Battle of the Restigouche National Historic Site of Canada

Historical Context

Interior view of the interpretation centre Interior view of the interpretation centre
© Parks Canada / Jean Audet / 125/PE/PR7/SPO-00004

In 1755, France and Great Britain readied for a bloody war that was to last seven years. New France was destined to be one of the theatres of this conflict.

France was a continental power at that time. Its strength lay primarily in its army based in Europe. Great Britain, on the other hand, was a maritime power. The mobility of its fleet enabled the country to pick its battles practically at will. As a result, Great Britain attempted to turn the weakness of the French navy to its advantage, and therefore planned to attack the French colonies in North America.

In North America, the rivalry between France and Great Britain would crystallize around three fronts: the Atlantic seaboard, the Lake Champlain region, and the Ohio River valley. A long series of battles was about to begin.

The Deportation of the Acadians

Illustration representing the Embarkation of the Acadians in 1755 Illustration representing the Embarkation of the Acadians in 1755
© National Archives / C.W. Jeffreys / C-70232

After the fall of Fort Beauséjour on June 17, 1755, French-held Acadia fell to the pressure of the British. In that year alone, between 6 000 and 7 000 Acadians were deported to various destinations. The others were pursued throughout the country.

The Battle of the Monongahela
In 1755, British troops set out to attack Fort Duquesne as part of their attempt at dislodging the French from the Ohio valley. On July 9, they were at only some three leagues distant from their objective, but the French and their Indian allies successfully brought this campaign to a halt.

The Battle of Lake Saint-Sacrement

On September 8, 1755, French and British troops clashed in a series of battles whose outcome failed to prove decisive.

The Capture of Oswego

Illustration representing the Capitulation of Oswego (located on the shores of Lake Ontario) Illustration representing the Capitulation of Oswego (located on the shores of Lake Ontario)
© National Archives / C-799

On August 14, 1756, following a siege lasting several days, the French captured Oswego. This victory confirmed their domination of the Great Lakes region.

The Attack on Fort William Henry

In 1757, a wintertime expedition and a lightning raid enabled the French to take over Fort William Henry, located on Lake Champlain.

The Battle of Carillon

The British began mobilizing all their resources in order to crush New France. They decided to use Lake Champlain to overrun the defenses of Canada. On July 12, 1758, 15 000 British soldiers attacked Carillon. At 3 000 soldiers, the French troops were vastly outnumbered, and yet they succeeded in putting their adversaries to rout.

The Capture of Louisbourg

Interior view of the interpretation centre Interior view of the interpretation centre
© Parks Canada / Jean Audet / 125/PE/PR7/SPO-00031

The British thereupon concentrated their efforts on the Atlantic Coast, where they assembled more than 150 ships and 28 000 soldiers and sailors. The French were able to muster a mere 6 000 men and a handful of vessels.


Engraving representing the Landing of British Troops at Louisbourg, 1745 Engraving representing the Landing of British Troops at Louisbourg, 1745
© National Archives / Brooks / C-10994

On July 26, 1758, Louisbourg capitulated following a siege of seven weeks. However, the season was too far advanced to permit the British to accomplish a similar victory at Québec.

The Resistance Collapses

In 1759, under the relentless pressure of the British troops, New France began to come apart. The strongholds at Niagara, Carillon and Saint-Frédéric fell one after another. In the meantime, France started to concentrate its resources for the defence of Québec City, the ultimate objective of this campaign.

The Fall of Québec

On June 23, 1759, a British fleet of close to 150 vessels carrying 39 000 soldiers and sailors cast anchor close to Québec.

A three-month siege then ensued, which featured numerous skirmishes and continual bombardments. In what they hoped would be a decisive battle, the British engaged the French in combat on the Plains of Abraham in the early hours of September 13, 1759.

Despite the surrender of Québec on September 18, 1759, the British were not yet masters of the entire country. Far from having been annihilated, the French army regrouped to the west of Québec, and blocked movements by the British throughout the entire winter.

The Battle of Sainte-Foy

A View of the Taking of Québec, September 13th, 1759 A View of the Taking of Québec, September 13th, 1759
© National Archives / C-1078, 1759

On April 28, 1760, the French troops were victorious at Sainte-Foy, forcing the British to take refuge behind the walls of Québec.

The two armies were at a stand-off. As well, both forces were exhausted and could only hope for reinforcements in order to turn the tide. All eyes were turned eastward, toward the sea. The fate of New France would depend on which ensign was first sighted coming over the horizon.

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Bataille-de-la-Ristigouche

Le contexte historique

En 1755, la France et la Grande-Bretagne se préparent à une guerre sanglante qui durera sept ans. La Nouvelle-France sera l'une des arènes de ce conflit.

Vue de l'intérieur du centre d'interprétation Vue de l'intérieur du centre d'interprétation
© Parcs Canada / Jean Audet / 125/PE/PR7/spo-0004

La France est une puissance continentale. Sa force provient surtout de ses armées de terre stationnées en Europe. La Grande-Bretagne est une puissance maritime. La mobilité de sa flotte lui permet de choisir le champ de bataille qui lui convient. Aussi, ce pays projette-t-il d'attaquer les colonies françaises d'Amérique, pour profiter de la faiblesse de la marine française.
En Amérique, la rivalité entre la France et la Grande-Bretagne va se cristalliser sur trois fronts : la région atlantique, la région du lac Champlain et la vallée de la rivière Ohio. C'est le début d'une longue succession d'affrontements.

La déportation des Acadiens

Illustration représentant la déportation des Acadiens en 1755 Illustration représentant la déportation des Acadiens en 1755
© Archives Nationales du Canada / C.W. Jeffreys / C-70232

Après la chute du fort Beauséjour, le 17 juin 1755, l'Acadie française s'écroule sous la pression des Britanniques. Au cours de cette seule année, de 6 000 à 7 000 Acadiens sont déportés vers des destinations diverses. Les autres sont pourchassés à travers le pays.

La bataille de la Monongahela En 1755, les troupes britanniques partent à l'assaut du fort Duquesne. Les Britanniques veulent déloger les Français de la vallée de l'Ohio. Le 9 juillet, ils ne sont plus qu'à trois lieues de leur destination, mais ils sont arrêtés par les Français et leurs alliés indiens.

La bataille du lac Saint-Sacrement

Le 8 septembre 1755, les troupes françaises et britanniques s'affrontent dans une série de combats aux résultats imprécis.

La prise d'Oswego

Illustration représentant la capitulation d'Oswego, en bordure du lac Ontario Illustration représentant la capitulation d'Oswego, en bordure du lac Ontario
© Archives Nationales du Canada / C-790

Le 14 août 1756, les Français s'emparent d'Oswego, après un siège de quelques jours. Cette victoire confirme leur domination sur la région des Grands Lacs.

L'attaque du fort William Henry

En 1757, une expédition hivernale et un siège éclair permettent aux Français de se rendre maîtres du fort William Henry, sur le lac Champlain.

La bataille de Carillon

Mobilisant toutes leurs ressources pour écraser la Nouvelle-France, les Britanniques se proposent d'enfoncer d'abord les défenses du Canada par la voie du lac Champlain. Le 12 juillet 1758, 15 000 soldats britanniques attaquent Carillon. Les Français, qui ne sont que 3 000, réussissent à mettre leurs rivaux en déroute.

La prise de Louisbourg

Vue de l'intérieur du centre d'interprétation Vue de l'intérieur du centre d'interprétation
© Parcs Canada / Jean Audet / 125/PE/PR7/SPO-00031

Concentrant leurs efforts sur la côte atlantique, les Britanniques regroupent plus de 150 navires sur lesquels sont embarqués près de 28 000 soldats et marins. Les Français ne rassemblent que 6 000 hommes et une poignée de vaisseaux.

Gravure représentant le Débarquement des troupes britanniques à Louisbourg, en 1745 Gravure représentant le Débarquement des troupes britanniques à Louisbourg, en 1745
© Archives nationales du Canada / Gravure de Brooks / C-10994

Le 26 juillet 1758, Louisbourg capitule après un siège de sept semaines. La saison est toutefois trop avancée pour que les Britanniques fassent subir le même sort à Québec.

L'effondrement de la résistance

En 1759, sous l'implacable pression des troupes britanniques, la Nouvelle-France se désarticule. Les places fortes de Niagara, Carillon et Saint-Frédéric tombent une à une. Pendant ce temps, les Français concentrent leurs ressources pour la défense de Québec, principal enjeu de cette campagne.

La chute de Québec

Vue de la prise de Québec, 13 septembre 1759 Vue de la prise de Québec, 13 septembre 1759
© Archives nationales du Canada / C-1078

Le 23 juin 1759, une flotte britannique de près de 150 vaisseaux, transportant 39 000 soldats et marins, jette l'ancre près de Québec.

Après un siège de trois mois marqué de nombreuses escarmouches et de bombardements incessants, un combat que les Britanniques espèrent décisif s'engage au petit matin du 13 septembre, sur les hauteurs d'Abraham.

Malgré la reddition de Québec, le 18 septembre 1759, les Britanniques ne sont pas encore maîtres de tout le pays. Loin d'être anéantie, l'armée française s'est regroupée à l'ouest de Québec. Elle bloque le passage aux Britanniques pendant tout l'hiver.

La bataille de Sainte-Foy

Chevalier de Lévis devant Québec Chevalier de Lévis devant Québec, 176
© Parcs Canada / Steven Spazuk / Ex.93.32.1, 1984

Le 28 avril 1760, les troupes françaises sont victorieuses à Sainte-Foy et les Britanniques doivent se réfugier derrière les murs de Québec.

Les deux armées s'affrontent. Elles sont toutes deux à bout de forces et ne peuvent qu'espérer des renforts qui scelleraient l'issue du combat. Tous les yeux sont alors rivés vers la mer. Le sort de la Nouvelle-France s'y joue.