Pointe-au-Père Lighthouse National Historic Site of Canada

What's New

Agreement between Parks Canada and the Corporation du Site historique maritime de la Pointe-au-Père

Gaspé (Québec), September 17, 2012 – Constructive discussions between Parks Canada managers and their counterparts at the Corporation du Site historique maritime de la Pointe-au-Père have allowed them to find a solution to the operation of the Pointe-au-Pére Lighthouse National Historic Site of Canada. Consequently, beginning in 2013, Parks Canada will once again call on the services of the corporation, which will assure the operation of the national historic site on a contract basis.

This decision is also in line with federal government objectives to reduce the deficit as announced when the last federal budget was presented. For Stéphane Marchand, Parks Canada Superintendant for the Gaspé Peninsula, “thanks to the continued collaboration between Parks Canada and the Site historique maritime de la Pointe-au-Père, the Agency can continue to enjoy the corporation’s expertise, align its service offer with the visitors’ interests in mind, and meet our budgetary goals. In addition, this decision serves to address the issues and concerns of the region’s tourism industry by extending operations until October. It’s a winning formula for all stakeholders.”

Over the years, the Corporation has implemented a tourism plan that has amplified the services offered on the land it manages. “We are delighted with Parks Canada’s decision to entrust management of the Pointe-au-Père Lighthouse National Historic Site to us. The site is an added attraction to our own facilities. Moreover, nearly half of our visitors purchase a package ticket offering access to the lighthouse”, declared Serge Guay, manager of the Site historique maritime de la Pointe-au-Père.

Parks Canada reiterates its willingness to continue to work with the Site historique maritime de la Pointe-au-Père in compliance with the five-year partnership agreement signed by both parties in 2011. The parties propose to enter into a two-year contract, with the option to extend the contract for a further two years.

Parks Canada is committed to continue to protect and promote Canada’s natural and cultural heritage, and offer unparalleled visitor experiences and learning opportunities.

Lieu historique national du Canada du Phare-de-Pointe-au-Père

Quoi de neuf

Entente entre Parcs Canada et la Corporation du Site historique maritime de la Pointe-au-Père

Gaspé (Québec), le 17 septembre 2012 – Les échanges constructifs tenus entre les gestionnaires de Parcs Canada et ceux de la Corporation du Site historique maritime de la Pointe-au-Père ont permis de trouver une solution quant à l’opération du lieu historique national du Canada du Phare-de-Pointe-au-Père. Ainsi, dès 2013, Parcs Canada fera de nouveau appel aux services de la corporation, qui assurera l’opération du lieu historique national à contrat.

Cette décision atteint elle aussi les objectifs du gouvernement visant à réduire le déficit, tels qu’annoncés lors du dernier budget fédéral. Pour Stéphane Marchand, directeur de Parcs Canada en Gaspésie, « la poursuite de la collaboration entre Parcs Canada et le Site historique maritime de la Pointe-au-Père permet à l’Agence de bénéficier de l’expertise de la corporation, d’aligner l’offre de service dans l’intérêt des visiteurs et de respecter nos objectifs budgétaires. De plus, cette décision permet de répondre aux enjeux et préoccupations de l'industrie touristique régionale en prolongeant la saison d’opération du site jusqu’en octobre. C’est une formule gagnante pour tous ».

Au cours des années, la corporation a mis en œuvre un plan d’exploitation touristique qui a bonifié l’offre de service sur les terrains qu’elle gérait. « Nous sommes heureux de la décision de Parcs Canada de nous confier la gestion du lieu historique national du Phare-de-Pointe-au-Père. Ce dernier constitue une attraction complémentaire à nos installations. D'ailleurs, près de la moitié de nos visiteurs achètent un forfait qui y donne accès », a déclaré M. Serge Guay, directeur du Site historique maritime de la Pointe-au-Père.

Parcs Canada réitère sa volonté de poursuivre sa collaboration avec le Site historique maritime de la Pointe-au-Père conformément à l’entente de partenariat de cinq ans signée par les deux parties en 2011. La durée proposée pour le contrat est de deux ans avec deux années d’option.

Parcs Canada s’engage à continuer de protéger et de mettre en valeur le patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada et d’offrir une expérience aux visiteurs et des occasions d’apprentissage sans égales.