3 .. » Ce système s'applique dans la plupart des pays de langue anglaise et dans toutes les provinces canadiennes, à l'exception du Québec.


De la Coutume de Paris au Code civil du Québec

Volume de droit Laws of England
© Bibliothèque nationale du Québec / Louis Rioux

Le Code civil en vigueur au Québec s'inspire du code Napoléon qui tire une grande partie de ses dispositions de la Coutume de Paris apportée en Nouvelle-France en 1663. Il diffère donc de la Common Law pratiquée en Angleterre et dans les provinces anglaises du Canada.

Alors que la Common Law se fonde sur les jugements non codifiés rendus antérieurement (jurisprudence), le Code civil s'appuie sur des dispositions et règlements déjà codifiés.

Au Canada, seul le Québec a son Code civil. C'est en 1857 que le Parlement du Canada-Uni décide de faire codifier toutes les lois civiles du Bas-Canada et de les rassembler en un recueil bilingue. La Commission de codification soumet alors un nouveau Code civil qui entre en vigueur en 1866 : le Code civil du Bas-Canada.

Malgré l'évolution de la société, le Code civil change peu. Des lois spéciales et indépendantes remplacent graduellement certaines dispositions du Code qui répond de moins en moins aux attentes de la société en développement.

Volume de droit Code Civil du Québec
© Bibliothèque nationale du Québec / Louis Rioux

En 1955, l'Assemblée législative du Québec ordonne la réforme du Code civil. Cette tâche est confiée au Bureau de révision du Code civil. Cet organisme voit d'abord aux réformes les plus pressantes avant d'entreprendre la révision complète du Code. En 1981, un nouveau Code civil québécois est promulgué. Seulement certaines recommandations touchant le droit familial sont toutefois mises en application. Ce n'est qu'en 1994 que le nouveau Code civil du Québec, formé de dix Livres, remplace définitivement le Code civil du Bas-Canada.

Sources:

Brierley, John E. C,« Common Law », L'encyclopédie du Canada, Montréal, Éditions internationales Alain Stanké, vol. 1, 1987.

MacDonald, R. A, « Code civil », L'encyclopédie du Canada, Montréal, Éditions internationales Alain Stanké, vol. 1, 1987.

Quinn, Majella et Claude Marcil, Louis-S. St-Laurent, jurisconsulte, homme politique et chef d'État canadien, Ottawa, ministre des Approvisionnements et Service Canada, 1982, 47 p.

Reid, Hubert, Dictionnaire de droit québécois et canadien avec lexique anglais-français, Montréal, Wilson & Lafleur Ltée, 1994, 769 p.

1. 1. R. A. MacDonald, « Code civil », L'encyclopédie du Canada, Montréal, Éditions internationales Alain Stanké, vol. 1, 1987, p. 396.

2. Ibid .

3. Hubert Reid, Dictionnaire de droit québécois et canadien avec lexique anglais-français, Montréal, Wilson & Lafleur Ltée, 1994, p. 104