Common menu bar links

Forges du Saint-Maurice National Historic Site

The Grande Maison
The Grande Maison.  © Parks Canada

On-line Visit


The Grande Maison

A boy takes a peek inside an old iron bomb. Exhibit of the Grande Maison. © Parks Canada

Your first stop upon arriving at the Forges is the Grande Maison (the "ironmaster's house"). Our personnel will be on hand to welcome you and give you updates on the activities and services offered.

The Grande Maison, which once was a private residence, an administrative centre, a store and a warehouse, today houses a series of exhibits which recount the exceptional history of the Forges du Saint-Maurice, the first industrial community in Canada.

Every visit to the National Historic Site begins there.

On the ground floor, you will meet the three most important figures in the history of the Forges. Following this, you will go down into the original cellars of this impressive building.

The cellars feature exhibits of the products which made the Forges famous for more than 150 years. The outfit was initially founded in order to fulfill the needs of the king of France (the Forges and the war). During a second phase, the company contributed significantly to the development of the country (the Forges and the colony). Finally, the Forges played a role in efforts at modernizing iron and steel production in Canada (the Forges and industry).



The Multimedia Show

A fleurdelise cast iron medallion is represented on the wall durind the multimedia show.
Multimédia show combining projection on a big screen and special effects on the model.
© Parks Canada

Once you have finished exploring the cellars, you will attend, at the upper floor, a fascinating multimedia show of about 20 minutes. This show, of the most innovative, combines visual projection on big screen to special effects on the benches and on the model of the Forges site, representing the Forges village in 1845.

At that time, the company, which produced cast iron and bar iron in the workshops lining St. Maurice Creek, was at the zenith of its output and fame. The settlement numbered more than a hundred buildings, and was the home or workplace of more than 400 people.


This show uses high technologies so that visitors can discover the history of the Forges and how took place the everyday life in the first industrial community of the country.

There's all the makings of an unforgettable experience!

Lieu historique national des Forges-du-Saint- Maurice

La grande maison
La grande maison © Parcs Canada 

Visite branchée


La grande maison

Un jeune garçon jette un coup d’œil à l’intérieur d’une ancienne bombe de fonte. Exposition de la grande maison. © Parcs Canada

 

En arrivant aux Forges, rendez-vous d'abord à la grande maison. Notre personnel vous accueillera et vous informera des activités et services offerts.

La grande maison, qui a jadis servi de résidence, de centre administratif, de magasin et d'entrepôt, abrite aujourd'hui des expositions qui retracent l'histoire exceptionnelle des Forges-du-Saint-Maurice, la première communauté industrielle au Canada.

C'est par là qu'il faut commencer.

Après avoir rencontré, au rez-de-chaussée, trois des personnages historiques les plus importants de l'histoire de l'entreprise, vous descendrez dans les caves originales du vaste édifice.

C'est là que sont exposés les produits qui ont fait, pendant plus de 150 ans, la renommée des Forges. D'abord créée pour subvenir aux besoins du roi de France (Les Forges et la guerre), l'entreprise a ensuite permis le développement du pays (Les Forges et la colonie) pour enfin s'associer à l'effort de modernisation de la production sidérurgique canadienne (Les Forges et l'industrie).


 
Le spectacle multimédia

Image du spectacle multimédia illustrant un médaillon de fonte fleurdelisé.
Spectacle multimédia alliant projection sur grand écran et effets spéciaux sur la maquette. © Parcs Canada

Une fois l'exploration des caves terminée, vous assisterez, à l'étage, à un captivant spectacle multimédia, d’une durée de 20 minutes. Ce spectacle innovateur allie la projection visuelle sur grand écran à des effets spéciaux dans les gradins et sur la maquette du site, représentant le village des Forges en 1845.

À cette époque, l'entreprise, qui produisait de la fonte et du fer dans des ateliers établis sur le ruisseau Saint-Maurice, vivait ses heures les plus glorieuses. On comptait plus d'une centaine de bâtiments et plus de 400 personnes y vivaient et y travaillaient.

Ce spectacle haut en couleurs intègre des technologies de pointe pour faire découvrir aux visiteurs l’histoire des Forges et comment se déroulait la vie quotidienne de la première communauté industrielle du pays.