Common menu bar links

Saint-Louis Forts and Châteaux
National Historic Site of Canada

The Governors at Work and Leisure

A bit of history

Philippe de Rigaud Philippe de Rigaud, Marquis de Vaudreuil (ca. 1643-1725 )
© Library and Archives Canada,
C-010614.

Under the French regime, the governor was generally chosen from the ranks of the military nobility. In contrast, through the 18th century the intendant became more of a career bureaucrat. Quebec's founder, Samuel de Champlain, was never officially governor. Charles Huault de Montmagny became the first. Most governors lived in the Saint-Louis Châteaux from 1648 to 1834.

The centre of executive power, the Saint-Louis forts and châteaux were also largely the colony's seat of administrative, political and military power.

In the 17th century, the governor commanded the troops; the fort accommodated his secretary and a small garrison. Several bureaucrats also occupied the offices.

However, since the château was also the governor's residence, it was an important living environment and cultural centre. There were many receptions, under both the French and English regimes.

Sir Guy Carleton Sir Guy Carleton, Lord Dorchester
© Library and Archives Canada, C-002833.

The governor's personnel

It was common for governors to arrive in Quebec with their own personnel. They consisted above all of secretaries, who were in some cases given permanent appointments (first, second, undersecretary), especially under the French regime. The vast majority of secretaries of French governors would establish themselves in Quebec City after completing their internship in the offices of the governor. Their internships generally lasted the length of their protector's mandate. This was usually a short period, except in the case of Jean de L'Estage, who remained in the service of governor Vaudreuil senior for over 20 years, and of Jacques Lafontaine de Belcour, who remained in the service of governor Beauharnois for the same length of time. Under British rule, the château accommodated the colony's military secretary as well as several officers, in addition to the governor and his personal secretary.

The governor's household

For the most part, governors arrived in the colony with a full household: servants, butler, chef, cooks and bakers, and wine waiters. Frontenac even enjoyed the service of a confectioner, and when he received Amerindian emissaries at the château he would have his confectioner impress them with ice creams of various colours.

A governor's household would generally include five to 10 people. Both French and British governors were proud to call on the service of French chefs. When governor Murray asked his sister to find him a chef, for example, she replied that he could easily find one in Quebec City!

The governor's receptions

The Château Saint-Louis was a place of cultural activity that included balls and sumptuous meals. Observers from the era were especially struck by the châteaux' receptions.

Dance at the château by George Heriot Dance at the château by George Heriot, 1805
© Library and Archives Canada, C-000040.

Under British rule, various activities would bring together as many as 400 guests, mainly for balls such as the one given at New Year's in 1826. On the queen's birthday in 1787, the colony's principal leaders and guests of honor gathered at around 11 p.m. before an “artistically arranged” table, which included abundant pyramids of fruit.

Celebrations around the birth of the future Louis XV also apparently left unforgettable memories in the minds of guests:

(In translation)

Once the city was illuminated, and the Governor General was at the Château with the intendant and all the officers, he gave the signal to shoot the fireworks which were prepared on the other side of the river; they were facing the Château. From the centre appeared an arrow from which numerous rockets of different styles shot out with a sun rising from bottom upward and others at all the corners; at the sides there was a Vive le Roi formed by artificial lights that could be distinguished from a half league [2 kilometres].

An arc de triomphe was on the Château's large door, forming three arches held by columns; on the two closest to the middle arch, to the right religion was represented, justice to the left, under the arch on the religion side was a cupid presenting him with a crown and under the arch on the justice side was a cupid showing a sceptre to the divinity to demonstrate that they themselves would learn from the prince so that each would always be crowned, sustained and strengthened. […]

The Governor General had invited all the ladies and persons of distinction to this celebration. At 10 o'clock a magnificent supper was served; the chambers of the Château however grand could not contain the entire assembly; tables were set even on the gallery, which was so conveniently located as to give a panoramic view over six and seven leagues. There was sumptuousness and delicacy everywhere; we drank to the Health of their Majesties and to Monseigneur le Dauphin above the sound of all the artillery. The party ended with a ball that lasted all night. [Archives des colonies, C 11A, vol. 52, fol. 42-49 v, October 1730]

Lieu historique national du Canada des
Forts-et-Châteaux-Saint-Louis

Les gouverneurs : milieu de travail et milieu de vie

Un peu d'histoire

Philippe de Rigaud Philippe de Rigaud, marquis de Vaudreuil (ca. 1643-1725)
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, C-010614.

Sous le Régime français, le gouverneur est habituellement issu des rangs de la noblesse militaire. Par opposition, l'intendant devient au cours du 18e siècle davantage un fonctionnaire de carrière. Samuel de Champlain, le fondateur de Québec, n'aura jamais porté le titre de gouverneur; c'est Charles Huault de Montmagny qui sera le premier à le faire. La majorité des gouverneurs a habité les châteaux Saint-Louis entre 1648 et 1834.

Centre du pouvoir exécutif, les forts et châteaux Saint-Louis sont aussi en quelque sorte le siège administratif, politique et militaire de la colonie.

Au 17e siècle, le gouverneur y est commandant des troupes. Le fort abrite alors son secrétaire et une petite garnison. Quelques fonctionnaires y occupent également des bureaux.

Mais, parce qu'il est aussi le lieu de résidence du gouverneur, le château devient un milieu de vie et un centre culturel important. Les réceptions y sont nombreuses, autant sous le Régime français que sous le Régime anglais.


Sir Guy Carleton Sir Guy Carleton, Lord Dorchester
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, C-002833.

Le personnel du gouverneur

Il est courant que les gouverneurs arrivent à Québec avec leur personnel. Sous le Régime français, il s'agit surtout de secrétaires qui sont parfois titularisés (premier, deuxième, sous-secrétaire). La majorité des secrétaires des gouverneurs français s'établissent à Québec après leur stage dans les bureaux du gouverneur. Leur stage dure en général le temps du mandat de leur protecteur. Il est d'habitude de courte durée, exception faite de Jean de L'Estage, qui reste au service du gouverneur Vaudreuil père pendant plus de 20 ans, et de Jacques Lafontaine de Belcour, qui reste aussi longtemps auprès du gouverneur Beauharnois. Sous la gouvernance britannique, outre le gouverneur et son secrétaire personnel, le château abrite le secrétaire militaire de la colonie de même que quelques officiers.

La maisonnée du gouverneur

Les gouverneurs arrivent pour la plupart dans la colonie avec toute une maisonnée : serviteurs, maître d'hôtel, chef de cuisine, cuisiniers, pâtissiers et sommeliers. Frontenac dispose même des services d'un confiseur et, lorsqu'il reçoit des émissaires amérindiens au château, il leur fait servir par son confiseur des glaces de toutes les couleurs afin de les impressionner.

La maisonnée des gouverneurs comprend généralement de cinq à dix personnes. Autant les gouverneurs français que britanniques se flattent de pouvoir compter sur des cuisiniers français. D'ailleurs, lorsque Murray demande à sa sœur de lui trouver un cuisinier, elle lui répond qu'il peut s'en trouver facilement un à Québec !

Les réceptions du gouverneur

Le château Saint-Louis est aussi un centre d'activités culturelles parmi lesquelles bals et repas somptueux figurent en bonne position. Ce sont toutefois les réceptions offertes au château qui frappent davantage les observateurs de l'époque.

Danse au château Danse au château en 1805, par George Heriot
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, C-000040.

Sous la gouverne britannique, diverses activités réunissent jusqu’à 400 invités, principalement à l’occasion des bals comme celui donné lors du Nouvel An 1826. À l’occasion de l’anniversaire de la reine en 1787, principaux dirigeants et invités d’honneur se retrouvent vers les 23 heures devant une table « artistiquement arrangée » sur laquelle se retrouvent d’abondantes pyramides de fruits.

Les célébrations à l’occasion de la naissance du futur Louis XV ont apparemment laissé des souvenirs impérissables aux invités :
« Aussitôt toute la ville parut illuminée, Monsieur le Gouverneur général étant rendu au Château avec monsieur l’intendant et tous les officiers, il donna le signal pour tirer le feu d’artifice qu’on avait dressé de l’autre côté de la rivière; il faisait face au Château. Il parut de son centre une flèche de laquelle partit nombre de fusées de différents goûts avec un soleil qui monta du bas en haut et d’autres à tous les coins; dans les flancs, il y avait un Vive le Roi formé par des lumières artificielles qu’on distinguait d’une demi lieue [2 kilomètres].

À la grande porte du Château était un arc de triomphe formant trois arcades soutenues par des colonnes; au deux les plus proches de l’arcade du milieu, à la droite était représentée la religion, la justice à la gauche, sous l’arcade du côté de la religion se voyait un amour lui présentant une couronne et sous celle du côté de la justice, un autre amour montrait un sceptre à cette divinité voulant donner à connaître qu’elles-mêmes prendront de l’éducation du prince qu’enfin l’une et l’autre seront toujours couronnées, soutenues et affermies. […]

Monsieur le Gouverneur général avait invité toutes les dames et les personnes de distinction à cette fête. Sur les dix heures on servit un magnifique souper; les appartements du Château quoique grands ne pouvaient contenir l’assemblée; on mit des tables jusque sur la galerie laquelle est située si avantageusement qu’on découvre de six à sept lieues à la ronde. La somptuosité et la délicatesse se virent partout; on bût les Santés de leurs Majestés et de Monseigneur le Dauphin au bruit de toute l’artillerie. Cette fête se termina par un bal qui dura toute la nuit. » [Archives des colonies, C11A, vol. 52, fol. 42-49v, octobre 1730]