Saint-Louis Forts and Châteaux
National Historic Site of Canada

Architecture and Urban Plan for the Glory of the Monarchy!

Québec, fortified city

In the 17th century, in both French and English, a “city” was a walled or fortified geographic space. This was particularly true of the French, who had military engineers plan and develop the growth of new cities. In Quebec City, the relationship between defence and urban development was evident from 1636. The link was even closer later on, as much in general planning as in the network of streets, squares and blocks.

1660 plan showing the convergence of Old Quebec streets 1660 plan showing the convergence of Old Quebec streets towards the Place d'Armes
© Library and Archives Canada, C-15801

Once the question of dividing concession lands was resolved, governor Montmagny focused on designing the limits of his city and coordinating them with the fortress he intended to “build regularly” out from the Saint-Louis fort and château. Adapted to the topography of the upper city's plateau, the network of streets spanned out from the fort and Place d'Armes. Military urban planning still shows in the topography and landscape of the upper city.

Glory and architecture

However, the monumental architecture involved in the Saint-Louis fort and château sometimes revealed unwritten goals... For example, what pushed Frontenac to build a second château? Personal vanity, no doubt, but also the desire to flatter Louis XIV as well.

The chateau St. Louis The Château St. Louis, anonymous, ca. 1700
© Library and Archives Canada, C-4696

In that regard, Frontenac was competing with monseigneur Saint-Vallier; the rivalry between the two men was well known. Saint-Vallier began construction of his bishop's palace along Côte de la Montagne, just a few hundred metres from the château.

The Bishop's palace by Richard Short The Bishop's palace by Richard Short, 1761
© Library and Archives Canada, C-000350

For his palace, the bishop chose the form of a Parisian mansion house, adopted by aristocrats. Frontenac inherited the Château Saint-Louis from Montmagny – and hired François de la Joue, one of the city's greatest architects, to design and build the second Château Saint-Louis.

Although it may appear banal, the competition between the bishop and Frontenac regarding architecture demonstrated part of the mentality of leaders in that era. Architecture served to beautify cities, for the great glory of the king... The two edifices, which dominated the cliff, were the first to be witnessed upon arriving in Quebec City. They were also the ones to appear on engravings from which the king could determine progress in the capital of New France.

A new order at Place d'Armes

English rule brought changes that would have a major impact on the landscape of Place d'Armes: with the elimination of the intendant's palace, situated in the lower town came a refocusing of the administrative functions around Place d'Armes, and an end to the military role it had played since the 17th century.

In 1784, governor Haldimand built a château on the west side of Place d'Armes. A three-storey building whose plain décor integrated well with the upper city, the Château Haldimand housed a library, the governor's ballroom, and some administrative offices.

At the time, the fort Saint-Louis lost its defensive role and shared the designation as governor's residence with the Château Haldimand, housing the colony's royal representative.

Place d'Armes changed and would change again when the Récollets' monastery was destroyed by fire in 1796, and the Palladian-style Anglican cathedral was built in the early 19th century. Reconstruction of the Saint-Louis châteaux over the years brought changes to the landscape not only from the river's perspective but even more so from within the city.

Lieu historique national du Canada des
Forts-et-Châteaux-Saint-Louis

À la gloire de la monarchie : architecture et plan urbain

Québec, ville fortifiée

Au 17e siècle, autant en français qu'en anglais, une « ville » est un espace géographique emmuré ou fortifié. Cela est d'autant plus vrai pour les Français : chez eux, c'est l'ingénieur militaire qui planifie le développement et la croissance des nouvelles villes. À Québec, cette relation entre défense et développement urbain est perceptible dès 1636. Ce lien se resserrera ultérieurement, autant sur le plan de l'aménagement que sur celui du réseau de rues, de places et d'îlots.

Plan du Vieux Québec Plan de 1660 qui montre la convergence des rues du Vieux- Québec vers la place d'Armes
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, C-15801.

Une fois réglée la question de la répartition des terres concédées, le gouverneur Montmagny peut concevoir les limites de sa ville et arrimer celles-ci à la forteresse qu'il entend « bâtir régulièrement » à partir du fort et du château Saint-Louis. Adapté à la topographie des plateaux de la haute-ville, le réseau de rues rayonne du fort et de la place d'Armes. L'urbanisme militaire marque toujours la topographie et le paysage de la haute-ville.

Gloire et architecture

Mais les constructions monumentales que sont le fort et le château Saint-Louis cachent parfois des buts inavoués... Par exemple, qu'est-ce qui pousse le gouverneur Frontenac à construire un deuxième château ? La vanité personnelle, sans doute, mais aussi l'intention de flatter celle de Louis XIV.

Le château Saint-Louis Le château Saint-Louis vers 1700 , anonyme
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, C-4696.

Frontenac tente ainsi de concurrencer monseigneur Saint-Vallier, avec qui ses démêlés sont bien connus. De son côté, Saint-Vallier amorce la construction d'un palais épiscopal sur les abords de la côte de la Montagne, à quelques centaines de mètres à peine du château.

Le palais épiscopal Le palais épiscopal vers 1761, selon Richard Short
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, 
C-000350

 Pour son palais, l'évêque a choisi la forme de l'hôtel particulier parisien adopté par les aristocrates. Quant à Frontenac, il hérite du château Saint-Louis de Montmagny. Il embauche alors François de la Joue, un des plus importants architectes de la ville, pour concevoir et réaliser la construction d'un second château Saint-Louis.

Bien qu'elle puisse paraître banale à nos yeux, la concurrence entre l'évêque et Frontenac autour de l'architecture dénote un trait de mentalité des dirigeants de l'époque. L'architecture servait à l'embellissement des villes, pour la plus grande gloire du roi... Ces deux constructions, qui dominaient la falaise, étaient les premières qu'on apercevait à l'arrivée à Québec. Elles étaient également celles qui apparaissaient sur les gravures à partir desquelles le roi pouvait constater l'état de la capitale de la Nouvelle-France.

Une place d'Armes chamboulée

La prise de pouvoir par les Anglais amène des changements qui auront des conséquences majeures sur le paysage de la place d'Armes : disparition du palais de l'intendant, recentrage des fonctions administratives autour de la Place et fin du rôle militaire qu'elle jouait depuis le 17e siècle.

En 1784, le gouverneur Haldimand fait construire un château sur le côté ouest de la place d'Armes. Édifice à trois étages à la façade peu décorée qui s'intègre bien au décor de la haute-ville, le château Haldimand loge désormais la bibliothèque et la salle de bal du gouverneur, de même que certains bureaux administratifs.

À cette époque, le fort Saint-Louis perd sa fonction défensive et partage avec le château Haldimand le titre de résidence du gouverneur, le représentant royal dans la colonie.

Le paysage de la place d'Armes se modifiera davantage lorsque le monastère des Récollets sera réduit en cendres en 1796 et que la cathédrale anglicane surgira, au début du 19e siècle, avec son architecture palladienne. Ainsi, la reconstruction des châteaux Saint-Louis au cours des ans entraîne non seulement une modification du paysage du côté du fleuve, mais plus encore du côté intérieur de la ville.