Forges du Saint-Maurice National Historic Site of Canada

The Iron Resources of New France

An historical drawing representing the complete village of the Forges du Saint-Maurice by Capitan Pigott, in 1845. We can see on the left, the Blast Furnace Complex and the workers 'houses, on the right, the Grande Maison overlooking the St. Maurice River. The complete village of the Forges du Saint-Maurice by Capitan Pigott, in 1845. We can see on the left, the Blast Furnace Complex and the workers 'houses, on the right, the Grande Maison overlooking the St. Maurice River.
© Archives du Séminaire de Trois-Rivières / TI-258, no 48, 1845
A drawing from 18th. century representing miners extracting bog iron ore from swamps and loading a cart. A drawing from 18th. century representing miners extracting bog iron ore from swamps and loading a cart.
© Diderot and d'Alembert, Encyclopédie / Briasson, David, Le Breton / 1765

By the mid 17th century, the colonial authorities had already surveyed the mineral resources of New France. In 1670, a French ironmaster assured the intendant of New France, Jean Talon, of the very high quality of iron ore found in the area of Trois-Rivières. A year later, the intendant indeed had 800 tonnes of ore extracted, but many years would go by before any industrial development actually took place.

Francheville's Experiment
A drawing of Bernard Duchesne representing a reconstitution of the small forge of Francheville on the St.Maurice. then we can see , workers, with a horse and wagon and a forge boutique. This drawing of Bernard Duchesne representing the housing developpement at the beginning of the site on the St.Maurice. On the left, a wood shelter for a small furnace and a waterwheel and also, workers, horse and wagon and a forge boutique.
© Parks Canada

It was only in 1730 that the King of France granted François Poulin de Francheville, seigneur of St. Maurice, a royal warrant to work iron ore mines and to manufacture and trade in iron for a 20-year period; the King also advanced him a generous loan. In 1733, Francheville founded the Compagnie des Forges de Saint-Maurice, but died that same year.

Not long afterwards, a small forge began operating, but the process used to reduce ore proved unprofitable. Nevertheless, the experiment succeeded in proving the quality of the region's iron ore.

Vézin Builds the Forges
On this photo a personnage representing Sir De Vézin who brings his hand to the chin as a person imagining his project of a big forge. Sir De Vézin imagining his project of a big forge.
© Parks Canada / Jean Audet

François Pierre Olivier de Vézin, a young ironmaster from Champagne, France, was only 28 years old when the Ministre de la Marine (i.e., The royal secretary for the navy and overseas colonies) sent him to the site to determine whether or not Francheville's experiment should be pursued. Vézin confirmed that the project was viable provided that another process for reducing iron ore be used. Vézin was then put in charge of erecting a full-scale ironworks.

After overcoming a long series of technical problems, Vézin finally blew in the blast furnace on August 20, 1738. The following year, an additional forge was built, thus rounding off a complex of workshops it had taken Vézin three years to construct and which were to last for close to 150 years.

The Forges and Military Production
A drawing of Bernard Duchesne representing two war sailboats with canons breathing thick smoke. This drawing of Bernard Duchesne representing two war sailboats with canons breathing thick smoke.
© Parks Canada / Jean Audet

During a period when France was almost continually at war, the iron industry filled an enormous need in the kingdom. Accordingly, the Forges were established primarily for the purpose of providing bar iron for building and fitting out ships in the royal navy.

Under the French Regime, the major portion of St. Maurice bar iron was shipped to the Rochefort arsenal in France. Other bars were sent to the royal shipyard at Québec, which started up the same year the Forges went into operation.

Lieu historique national du Canada des Forges-du-Saint- Maurice

Le fer de la Nouvelle-France

Un dessin historique représentant l'ensemble du village des Forges-du-Saint-Maurice, par le capitaine Pigott, en 1845. Nous voyons à gauche le complexe du haut fourneau, puis les habitations des familles ouvrières et à droite, la grande maison en surplomb de la rivière Saint-Maurice. L'ensemble du village des Forges-du-Saint-Maurice, par le capitaine Pigott, en 1845. Nous voyons à gauche le complexe du haut fourneau, puis les habitations des familles ouvrières, à droite, la grande maison en surplomb de la rivière Saint-Maurice.
© Archives du Séminaire de Trois-Rivières / TI-258, no 48, 1845
Un dessin du 18e siècle représentant des mineurs qui extraient du minerai de fer des marais et le placent dans une charrette. Un dessin du 18e siècle représentant des mineurs qui extraient du minerai de fer des marais et le placent dans une charrette.
© Diderot et d'Alembert, Encyclopédie / chez Briasson, David, Le Breton / 1765

Dès le milieu du XVIIe siècle, les autorités coloniales procèdent à l'inventaire des ressources minières de la colonie. En 1670, un maître de forges français assure l'intendant Talon de la très bonne qualité du minerai de fer de la région de Trois-Rivières. L'année suivante, l'intendant y fait extraire 800 tonnes de minerai mais la mise sur pied d'une exploitation se fera longuement attendre.

L'expérience de Francheville
 Un dessin de Bernard Duchesne représente une reconstitution de la petite forge de Francheville sur le bord de la rivière Saint-Maurice, ensuite, nous voyons des ouvriers avec un cheval et une charrette ainsi qu'une boutique de forge. Ce dessin de Bernard Duchesne représente une reconstitution de la petite forge de Francheville sur le bord de la rivière Saint-Maurice. Ensuite, nous voyons des ouvriers avec un cheval et une charrette ainsi qu'une boutique de forge.
© Parcs Canada

Ce n'est qu'en 1730 que le roi de France accorde à François Poulin de Francheville, seigneur de Saint-Maurice, un brevet d'exploitation de 20 ans et consent à lui fournir un prêt. En 1733, Francheville fonde la Compagnie des Forges de Saint-Maurice mais il meurt en fin d'année.

Peu de temps après, une petite forge est mise en opération mais le procédé utilisé s'avère toutefois peu rentable. L'expérience permet quand même de confirmer l'excellence du minerai de fer de la région.

De Vézin construit les Forges
Cette photo montre un personnage représentant M. De Vézin qui porte sa main au menton comme une personne qui est en train d'imaginer son projet de grosse forge. M. De Vézin qui est en train d'imaginer son projet de grosse forge.
© Parcs Canada / Jean Audet

François Pierre Olivier de Vézin, un jeune maître de forges originaire de la Champagne, n'a que 28 ans lorsque le ministre de la Marine l'envoie comme expert pour juger si l'expérience de Francheville mérite d'être poursuivie. De Vézin assure que le projet est viable à condition d'utiliser un autre procédé de réduction du minerai de fer. C'est à lui qu'on confie la mise en chantier d'un « établissement de forges complet ».

Surmontant de nombreux problèmes techniques de Vézin réussit le 20 août 1738 l'allumage du haut fourneau. L'année suivante, l'ajout d'une seconde forge complète les ateliers qu'il aura mis 3 ans à établir et qui dureront près de 150 ans.

Les Forges et la guerre
Un dessin de Bernard Duchesne représentant deux navires de guerre à voile dont les canons crachent une épaisse fumée. Ce dessin de Bernard Duchesne représente deux navires de guerre à voile dont les canons crachent une épaisse fumée.
© Parcs Canadaa / Jean Audet

À une époque où elle est presque toujours en guerre, la France a grand besoin de l'industrie sidérurgique. Ainsi, les Forges sont établies principalement dans le but de fournir des fers de marine pour la construction navale royale.

Sous le Régime français, la plus grande partie des fers des Forges est destinée à l'arsenal de Rochefort en France. Une autre partie des fers est acheminée au chantier naval royal de Québec, mis en service en même temps que les Forges.