Saint-Ours Canal National Historic Site of Canada

Natural Heritage

Climate

The Saint-Ours Canal is located in the Montréal climatic region, which covers Saint-Pierre Lake, the Richelieu Valley and the top of Lake Champlain. This region has one of the mildest climates in Quebec, with an average annual temperature of 6° C, and an average July temperature of 13° C. These temperatures are both higher than elsewhere in Quebec.

This region also enjoys the longest frost-free period, the longest day-length period and the highest number of growing degree-days in Quebec. The prevailing winds are from the southwest. The highest wind speeds are from the west and northwest.

Geology

This site rests on sedementary rocks from the Ordovician period which are about 400 million years old.

The bedrock of this area consists of clay schists and sandstone of the Queenston formation (locally known as the Becancour River formation) at least 610 m deep. Clay schists are sedimentary rocks of mechanical origin made from disintegrated fragments of other rocks. Sandstone is formed from accumulated fragments of quartz and is always formed by river deposits.

Historically, the formation of rocks in this region was a result of its submersion (near the end of the Ordovician era), which left marine sediments. Raised by tectonic forces, the region was eroded from the end of the Ordovician era until the end of the Tertiary era. After having been covered with a thick layer of ice during the Quartenary era, the St. Lawrence Lowlands were flooded by the Champlain Sea. This flooding was brought on by a lowering of the stratum, caused by the weight of glaciers. After having deposited clays and sands, the sea receded (following further shifts in the platform) and left the region in its current state.

Geomorphology

This sector is smooth terrain covered with a clay deposit that is 50 m deep in some places. Altitude barely exceeds 15 m above sea level. These lowlands were formerly part of a St. Lawrence alluvial plain larger than today. During a relatively recent geological era, glaciation modified the landform, which was subsequently masked by the deposit of post-glacial sediments from the Champlain Sea.

The Saint-Ours Canal site is also located in a zone of recent silty clay alluvium, superposed on the Champlain Sea deposits.

Pedology

The Champlain Sea deposits and alluvium form the substrate and bedrock that resulted in the area's present-day soils. These show the combined effects of climate, vegetation, micro-organisms and drainage on the top few metres of the original underlying deposits. Certain soil groups have been differentiated based on dominating local factors.

The soil surface of this site has been extensively disturbed. As a result, it is virtually impossible to define its original profile. These reworked soils are characterized by a silty clay structure.

Hydrology

HydrolodyWater regulating dam of the Richelieu River.
© Parks Canada / Jean Mercier / 2002

The Saint-Ours Canal is located in the catchment area of the Richelieu River, the largest of the St. Lawrence tributaries south of the 50th parallel.

The present-day dam adjacent to Darvard Island was built in 1969 to regulate the course of the Richelieu River over a 45-km stretch between the municipalities of Saint-Ours and Chambly.

The Saint-Ours Canal has only one lock. The resulting stretch of water is 103 metres long by 14 metres wide. Maximum depth is 3.5 metres. The drop between the two bodies of water is 1.5 metres.

Flora

J.S. Rowe (1972) defines this sector as being part of the Upper St. Lawrence forest area. We can therefore expect the natural forest cover of this site to be dominated by the Sugar Maple ( Acer saccharum ), Red Maple ( Acer rubrum ), American Beech ( Fagus grandifolia ), American Ash ( Fraxinus americana ), along with the Red Oak ( Quercus rubra ), Burr Oak ( Quercus macrocarpa ), Red Ash ( Fraxinus pennsylvanica ) and Hickory ( Carya sp .).

Although most of these species are indeed found on the site, the tree cover is clearly dominated by pioneer or transitional species. Red Pine ( Pinus resinosa ) clearly dominates the tree stratum. Together with the White Pine ( Pinus strobus ) and Basswood ( Tilia americana ), it is found on the elevated and well-drained sections of Darvard Island. The American Ash is the site's second most common species. It is found in damper areas, along the Richelieu River, along with the Red Elm ( Ulmus rubra ) and the Saskatoon Berry ( Amelanchier sp ). Also found on the site are pioneer species that include the Trembling Aspen ( Populus tremuloides ), Large-Toothed Aspen ( Populus grandidentata ), Cottonwood ( Populus deltoides ) and Paper Birch ( Betula papyrifera ).

Shrubs include the Western Dogwood ( Cornus stolonifera ), Hawthorn ( Crategus sp .), Black Cherry ( Prunus serotina ), Arrowwood ( Viburnum sp. ) and Large-leaved Meadowsweet ( Spirea latifolia ). These shrub species are particularly found on slopes.

Fauna

The urban nature of this site and the large number of visitors does not attract many mammals. However, the red squirrel ( Tamiasciurus hudsonicus ) can often be spotted. In the areas immediately surrounding the canal, the groundhog ( Marmonta monax ), meadow vole ( Microtus pennsylvanicus ) and striped skunk ( Mephitis mephitis ) are frequently seen.

Lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-de-Saint-Ours

Patrimoine naturel

La climatologie

Le canal de Saint-Ours est situé dans la région climatique de Montréal qui englobe le lac Saint-Pierre, la vallée du Richelieu et la tête du lac Champlain. Cette région, la plus chaude du Québec, est caractérisée principalement par une température moyenne annuelle de 6° C et une température moyenne de juillet de 13° C. Ces données surpassent les valeurs obtenues dans les autres régions du Québec.

De plus, on obtient dans cette région la plus longue période de temps sans gel, la plus longue photopériode ainsi que le plus grand nombre de degré-jours de croissance. Les vents dominants soufflent du sud-ouest. Les vents en provenance de l'ouest et du nord-ouest accusent la plus forte vélocité.

La géologie

Le site repose sur des roches sédimentaires de la période ordovicienne datant d'environ 400 millions d'années.

L'assise rocheuse de ce secteur est composée de schistes argileux et de grès de la formation de Queenston (appelée localement la formation de la rivière Becancour) d'une épaisseur d'au moins 610 mètres. Les schistes argileux sont des roches sédimentaires d'origine mécanique provenant de la désagrégation des roches préexistantes. Les grès sont formés de grains de quartz unis entre eux et sont toujours le résultat de dépôt de rivage.

Historiquement, la formation des roches de la région résulte de son immersion, vers la fin de l'ère géologique ordovicienne, qui a eu pour conséquence la mise en place de sédiments marins. Puis soulevée par les forces tectoniques, toute la région a été soumise à une longue érosion depuis la fin de l'ordovicien jusqu'à la fin du tertiaire. Par la suite, après avoir été recouverte d'une épaisse couche de glace lors du quaternaire, la région des basses terres du Saint-Laurent a été submergée par la mer Champlain suite à l'affaissement de l'assise sous-jacente, conséquence du poids des glaciers. Après avoir déposé des argiles et des sables, la mer a dû régresser, suite au redressement du socle, et a laissé la région dans son état actuel.

La géomorphologie

Le secteur correspond à un relief peu accentué qui est recouvert d'un dépôt d'argile atteignant 50 mètres d'épaisseur par endroits. L'altitude des terres n'y dépasse guère une élévation de 15 mètres au-dessus du niveau moyen de la mer. Autrefois, les basses terres faisaient partie d'une plaine d'alluvions du Saint-Laurent plus considérable qu'elle ne l'est aujourd'hui. À une époque géologique relativement récente, la glaciation modifia le relief qui, par la suite, fut atténué par la déposition de sédiments post-glaciaires de la mer de Champlain.

Par ailleurs, le site du canal de Saint-Ours est situé dans la zone d'alluvions récentes de nature limoneuse argileuse qui s'est superposée aux dépôts de la mer de Champlain.

La pédologie

Les dépôts et alluvions de la mer Champlain forment le substrat et la roche-mère qui ont donné naissance aux sols actuels que l'on retrouve dans le secteur. Ces sols résultent de l'effet combiné du climat, de la végétation, des micro-organismes et du drainage sur les premiers mètres de dépôts originels structurants. Certains groupes de sols ont été différenciés en fonction de facteurs dominants au niveau local.

La surface du sol du site a subi de nombreuses perturbations. En conséquence, il est pratiquement impossible de lui définir un profil intact. Ces sols remaniés sont caractérisés par une structure limoneuse argileuse.

L'hydrologie

HydrologieBarrage régulateur des eaux de la rivière Richelieu.
© Parcs Canada / Jean Mercier / 2002

Le site du canal de Saint-Ours est situé dans le bassin hydrographique de la rivière Richelieu, le plus important tributaire du Saint-Laurent au sud du 50e parallèle.

Le barrage actuel adjacent à l'île Darvard a été construit en 1969 en vue de régulariser le cours de la rivière Richelieu sur une distance de 45 kilomètres entre les municipalités de Saint-Ours et Chambly.

Le canal de Saint-Ours est constitué d'une seule écluse. La dimension du plan d'eau ainsi formé est de 103 mètres de longueur par 14 mètres de largeur. Sa profondeur atteint un maximum de 3.5 mètres. La dénivellation des nappes d'eau est de 1.5 mètres.

La flore

Le secteur tel que défini par J.S. Rowe, (1972), est localisé dans la région forestière du Haut Saint-Laurent. La végétation arborescente naturelle qui couvre le site devrait être dominée par l'Érable à sucre ( Acer saccharum ), l'Érable rouge ( Acer rubrum ), l'Hêtre à grandes feuilles ( Fagus grandifolia ), le Frêne d'Amérique ( Fraxinus americana ). Elle serait accompagnée du Chêne rouge ( Quercus rubra ), du Chêne à gros fruits ( Quercus macrocarpa ), du Frêne de Pennsylvanie ( Fraxinus Pennsylvanica ) et du Caryer ( Carya sp .).

Bien que l'on retrouve la plupart de ces espèces sur le site, la végétation arborescente y est nettement dominée par les espèces pionnières ou de transition. Le Pin rouge ( Pinus resinosa ) domine largement la strate arborescente. Il occupe, avec le Pin blanc ( Pinus strobus ) et le Tilleul d'Amérique ( Tillia americana ), les parties surélevées et bien drainées de l'île Darvard. Le Frêne d'Amérique devient la seconde espèce en importance sur le site. Il se retrouve sur les parties les plus humides, en bordure du Richelieu, en compagnie de l'Orme rouge ( Ulmus rubra ) et de l'Amélanchier ( Amelanchier sp ). On retrouve également sur le site des espèces pionnières telles : le Peuplier faux-tremble ( Populus tremuloides ), le Peuplier à grandes dents ( Populus grandidentata ), le Peuplier à feuilles deltoïdes ( Populus deltoides ) et le Bouleau à papier ( Betula papyrifera ).

Au niveau de la végétation arbustive, on note la présence du Cornouiller stolonifère ( Cornus stolonifera ), l'Aubépine ( Crataegus sp .), le Cerisier tardif (Prunus serotina), la Viorne ( Viburnum sp .) et la Spirée à larges feuilles ( Spirea latifolia ). Ces essences arbustives se retrouvent plus particulièrement dans les talus.

La faune

Le site, étant donné sa nature urbaine et la forte utilisation qu'il supporte, n'est pas favorable à la présence de mammifères. Toutefois, l'écureuil roux ( Tamiasciurus hudsonicus ) y est fréquemment observé. Dans les environs immédiats du canal, outre la marmotte commune ( Marmota monax ), le campagnol des champs ( Microtus pennsylvanicus ) et la mouffette rayée ( Mephitis mephitis ) sont toutefois fréquemment observés.