Louis S. St. Laurent National Historic Site of Canada

Life in Compton

Jean-Baptiste-Moïse St-Laurent Jean-Baptiste-Moïse St-Laurent, c. 1880-1890
© Parks Canada / Maison Compton collection

Around the end of the 19th century, most immigrants who settled in Compton originated from the neighbouring region of the Beauce. Some, however, came from nearby towns, as did Jean-Baptiste-Moïse St. Laurent, Louis's father, who left Sherbrooke in 1878 to move into the village.

Mary Ann Broderick Mary Ann Broderick, c. 1882
© Parks Canada / Maison Compton collection

When he arrived, Compton was a bustling settlement whose architecture and organization still recalled its British past. This commercial centre, full of small shops, boasted five general stores. Jean-Baptiste-Moïse rented one of these and became part of the town life. Some years later, when he married, he became the owner of both the store and its adjoining buildings.

Louis S. St. Laurent as a child Louis S. St. Laurent as a child
© National Archives of Canada / coll. Dale C. Thomson, Montmigny & Cie, Québec / c.1886

With his general store, Jean-Baptiste-Moïse soon became well known in Compton. He did not remain a bachelor for long and in 1881, he married Mary Ann Broderick, a young woman of Irish descent. The first of their six children, Louis Stephen St. Laurent, was born on February 1, 1882.

Until 1896, young Louis lived with his family in Compton. In the St. Laurent family, the children spoke in English to their mother and in French to their father, so Louis grew up in a bilingual environment where francophones and anglophones lived in peace together. This was an experience that would affect his whole later career .

Another advantage that Louis possessed was that he was very studious, so much so that, in 1896, he successfully passed the entrance examination to the Sherbrooke Seminary.

Lieu historique national du Canada Louis-S.-St-Laurent

La vie à Compton

Jean-Baptiste-Moïse St-Laurent Jean-Baptiste-Moïse St-Laurent, vers 1880-1890
© Parcs Canada / Collection maison Compton

Vers la fin du XIXe siècle, les immigrants qui s'installent à Compton proviennent surtout de la région voisine : la Beauce. D'autres viennent des villes situées à proximité. C'est le cas du père de Louis, Jean-Baptiste-Moïse St-Laurent, qui quitte Sherbrooke en 1878 pour s'installer au village


Mary Ann Broderick Mary Ann Broderick, vers 1882
© Parcs Canada / Collection maison Compton

À son arrivée, Compton est en pleine effervescence . L'architecture et les infrastructures très anglaises témoignent du passé britannique du village. Véritable centre commercial truffé de boutiques d'artisans, Compton compte, à cette époque, cinq magasins généraux. Jean-Baptiste-Moïse loue l'un de ceux-ci et commence sa vie publique. Quelques années plus tard, au moment de son mariage, le magasin et les bâtiments connexes deviennent sa propriété.


Louis-S. St-Laurent, enfant Louis-S. St-Laurent, enfant, vers 1886
© Archives nationales du Canada / coll. Dale C. Thomson, Montmigny & Cie, Québec / vers 1886

Parce qu'il est marchand général, Jean-Baptiste-Moïse devient rapidement une figure connue de Compton. Aussi, ne reste-t-il pas longtemps seul. En 1881, il unit sa destinée à celle de Mary Ann Broderick, une jeune fille de descendance irlandaise. De cette union naît, le 1er février 1882, Louis Stephen St-Laurent, le premier de six enfants.

Jusqu'en 1896, le jeune Louis vit avec sa famille à Compton. Chez les St-Laurent, on parle en anglais à sa mère et en français à son père. Louis grandit donc dans un milieu bilingue où l'harmonie règne entre francophones et anglophones. Cette expérience marquera d'ailleurs toute sa carrière .

Autre atout : le caractère studieux de Louis. En 1896, il passe avec succès l'examen d'entrée au Séminaire de Sherbrooke.