Battle of the Restigouche National Historic Site of Canada

History of The Battle

Drawing showing the loading of the Machault Drawing showing the loading of the Machault
© Parks Canada / Cedric Loth / CD-0042-01

In a last effort to support its colony, France dispatched a relief expedition to New France. Five merchant ships, escorted by the frigate The Machault, set sail from the harbour of Bordeaux on April 10, 1760. Together, the six ships carried 2000 casks of provisions and munitions in addition to 400 troops.

Drawing representing a scene of the naval action Drawing representing a scene of the naval action
© Parks Canada / Cedric Loth / CD-0042-07

The date after its departure, the flotilla had to disperse in order to elude the British vessels which were enforcing a blockade along the French coastline. The Aurore and the Soleil were seized. Two weeks later, the Fidélité ran aground off the Azores. Only the The Machault, the Bienfaisant and the Marquis-de-Malauze were able to reconnoiter in the Gulf of St. Lawrence on May 15.

Strategy

Illustration of Lieutenant La Giraudais preparing its strategy Illustration of Lieutenant La Giraudais preparing its strategy
© Parks Canada / Cedric Loth / CD-0042-12

Upon learning that British ships had arrived ahead of him, La Giraudais, the commander of the expedition, decided to take refuge at the head of Chaleur Bay, where the British vessels would be unable to penetrate. On May 18, the flotilla dropped anchor in the estuary of the Restigouche River.

Drawing representing members of the Micmac nation Drawing representing members of the Micmac nation
, © Parks Canada / Cedric Loth / CD-0042-17

At the time, the hamlet of Restigouche was inhabited by a number of Acadian refugees and some 150 Micmac families. The arrival of the French ships was nothing short of providential for a population that had been reduced to famine. Once having been fed and armed by the French, the local inhabitants prepared for battle at their sides.

British war vessels British war vessels
© Parks Canada / Cedric Loth / CD-0042-22

In the meantime, the British had dispatched a squadron of five warships from Louisbourg, placed under the command of Captain Byron. On June 22, the French flotilla was blocked in at the head of Chaleur Bay. Outnumbered and outgunned by the British forces, La Giraudais retreated inland in the hopes that the deep-drawing British vessels would not be able to enter the estuary channel.

Scuttling the schooners Scuttling the schooners
© Parks Canada / Cedric Loth / CD-0042-31

A battery of cannon was also set up along the north shore of the Restigouche River. The Machault was positioned in this channel, behind a barrier of schooners that the French commander had ordered scuttled in order to block passage.

The Battle

Drawing of the Naval Action Drawing of the Naval Action
© Parks Canada / Cedric Loth / CD-0042-50

On July 3, after attempting to find the main channel for several days, the British finally managed to break their way through. The Machault had to withdraw upstream. The battle which then ensued lasted several days, with fortunes repeatedly turning to the advantage and disadvantage of each side.

Scuttling the Machault Scuttling the Machault
© Parks Canada / Cedric Loth / CD-0042-86

On July 8, commander La Giraudais bowed to the inevitable and scuttled the Machault and the Bienfaisant in order to prevent the British from laying hold of the provisions and munitions aboard. Had the Marquis-de-Malauze not contained prisoners in its hold, it would have been sunk as well.

The End of Hopes

Drawing of French troups surrending Drawing of French troups surrending
© Parks Canada / Cedric Loth / CD-0042-108

The long-awaited relief now lay at the bottom of the river. Deprived of reinforcements and supplies, New France surrendered, in Montréal, on September 8, 1760. The news only reached Restigouche on October 23. Six days later, the small garrison surrendered.

It is then here that the fate of New France was sealed in 1760.

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Bataille-de-la-Ristigouche

Un peu d'histoire : La Bataille

Dessin illustrant le chargement de la frégate Le Machault Dessin illustrant le chargement de la frégate Le Machault
© Parcs Canada / Cedric Loth / CD-0042-01

Dans un dernier effort pour soutenir sa colonie, la France dépêche une mission de secours en Nouvelle-France. Cinq navires marchands escortés par la frégate Le Machault appareillent du port de Bordeaux, le 10 avril 1760. Chargés de 2 000 tonneaux de vivres et de munitions, les 6 voiliers transportent 400 hommes de troupe.

Dessin représentant une scène du combat naval Dessin représentant une scène du combat naval
© Parcs Canada / Cedric Loth / CD-0042-07

Au lendemain de son départ, la flottille doit s'éparpiller afin d'échapper aux vaisseaux britanniques qui maintiennent le blocus des côtes françaises. L'Aurore et Le Soleil sont arraisonnés. Deux semaines plus tard, Le Fidélité fait naufrage au large des Açores. Seuls Le Machault, Le Bienfaisant et Le Marquis-de-Malauze se retrouvent dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent, le 15 mai.

La stratégie

Illustration du commandant La Giraudais élaborant sa stratégie Illustration du commandant La Giraudais élaborant sa stratégie
© Parcs Canada / Cedric Loth / CD-0042-12

Ayant appris que des navires britanniques l'avaient précédé, La Giraudais, commandant de l'expédition, décide de se réfugier à la tête de la baie des Chaleurs, hors d'atteinte des vaisseaux britanniques. Le 18 mai, il ancre la flottille dans l'estuaire de la rivière Ristigouche.

Dessin représentant des membres de la communauté micmaque Dessin représentant des membres de la communauté micmaque
© Parcs Canada / Cedric Loth / CD-0042-17

À cette époque, la petite agglomération de Ristigouche compte des réfugiés acadiens et quelque 150 familles micmaques. L'arrivée des navires français est providentielle pour cette population réduite à la famine. Nourrie et armée par les Français, elle se prépare à livrer bataille avec eux.

Vaisseaux de guerre britanniques Vaisseaux de guerre britanniques
© Parcs Canada / Cedric Loth / CD-0042-22

De leur côté, les Britanniques dépêchent, de Louisbourg, une escadre de cinq vaisseaux de guerre commandée par le capitaine Byron. Le 22 juin, la flottille française se retrouve bloquée au fond de la baie des Chaleurs. Devant la supériorité britannique, La Giraudais retraite vers l'intérieur. Il espère que les vaisseaux britanniques, avec leur fort tirant d'eau, ne pourront s'engager dans le chenal donnant accès à l'estuaire.

Dessin illustrant le sabordage de goélettes © Parcs Canada / Cedric Loth / CD-0042-31
Dessin illustrant le sabordage de goélettes

Une batterie de canons est aussi installée sur la rive nord de la rivière Ristigouche. Le Machault est gardé dans le chenal,derrière un barrage de goélettes que le commandant a fait saborder pour obstruer le passage.

L'affrontement

Dessin illustrant une scène du combat naval Dessin illustrant une scène du combat naval
© Parcs Canada / Cedric Loth / CD-0042-50

Après plusieurs jours de tentatives pour trouver le chenal principal, les Britanniques réussissent, le 3 juillet, à se frayer un chemin. Le Machault doit se replier en amont. L'affrontement qui suit dure plusieurs jours et la bataille est ponctuée de nombreux revirements.

Dessin illustrant le sabordage du Machault Dessin illustrant le sabordage du Machault
© Parcs Canada / Cedric Loth / CD-0042-86

Le 8 juillet, devant l'inéluctable, le commandant La Giraudais fait saborder Le Machault et Le Bienfaisant afin d'empêcher les Britanniques de s'emparer des vivres et des munitions. Sans la présence de prisonniers dans ses cales, Le Marquis-de-Malauze aurait subi le même sort.

La fin des espoirs

Dessin illustrant la capitulation des troupes françaises Dessin illustrant la capitulation des troupes françaises
Parcs Canada / Cedric Loth / CD-0042-108

Les secours tant attendus gisent maintenant au fond de la rivière. Privée de renforts et de ravitaillement, la Nouvelle-France capitule, à Montréal, le 8 septembre 1760. La nouvelle ne parvient à Ristigouche que le 23 octobre. Six jours plus tard, la petite garnison se rend.

C'est donc ici que fut scellé le sort de la Nouvelle-France en 1760.